free webspace  






JcHosting

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 9 1 2 2 0 2 3 3 4 9
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.94 / 10

Total Votes: 35




84 User Testimonials/Reviews of JcHosting

Reviewed on: 2005-01-15   -   (IP: 66.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It seems they are no longer acepting new sign ups...doesn't impress me all that much honestly.

"There are currently 350 users using our services.
Server Limit currently set to 350 accounts."


Reviewed on: 2005-01-13   -   (IP: 4.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
They are not bad, but I keep geting a 403 error. :-(  But there are better free web hosts.

Reviewed on: 2005-01-13   -   (IP: 192.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2005-01-13   -   (IP: 193.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-02-03   -   (IP: 169.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
this site is never up. avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-02   -   (IP: 203.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-30   -   (IP: 64.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It always seems to be down!! Can't even sign up! Other sites on it might be down when main is down too! bad!

Reviewed on: 2004-01-27   -   (IP: 62.195.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-26   -   (IP: 203.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Instant signup, and it's easy to get a mysql db - it's automatic.  For 30 megs, PHP, mysql and a subdomain I'd say this is a very good host.  The only bad thing I've discovered so far is that some FTP clients don't work with them - but that's solvable by downloading smartFTP :-)

Reviewed on: 2004-01-25   -   (IP: 62.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-22   -   (IP: 81.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-16   -   (IP: 66.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Good, you have to sign up for MySQL seperately, This is the only one that has been good so far.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-14   -   (IP: 169.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
is this site *ever* up? i signed up and the next day i got an error message on its *home page*!!!!! After I signed up the ftp gives me a "denied" error message when i try to upload *anything* with my name and pass. this host stinks. avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-13   -   (IP: 193.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-12   -   (IP: 218.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-12   -   (IP: 203.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-01-07   -   (IP: 149.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This is one of the worst hosts I've been with. The FTP is slow, the customer support stinks, the pages load slow, and they corrupt your files every month when they do repairs. I've been using this host for about a month, and I've gone through 10 accounts, because the FTP dosen't work, the PHP My Admin dosen't work, or the MySQL database doesn't work, or they corrupted my files.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-05   -   (IP: 203.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The pages do not load and get stuck. The FTP speed is very slow (2 kb/ sec)on a 5kb/sec connection. some pages return "Access denied". Not the best of host. Wasted changing all the url on my web site only to find that i have to get another host again.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-04   -   (IP: 211.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
lol, does it even exist? My advice is "Don't go there"...

Reviewed on: 2004-01-02   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I personally think JC Hosting is only just ok. It's really slow, not very generous with webspace, and it has a 20-seconds timeout on the FTP.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-01   -   (IP: 24.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
it was ok for what i need !!

Reviewed on: 2004-01-01   -   (IP: 200.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-12-31   -   (IP: 61.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-11-18   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Page won't load. Seems to be dead.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-15   -   (IP: 80.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is one of the WORST hosts i ever saw. the Server speed is approx. 600kbps. My Cable is faster! It's REAL garbage! And if I wanted to sign up, there was an 404-Error. Then I went to go to the FAQ - 404 Error. And the Formmailer and all other menu points - 404 Error.

Reviewed on: 2003-11-15   -   (IP: 203.220.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-09   -   (IP: 80.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Quote :
HORRIBLE!!!!!! Confusing layout, hard-to-get-to uploader, bad cgi, i could go on and on. Also sent me spam, "adult" spam.

Im pretty sure that spam didn't come from jc-hosting themselfs as they are a non-profit business.

also the uploader seems to work well. best to use the ftp imo.


Reviewed on: 2003-09-09   -   (IP: 203.23.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
the provided features are awesome. unfortunately, accessing them is a pain, because their server is so unreliable, it is down 50% of the time, and slow the other half. i will have to start paying for hosting when i can afford it :-(

Reviewed on: 2003-09-09   -   (IP: 82.82.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-04   -   (IP: 67.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
They have the easiest/fastest sign-up in the West (other sites like F Face and D Host could learn something about sign-ups from JC). It took me 1 minute to sign-up, and a minute later I was uploading my website! Unfortunately, upload speed was very, very slow. And again, unfortunately, during a period of 7 days I checked my website 100 times, and it was only accessible 2 times! So I used their deleted account function (all the other hosts could use a delete function like JC's) and removed my website. I may try again in a couple months should they ever become reliable. Also, I wish the domain name was shorter, but at least they allow your subdomain to come first (rather than getting pushed it back to the far ends of the earth...).

Reviewed on: 2003-09-02   -   (IP: 217.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This host is slow! They have an upload speed 3 times faster than their downloadspeed... Don't plug a 14.4 Modem and try webhosting ;)

Reviewed on: 2003-09-01   -   (IP: 65.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
OH GREAT!!! IT CRASHED AGAIN!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-08-31   -   (IP: 217.14.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-30   -   (IP: 211.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-30   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Pretty good webhost, automated signup, good features, decent support. The only thing I don't really like is its EXTREMELY SLOW speed at time. Their main page takes forever to load - it seems they're running on a 14.4 kbps modem.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-29   -   (IP: 24.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
HORRIBLE!!!!!! Confusing layout, hard-to-get-to uploader, bad cgi, i could go on and on. Also sent me spam, "adult" spam.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-29   -   (IP: 217.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I'm quite dissapointed about this free host. I just signed up and guess what... its ftp server isn't working. Their website is very slow or it doesn't even load...

Reviewed on: 2003-08-26   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-25   -   (IP: 172.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-25   -   (IP: 80.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good free web host.
they do seem to be having troubles but if you hang in there you will see the benefits. what people forget these guys are supplying this for free so at least give them a chance to turn things around.
when it is working it is very fast and you get a MYSQL database and they allow forum's bonus or what. as has been said before, the forums are good.


Reviewed on: 2003-08-24   -   (IP: 61.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-08-16   -   (IP: 65.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
They're still starting out, so at this time they have occasional problems with one thing or another but once they get going they're going to be awesome. They're automatic sign-ups require no personal or site information and are almost instant. Their FTP works just fine, and it's not hard at all to get a mySQL database. Unmetered bandwidth is definitely something to go with as well. The forums are really friendly and helpful. I'd say if you're patient sign up now, and if not, wait a week or two.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-16   -   (IP: 172.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Jc-Hosting is amazing! Instant signup, FTP, MySQL, and friendly people with lots of support in the forums. Definitely give Jc-Hosting a try if you are looking for a home for your website. They are very strongly against fraud, which is good for safety and keeping the junk out of their systems.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-15   -   (IP: 216.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Would be a nice service if there was more uptime. I thought I got into a real nice free host for a change. I signed up and uploaded last night- nice simple instant signup, but today the site won't load at all. My hunt for a good FREE PHP host continues...

Reviewed on: 2003-08-15   -   (IP: 200.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Another pathetic attemp to gather information from people who are looking for free web hosts. You fill out their form, e-mail required, then your account seems to be activated, but when you actually try to view the pages, you are asked for some "afs" username and password by their "anti-fraud" system. Of course you can't view your pages because THEY AREN'T REALLY HOSTING ANY WEB SITES. Just another bunch of losers gathering e-mails for future spamming.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-08   -   (IP: 193.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
very bad site - really.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-07   -   (IP: 200.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
It is slow and their site is hardly ever working and you always get an error when trying to login to your ftp. I would not recommend this host to anybody at all. Hopefully as time goes on they will improve but right now, they are a sorry free web host!

Reviewed on: 2003-08-07   -   (IP: 24.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
it is ok but very hard to get around, plus confusing on how to sign up ...and very slow. i have to give this hosting a 2.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-03   -   (IP: 218.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-28   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This host is ok.
The good thing is that they offer automated signups and decent scripting such as PHP etc. However, when I first got my account, it took 20 mins to load. Now it's faster. The only other problem is that the FTP session terminates when you are using it. There homepage is now renevated and it loads faster.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-27   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
At the moment, JC Hosting is suffering severe problems. They have temporarily disabled the signup, so please do not try.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-26   -   (IP: 194.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
From the moment I setup the ftp info for my site with JC Hosting I had major problems. At first I thought it was my connection speed but no it was their fault. I don't know what they are doing but it's not providing a service of any kind and that's the truth. I was only able to get half of my site uploaded and now I can't even get the rest sent up as the ftp won't let me have access anymore. What are they playing at???!!!!! Very bad service. don't even bother with these guys!

Reviewed on: 2003-07-24   -   (IP: 81.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
JC Hosting is fantastic. I have now renovated their homepage so it loads mega-fast, and everything is fantastic. USE THIS HOST!!

Reviewed on: 2003-07-24   -   (IP: 212.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-07-23   -   (IP: 203.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
it's a fairly good host. fast, almost automatic sign up process, but the problem is that it is really SLOWWWWWWw. i've uploaded my site files about 6hrs ago and i got logged in. now i can't even log in to my account. and also some images don't appear. they only appear like spacers and etc.
i can't get it. if you are patient with site loads.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-18   -   (IP: 165.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good site though, Mysql database signup form could not be found (by me) but overall, at least they give plenty of ways to communicate with them ^_^

But it's quite worrying that they might remove the unlimited bandwidth and put a limit when more users signup.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-18   -   (IP: 217.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Plenty of bad points like being very slow - and their website is so unhelpful, they should at least answer a few questions on their website "FAQ; coming soon".

BUT there are so many good points to outweigh the bad points.

-30 megs space is enough for all but the largest of sites,

-UNLIMITED!!! bandwidth - some hosts boast huge amount of space but if no-one can access it it is useless, so having this bandwidth is GREAT!!

-No annoying pop-ups or banner ads interfering with your frameset.

-Supports just about anything you might want to put on your website.

It is obvious that they are going through a few technical difficulties - i'm sure their website isn't intentionally THAT bad... so it may improve yet and if it does then great. Upload is fast through FTP (I use WS_FTP LE), but actually accessing the website is slow - but is that worse than having pop-ups? Probably not.

If you don't want to pay anything, then this comes highly recommended over all the competition. I say, start out with this and when your website gets a lot of traffic, pay to move to somewhere faster - unless JcHosting gets faster that is.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-17   -   (IP: 172.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
It gives you exactly what they say which is great - free hosting with PHP and MySQL. But the server is VERY slow. The signup for the Domain section doesn't seem to work either so you can only go for the Instant Sign up at the moment.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-16   -   (IP: 61.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The site is down again. So bad luck.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-15   -   (IP: 80.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This account had been ready within 30 seconds!!!

Reviewed on: 2003-07-14   -   (IP: 172.152.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good host. Account was setup instantly and speeds were fast.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-14   -   (IP: 81.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fantastic!! So easy to setup an account, and instant!!

Reviewed on: 2003-07-11   -   (IP: 195.35.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It was very easy and fast to sign up. Also to load up files. Very nice. I hope it will stay this way and there will be no need to pay for future services.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-07   -   (IP: 12.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It's hard to say about this webhost. First off the features are great. The MySQL and PHP works for the most part, and they are one of the few free providers to allow forum scripts. However, it seems slow sometimes and most of the time, the images don't load properly and you end up having to press reload a bunch of times. Also, the tech support isn't exactly friendly. My chat with them consisted of this:

Me: Hi there! I like your service, I think it's absolutely great. Also I like the MySQL feature. But I have one question.
(pause of about 1 minute waiting for a response)
Them: what
Me: Are forum scripts allowed? My site isn't ENTIRELY a forum, but I would like to host my own forum. Do you allow that.
Them: yeah
Me: Cool! Thanks a lot!
Them: bye

As I said, not exactly the friendliest. And they promise what they offer, but with the image loading problem, I guess you get what you pay for.

I give them a 6


Reviewed on: 2003-07-05   -   (IP: 65.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Their hosting was like Fusioncities before they went out....

Reviewed on: 2003-07-02   -   (IP: 212.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This is not a review, so I have not really made the rating count. It is just an announcement to say that JC Hosting has suffered serious problems and will be working by the end of today.
John Courtenay
JC Hosting Administrator


Reviewed on: 2003-07-01   -   (IP: 64.26.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This Site was fine for the first couple of days. Everything worked great except net2ftp, I used WSFTP and it worked fine. Now it seems as if their server is down, nothing is working, not even their homepage. When it comes back up i recommend this host (use ftp client).

Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 12.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This host is the best! If you don't use their online FTP and use your own- it works much better that way. 30 MB, no ads, and really quick signup. Everything works fine- I didn't see ANY connection problems.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 80.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very fast signup, no bandwidth limit.
Only the webspace could be better.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-17   -   (IP: 142.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This is a BAD site!!! I can't log into their FTP server using the recommended online FTP client. Images don't seem to load properly and the server is very slow.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-14   -   (IP: 195.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The previous reviewers must be doing something I'm not because so far it has taken me an age to get my site uploaded - constant stalling on my ftp - and now that it is up, most of the images don't load.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-06   -   (IP: 66.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-06-04   -   (IP: 64.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I Love This Host..... Best responce...NO ADS
.. no file size limit.....no bandwith limit..
I also Recommend instead of using their www ftp
utility use FTP.... but you can only connect 2x
in a row or you are denied access until the next hour
But I Recommend this one 100%!!!


Reviewed on: 2003-05-08   -   (IP: 80.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
pretty cool. full speed and no ads
I'm happy :-)


Reviewed on: 2003-04-30   -   (IP: 203.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very good
full support cgi & php!!


Reviewed on: 2003-03-16   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
At first i was thinking this host is pretty decent. Unfortunately it seems to me plagued with slow download and alot of downtime. Although i've only been with it for a couple of days (and sadly due to the downtime still haven't got to upload much of my site) so this may improve after the servers back up. Who knows. Apart from that. A good host, good pool of supported scripts and 30mb of space. Ideal if you fancy running a site that's likely to have a small community.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-12   -   (IP: 65.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
*What are the host's positive and negative aspects?
- pos: easy sign up and use of FTP
- neg: slow upload

*Would you recommend this free host?
- most definatly!

*How long have you used this free webhost?
- a day now

*Has this host been reliable (approximate % downtime if known)?
- very reliable.
Is the host fast or slow?
-Slow upload time
-Fast download time (however this works out... lol)

*Is the host's support/features good or bad? Why?
- JcHosting have good customer support... I only use FTP, so all I can say is that it is easy and clean to use...

------------------------------------------------------------
DEFINATE 10/10, So easy to use, everyone should use this:D!!!


Reviewed on: 2003-02-27   -   (IP: 216.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Pretty much this is the best free host I have seen out there, mostly because it is easy to sign up, there are no ads, and they support php etc. The only thing I don't like is that it is slow.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-04   -   (IP: 202.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This hosting is fine, then is not very fast as it take ages to show up the page.. Anyway you can give a try :-)

Reviewed on: 2003-01-30   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This free host is back up again (it was removed from Free-Webhosts.com database last month). I had to re-create my account and upload my website again though. It now has scripting - Perl and PHP Version 4.3.0.

Added Feb. 11, 2003:
Now has its own domain:
jc-hosting.co.uk


Reviewed on: 2002-12-25   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
this host has been down for 2-3 days for now. It looks like it don't exist anymore.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-18   -   (IP: 202.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-12-17   -   (IP: 203.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-12-17   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Server seems fast so far, and no ads yet.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -