free webspace  






My-Place

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 2 2 3 1 1 4 5 3 4 23
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.77 / 10

Total Votes: 48




39 User Testimonials/Reviews of My-Place


9 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-06-19   -   (IP: 71.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
When I signed up there were no forced ads and everything was great. I even recommended it to friends, and they recommended it to their friends. Then the ads came, one at the bottom of every frame of every page. It got annoying scrolling down to see an ad when it used to be bannerless free hosting, and then the problems began big-time when I installed a CMS -- it rendered both of the forums I had installed useless, but I doubt it was because of My-Place. Now the site has been down for almost three days and they keep extending the deadline of when they think the sites will be back up. At this moment the host is horrible.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-09   -   (IP: 216.222.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This website service is horrible. When I signed up they had no banner ads and really good service. Now they for no reason just added in banner ads on the bottom of everyone's sites. I will personally be taking my site off their service and be telling everyone I know never to use it. They are a site that lies to you when you sign up and changes their service when they see fit.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-09   -   (IP: 24.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Pros: The website allows you to upload quite a few different kinds of files, the bandwidth is good, and I have never experienced any downtime. It had no ads (at least not at first), and it is free webhosting!

Cons: This free hosting service, sadly, does not tell the whole truth about itself. I thought it was a little too good to be true, and it was. First of all, any "page not found" errors on your website will be FILLED with ads. Second, your home page will have no ads AT FIRST, but in a few months, with absolutely no warning or notification, they will begin putting banner ads on your front page as well as on other pages.

The signup is fast but incredibly insecure. I highly recommend you avoid using any of your "standard passwords". None of your information is encrypted in any way. There is no more open invitation to abuse than a website that offers free instant signup and web hosting with practically no attempt at security. All in all, this service is dishonest and insecure. I started having a very good opinion on this service, even though it was insecure, but when it started sneaking banners onto my web page, I lost interest entirely.


Reviewed on: 2007-04-08   -   (IP: 66.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I looked up my website today to get a view of how others see it, and lo and behold, someone had gotten into my pages and physically changed my code to remove my contact page link and added to ALL OF THE PAGES some of their own script for Google ads to appear at the bottom. BEWARE, THIS FREE HOSTING SERVICE IS BAD. The only redeeming quality is the amount of offered free web space and bandwidth quota, but it is offset by the fact that they modified my web pages.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-07   -   (IP: 71.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This is a terrible host, and is exactly like several others listed here (all run by Byethost). Sign up is easy and quick, but the control panel is clunky and difficult to navigate. I never did actually get my site working with them. Support is nonexistant, and after I spent a lot of time just trying to get my site up and running, I get an email saying due to "whatever" they have to add a 468x60 banner to the site but will be glad to remove it for a fee. Do not waste your time with this host!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-01   -   (IP: 219.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
After three days of working on a website for a friend, my-place deleted the site and replaced it with an advert for paid web hosting. Do not bother with this free web hosting service -- it is simply a waste of time, especially when they will not even tell you why they did this, and no terms of service were broken.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-30   -   (IP: 193.255.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The features are so nice. The connection speed is slow for me, but I think it depends on the connection speed of my ISP (turkish telecom) to worldwide.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-29   -   (IP: 69.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love the service provided. I have tried other free hosting services and also some other pay hosting services. I would like to say that your freehosting service outdoes some other pay services. The site is fast, easy to manage and maintain, and the pre-installation of scripts is great. I have not used the support on the system; I have not needed to. The service is great. Thanks. It is appreciated.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-25   -   (IP: 82.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have been using My-Place for about 2 days, and I suppose I am running a forum on it, but it has been very slow and has recently stopped working. I really like the CPanel. When I had a bug on the forum I could use the CPanel to fix it. Now I can not load either the control panel or the website. I can not connect via FTP either, so I am hoping it gets fixed soon.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-21   -   (IP: 72.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love these guys. They have none of that cut-and-paste webdesign junk like you get at some other hosts. You have to do it yourself, and I like that. The user interfaces are simple, but to the point. My-Place, I love you!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 60.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It has a very good control panel that is easy to use. The webpage loading speeds are decent. It is good, completely free web hosting, and the MySQL database support is a plus. Users receive a free subdomain automatically (like user-name.my-place.us). They have installers for the following scripts: wikiwig, Joomla, Xoops, cutenews, Nucleus, bBlog, Mambo, UseBB, MyLittleForum, SMF, MyBB, coppermine, wordpress, OS Commerce shopping cart, and many more scripts. Overall this webhost allows you a lot of freedom with little drawbacks. I would recommended this webhost to those who need good hosting.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-16   -   (IP: 24.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This website is a very nice hoster place with a lot of possibilities. The free web space and allowed web traffic that we have IS HUGE, and we have 3 mysql databases available... all that at NO COST! This is awesome! Thanks!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-15   -   (IP: 125.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It is a cheater. After one month, my free web pages are deleted (they now redirect to a page full of tons of ads), and the password has been changed, I can not login!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 211.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I am from China, and I just created my own blog based upon its free web hosting program. The loading of my blog is very fast, which is I love most. As you know, its servers are in the U.S., so far away from where I am, but sometimes (not always) there seems to be something wrong my-place.us -- I cannot log onto this website. It happened twice the last few days. Fortunately, all is okay at last. That is why I rate 9. I hope it is getting better and better. Maybe next time I will rate 10.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 86.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is great webhosting, I think. I like that they do not add advertising in my webpage.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-03   -   (IP: 125.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Extremely good with easy-to-use features, such as a lot of scripts that you can install like blogs and forums. You get good bandwidth and nice php-mysql support. I like it very much.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-24   -   (IP: 68.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Man, this thing is great. It has everything you need and do not need, such as MYSQL database, easy PHP script installer (for example, PHPNUKE). It has a slick uploading system, allowing you to upload zip or whatever folders and files and then unzipping them for you and placing them neatly where you want them. How amazing is this? It has many other things, free of charge, with no advertisement banners or any awful junk like that. This is the best free web hosting I have ever seen. I want to donate money, and that is something I have never ever done. If you can not appreciate this and the rest of the stuff like awesome speed and storage space, then you should not have a website to begin with.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-09   -   (IP: 83.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Great service when it works, but its unreachable much of the time.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-06   -   (IP: 90.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Not a bad hosting service. Excellent! It also has a directory protection service (you can password-protect directories)! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-02-04   -   (IP: 88.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
For free web space host, it is just perfect. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-02-03   -   (IP: 213.179.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I used their service 3 days, and my CPanel already stopped working: I mean, my ftp manager cannot connect to the server and the file manager does not work also! I hope that you will resolve these probems, and I will change my mind about your services. Also the usability needs improved -- it is almost impossible to find online help or something like that.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-31   -   (IP: 80.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good experience -- I have tried it and have full control, and everything works okay.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-31   -   (IP: 90.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the only host you may ever need for your website/domain. They offer an all-in-one freehosting solution to host your site. Some of the features they offer for free are usually only offered by paid hosters. I have been around on the Net for a while, and I can tell you the guys at myplace deserve an award. It has an excellent site layout, efficient and well designed interface, and is easy to navigate.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-30   -   (IP: 212.127.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Initially they looked like a good solution, but later on though was headaches. Often after logging into the control panel via their website my web browser would crash (internet explorer). I tried on other browsers such as Opera and had the same result. The reason seems to be their bandwidth limitations. The main site and sites hosted on them seem to be very slow to load, and faster at other times. They are good that they do not have small file size limits, but the control panel is not one of standard use that most people are used to from web hosting companies, but its fairly simple when you find where everything is. If only they were not so slow, and often offline when they choose to be, this would be a great host.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-30   -   (IP: 144.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
My-Place.US has the same control panel as byethost, however its features are much better.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-12   -   (IP: 24.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
We have had our pages hosted at my-place for about a month now, and have had no issues with downtime or slow downloading. We love the cpanel. For first-timers using a free webspace site that allows mysql and such, the panel has made things easier for us. The only downside is the lack of technical support through emails. For people who are only used to hosting free homepages on geocites and others that have site builders for you to use, this support is needed for assisting in how to manage your folders and such so that everything flows correctly. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-01-10   -   (IP: 70.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I found that installing scripts via Zantastico on the myplace server is much easier than doing them manually. The script can be installed in less than few minutes, but it requires some editing the script. There are enough scripts in there so you can choose one that you might think is good for you.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-06   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
The ftp and upload files has lots of intruption and disconnection. I think it takes many days to upload a set of files like those php scripts. The only positive thing was fast free webspace account creation.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-24   -   (IP: 87.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This cpanel is very good to manage your free web site, and the only thing lacking is the ability to send email to other people.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-24   -   (IP: 125.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I had some problems in the past regarding file management and webhosting downtime errors, but now people over at My-Place.us have fixed these with a new server upgrade. The new cpanel works perfectly, and they are using net2ftp for web-based file management. The control panel has a DNS testing page (great for more technical people like me) and an easy to manage MySQL admin. Since I am using Wordpress, this works perfectly for me!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-13   -   (IP: 61.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
As soon as my free site started getting visits, it had error message for the web page with no explanation. There is no support or contact.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-05   -   (IP: 81.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free ftp hosting. I have been with them several months with no downtime. If I have had an enquiry, they have gotten back to me within hours, and resolved the matter. It is a fast server. I could not ask for a better free host company.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-02   -   (IP: 201.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I created a free webhosting account two weeks ago, and I did not like it. Despite the great offered space (350Mb, and bandwidth limit 60 GB montly - HUGE), there is no control panel to give server information, such as the storage space and bandwidth used. I had great problems in my free website, I arrived to send email for the support, but I did not have answers.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-22   -   (IP: 75.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It was a great host but now I can't seem to get on it at all! It is almost as if it was blocked for me. On all my computers at my house I tried to get on it, but now I can't get on it at all.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-30   -   (IP: 217.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
good free php web hosting server, with instant free hosting account activation.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-19   -   (IP: 213.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the only free home page hosting site which I found my files to be hosted ok.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-17   -   (IP: 85.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free web page hosting provider, with php scripts supported and 60 GB monthly bandwidth allowed.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-01   -   (IP: 89.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Your free home page services are good. The size of the storage space is quite big, and there is php support. When I needed help I sent email and they answered me quickly. the free web host server is fast! I hope they would improve these things:
1. Add possibility to sending of email
2. Add possibility of free web site statistics to the web pages.
This is an exquisite free hosting service! Thank you!


Reviewed on: 2006-05-23   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The web page that loads after signing up (with username and password unencrypted in the URL - not good security) refreshed about 4 times and took about a minute before completing and giving the free hosting account details, such as ftp server and phpMyAdmin URL. There is no control panel. FTP your files to the "www" folder. There is 468x60 ad at the top of hosted web pages in an iframe placed in the HTML just after the BODY tag (the iframe is named "byethostframedobject" -- same host as ByetHost?). SSI did not work, but PHP version 4.3.10-16 does (php safe_mode is on, and max_execution_time is only 5 seconds). Seems fairly good free PHP hosting service if you don't mind the ads (probably not good for beginner webmasters though, since there are no help files or online webpage builders). Your free subdomain looks like http://username.my-place.us/

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2019 -