free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  NetFirms


Visit: NetFirms
http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/basic.bml?
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)

Note: Their freehosting plan is somewhat hidden now if you go to their homepage (it may look like they only have paid webhosting). Clicking the link above will go to their free hosting plan, or you can go to their home page and click on the "Netfirms BASIC Hosting" link at the bottom of the web page. Also you must deselect a couple items from the shopping cart (listed under "Website Essentials") on step 3.
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP.
Editor: -
Scripting: CGI, SSI, FrontPage Extensions, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail.
Your URL: Top-level domain name.
Other Features:
  • Web-based Email or Forwarding (Domains only).
  • Flash.
  • File size limit 256 KB.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • Multiple accounts allowed.
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 65   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 2 3 2 3 2 4 5 5 32
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.61 / 10

Total Votes: 64

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  NetFirms



42 User Testimonials/Reviews of NetFirms


22 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-19   -   (IP: 24.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
NetFirms has a policy of suspending the websites based on unverified complaints. For example, I can send them an email saying that some web site is using my copyrighted logo, and they are going nuke the site without either verifying the claim or talking to the owner of the website. Their unsuspension procedure is even more bizarre -- they actually DELETE the website content (including databases and logs) and request that you'd recreate it without "offending content". You are guilty by default and get no chance to rebuttal the accusations. This is absolutely ridiculous.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-05   -   (IP: 64.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This hosting company is the worst that I have ever used. Honestly their customer service is awful. They have very rigid rules on what you can and can not do to help your site do better. Any technical questions to their customer service are answered with "check google" or I have never heard of that. Now that I have dropped them I find that my e-mail address is still on the account and I have no way to get it off without contacting the company the website was done for.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-04   -   (IP: 220.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Netfirms has been an excellent free host for my basic book publishing site for several years now. The ads are unobtrusive and relevant to my site content. I created my web pages on an old Mac using Visual Page and Fetch to upload the files. FTP has been trouble-free. The registration is tricky to get the free site -- make sure you uncheck the two checked boxes for "product options" before going to the next page or it will add those piad features to your shopping cart and will not remove them unless you go back two steps again to re-choose your subdomain name.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-03   -   (IP: 24.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I had problems with their setup crashing and my files kept getting deleted, which in turn my webpages all messed up. I spent too much time and money fixing their mistakes. I agree with a previous poster: a couple years ago they WERE good. Now they are way over their heads. And ignore the 30 day money back guarentee. Do not believe it. They do not refund under any circumstances.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-05   -   (IP: 209.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I am facing same problems with Netfirms. They used to be good 4 years ago, but it seems that happened to them what happens to some companies when they grow too fast. Now they have a horrible service. I have been using Netfirms for years. I used to recommend it to my customers (what a shame). I hope they forgive me now. Netfirms says you have 10 GB of bandwidth, and with 5 users visiting my web portal, their MySQL server goes down. It is horrible, and the worst thing is to contact their technical support; it is terrible. They do not give follow-up. They send you an email asking you to reply to confirm your request, but guess what? they never answer your email. My site was down for a while and they apparently tried to fix it, but they never did. Their MySQL server is unreliable. I will not use or recommend their service ever again.
[Your domain name's website hosted by Netfirms loaded okay for me.]


Reviewed on: 2006-12-28   -   (IP: 67.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Netfirms is a great web-hosting site. They have excellent support -- it is not 24 hours; they had me an answer in 20 minutes! I used my own domain name (point NameServers). My ratings on NetFirms:

Support: 10/10.
Features: 6/10 (no online website builder, and not much you can do online without HTML code.)
Fast Server: yes.
Downtime: Well, my web site never went down, but their Control Panel (https://controlpanel.netfirms.com) is down a lot and loads really slow.
Banner: Better than most free hosters.
Notes: Netfirms is a great free web space host. I would recommend to anyone (and have). I used them for 3 months, and they were GREAT! Now, I am using a person's server.
So try them out free with a subdomain. What do you have to lose?


Reviewed on: 2006-08-02   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I got my Netfirms free web site about 4 years ago, and even though I almost never visit it, and have not edited the hosted web page since, it still loads fine. So seemingly they do not enforce the inactivity limit. It is one of the most reliable free web page hosting sites. There are some ads at the top of the page, but no popups, and it is not near as bad as most of the older free hosting servers, such as 0Catch. Recomended for small websites if you do not mind the few ads that keep the free web hosting reliable.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 172.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Unfortunately I have to agree with the poster below who mentioned about having his free hosted website cut off after going over his daily bandwidth limit. All of a sudden I exceeded their daily usage for allowed bandwidth one time (on a golf shoe review site???). I wrote and asked that if I had ever exceeded the monthly bandwidth limit, could they show me the stats? Nope -- pay or go. I would not be doing business with this kind of site.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-25   -   (IP: 88.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
i think this is the best free webhosting site because i have been with them for a while and never had any problems.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-30   -   (IP: 205.209.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've used Netfirms for 4 years - they don't enforce the inactivty limit. The first 3 years was for a rarely used how-to-build teaching Website (they never shut my free web site down - thank you). The past year has been for a Site of the Month review article (www.web-tech-monthly.netfirms.com) which is more active. Netfirms has been reliable and has very good speed. I've only used the email tech support once, but this was fine. Netfirms is a good place to put your small business site (for free) while you get started. When you grow and can pay for hosting, you can easily trade up - their pay rates are comparable to godaddy and other top pay-for sites.



42 Customer Comments/Reviews of NetFirms

Page:  1 of 5

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
FrontPage Server Extensions
Free CGI Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- April 24, 2017 -