free webspace  






PhpNet

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 6 0 2 1 9 9 18 21 22 91
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.47 / 10

Total Votes: 179




128 User Testimonials/Reviews of PhpNet


51 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-10-09   -   (IP: 87.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is good free host, but there is no cpanel with a useful file manager. I like cpanel v11. It has VistaPanel website control panel with a Fantastico type installer for automatic script Installation of popular applications like forums (it used to have AHCS control panel with Zantastico). Some functions of .htaccess files are not allowed, such as custom error 404 pages (custom error pages not allowed).

Reviewed on: 2007-10-02   -   (IP: 58.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have used several free hosts, but this one beats them all. After nearly a year there has been no downtime I am aware of for my web sites. The ftp connections and any work I do on this freehosting server is always fast and simple. When I do have a problem (usually one I have created myself), they are right on top of it for me, going beyond what I ask. I highly recommend them as your primary free hosting source. Top rated!

Reviewed on: 2007-09-30   -   (IP: 83.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great service. I am very satisfied with their support. I had a problem with my user name and password, and I had an answer in less than 2 minutes.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-15   -   (IP: 69.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Php Net has fast support response time. The freehosting package is superior to any I have used thus far. Adding domains and making sub domains take only seconds. They have an automatic installer for scripts (like Fantastico) which will install applications and things such as forums, wiki, cms, and blogs up for you automatically. The only problem I have is in order to create a new cname, I have to contact support. Other than that, I would recommend this hosting service to others.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-16   -   (IP: 67.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It was AWESOME until yesterday. Somebody breached into their "Top Rated" security. So then they had to change everybody's passwords -- big mess. The ftp servers were down and they fried my mysql database! I was running a forum, so it is all lost! They were good at the time, but I no longer trust their security.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-13   -   (IP: 202.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I am glad that I found phnet.us. It is a free hosting solution for those beginner web programmers doing research on PHP. I found phpnet fast and easy to setup. I started using the service a few months ago. A year ago, I bought my own domain name from another webhosting company, but when I found phpnet I decided to close my domain because it serves the same purpose, and their freehosting service is enough for me, and I do not have much money to pay for keeping the domain name. I strongly recommend this website for all, students, small entrepreneur, and personal sites.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-16   -   (IP: 62.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It used to be a good, advert-free hosting with large space, but recently they added advertisements to all pages - a banner on the end of each page (which is very messed up and definitely not valid html code).

Reviewed on: 2007-04-08   -   (IP: 200.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I was a number one fan of phpnet.... until now. They force me to put a small ad into my site footer. They say: "Without doing this, our service may have been unsustainable.". Ok, that is fine. But I run a full W3C compliance site, and with these ads, my site is no longer W3C valid. Despite this issue, phpnet is a good free host. But this problem forces me to find another web host. Maybe the solution could be to fix the W3C validation, but there is no way to edit the code phpnet places by itself. Maybe the real solution is to go for a paid host. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-04-03   -   (IP: 71.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I signed up for this a while ago, and then my websites stopped working! I could still sign in to the control panel, but the websites could not be accessed from an internet browser. I emailed them and never got a response! It always forwards me to this website: a page of ads on partners.22web.net , and I have no idea why. I also hate how the "file not found" errors forward you to a website filled with ads, and it does not even say "file not found" or "error 404".

Reviewed on: 2007-03-31   -   (IP: 24.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Phpnet.us is hands down the best web-service I have ever found on the internet. For free, they will host your domain or let you use a subdomain, allowing tons of content to be uploaded. One thing I like is that they do not baby you through the process or give you a cookie cutter CMS. Rather, you can use your own HTML editor (I use Pagebreeze) or install a php CMS if you wish. You are also given three MySQL databases (handy for hosting forums and other MySQL-based php apps), as well as up to three domains hosted, each of which you can access through an FTP account they give you. If that is not enough, they have accumulated a list of popular php apps, and created an auto-installer under the control panel which removes download and upload to ftp time, meaning you can have something like phpBB or Joomla running in about 30 seconds. One of the best things of all though is their customer support. I have been astounded at the speediness of the replies I have gotten for all my queries (there is an emergency setting which I have needed to get even quicker help, but it hardly seems necessary), and the assistance has been high-quality, detailed, and VERY helpful. There is almost no downtime, as I have yet to experience it. The server speed is pretty good as well, and PHP code is automatically parsed when uploaded. And this costs nothing! They also have a subscription service (you pay for it) with more features, but as of right now I am totally content with the free hosting version. If you are interested in building and hosting a site the way YOU want it to look, feel, and act, this service is a 10/10 way to do it! Please do yourself a favor and try www.phpnet.us!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-26   -   (IP: 222.248.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I have been using phpnet for my personal site for about 2 months, but the first month I encountered a problem - that the server is not reliable, and the file manager cannot access right now.

Technical information for the developers:
The error occured in file /usr/local/apache2/htdocs2/filemanager/includes/filesystem.inc.php on line 51.
function ftp_openconnection (/usr/local/apache2/htdocs2/filemanager/modules/browse/browse.inc.php on line 230).


Reviewed on: 2007-03-25   -   (IP: 24.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have signed up for and tried at least 10 different free hosts just this weekend alone, and these guys are the best freehosting site out of all of them. There are a lot of free php scripts that the auto installer will do all the work for you. I ran into some difficulties here and there and submitted a support ticket. These guys hooked me up quick, with no attitudes like I have gotten from some PAID hosting sites I have dealt with in the past. No, these guys rock in my opinion. Check them out if you are looking for a great FREE site with excellent support and lots of control.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-25   -   (IP: 83.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The webmaster tools are great. But two times in a month the site was down, and the downtime was for a considerable time. The 6 rating is just for the tools, ease of use, and allowance of large files.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-25   -   (IP: 87.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Lately I found my way to phpnet.us, which is the best free webhoster I could find on the web. You may want to take a look at their listed features. What do you want more? The only downside I can imagine is that some php-commands are disabled (due to possible misuse), but they were not important to me. The php-command, sendmail (which I needed), is activated right after you donate $0.99 (e.g. paypal), but that is abolutely okay! When I had problems with passing variables from html-form to php (solution: register_globals has to be enabled in the control panel), the technical support center helped me immediately and very instantly. Very good service. All in all: Absolutely and highly recommended! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-22   -   (IP: 24.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
3 words: Leetest host ever!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-22   -   (IP: 58.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It has a good and fast php and sql server. My free website (a subdomain on phpnet.us) has been running for a few days.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-21   -   (IP: 88.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Overall good, but it limits the number of sql updates, so not good for data processing sites.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-18   -   (IP: 218.223.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Everything runs well for the first 2 weeks, but after that your websites will disappear from the world, you can not login, and they replace your content with a full page of ads! I feel sorry for the advertisers paying for banner impressions on these spammy pages, as not only is is visitor already outraged at the junk that has replaced the content they came to see, but often the exact same banner ad is displayed about 12 times on the same page, and then refreshes every few seconds to display more again and again and again as long as the webpage is not clicked away, thus cheating not only the website creator that worked to get web traffic, but even the advertisers, who falsely assume their paid banner impression is prominently placed on a real webpage with content.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-18   -   (IP: 64.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have had this free PHP host for about a month, and their web servers have gotten slower. My webpage does not load up as fast anymore. :-( A good thing though is that they give you more than enough space and bandwidth, and there is no file size limitations! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 81.247.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Registration first did not work, and then I saw the error in the url -- it said that I used illegal characters in my password, and I think that they do not allow spaces in your passwords. Then after receiving the e-mail, I tried to login to Cpanel with my new password and username, and it said that my password was too long. The registration form needs better validation of input to warn of such problems.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 83.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This host is not bad one, and many features are supported. :-) The real problem is sometimes the server displays error messages and sometimes its not responding. But when it works, webmasters will have a beautiful web panel and 300 MBs allowed webspace. Some other goodies are also available: 3 databases and an excellent chmod tool. All filetypes are allowed, and the filesize limit looks to be big (so a 5 mb file can be FTP-uploaded with no problem).

Cons: cpanel does not work at all with Netscape, SPIP script can not be installed automatically (I do not know why; perharps it can not make directories), and listing available mysql databases is denied (perharps for security reasons).

For me it is a good webhoster, but I do not know if it will keep going at no charge, or become a paid hoster soon, or quit altogether.


Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 88.152.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
PhpNet is really a great webhost. It gives you PHP and MySQL FULL support - the most wanted features a website must have, and which many other free webpage hosts do not offer. PhpNet's costumer service is quick, helpful, and efficient. But believe me, their hardware and software is perfectly working - so I doubt you will ever need any help from them. Another bonus you get is a very quick start, from the moment you sign up until your free website is practically in the air. Everything is so simple and fast. What else could you ask for? PhpNet is the best free webspace host there is! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 85.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This is terrible! They deleted my free homepage after only 2 weeks! :-(

[
The subdomain you submitted on phpnet.us loads for me now (March 15). Your free website was probably just down when you checked it, as all the free hosts and their freesites on this server were down for several hours on March 14. The owner said, "From 11:00 to 21:00 GMT we have been experienced a DDOS attack which has made our services unavailable. Our free servers are not in the same DDOS protected network as the paid servers unfortunately. We have been installing a Firebox X1000 hardware firewall. The firewall is now installed and has been optimized to mitigate the DDoS attack. We are pleased to say that all servers are now up and running normally."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-13   -   (IP: 61.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
After having used your free web hosting service for over two months, I find it to be nothing short of excellent. In addition to being fast, reliable and user-friendly, it gives me an opportunity to demo my website in real time to the real world, and so I would definitely recommend it. The one negative aspect that I can think of at the moment is that there is not much detailed information reagarding the scope of your free hosting service available to users outside of the forums. For instance I am not sure if I can add a sub-domain with the free account that I have. Other than that, I just love the phpnet service and hope I can continue to have it available to me so that I can graduate on to more advanced web sites such as hosting an open source commerce max site next. Thanks again and again.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-08   -   (IP: 146.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent site. It is very forgiving for those of us who are new to mySQL and Php development. I have been a developer for 20+ years, but mostly in the MS environment. I would definitely recommend the site to others. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-05   -   (IP: 62.171.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
The hosting service is the worst I have ever used, and I have used an awful lot. I would suggest to anyone not to use this service.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-05   -   (IP: 68.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They give excellent webspace and plenty of bandwidth. Login names are a little hard to remember. I have used this free web space hosting since the summer of 2006. I have never had any downtime that I know of! My free homepage is at least 200 kb, and it loads instantly for me, so is fast server.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-05   -   (IP: 203.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Phpnet webhosting is great, but a problem comes sometimes that when I upload the index page and type my URL, and it has loaded a different index file. I do not you why it has been happening.
[Just delete the index page you do not want loaded.]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-03   -   (IP: 201.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I had a personal page hosted at phpnet. It had no illegal content, no abuse at all, but one day it was simply, plain obliterated without warning. I do not recommend PhpNet unless you are willing to cope with your website disappearing with no apparent reason. Now the URL redirects to a page full of ads, including extremely disgusting "adult" ads.

[The offensive ads were shown on the error pages of all the Byethost sites, but seem to have been removed as of March 11. The owner claims "the adverts we now are serving are sterilised by our advertising partner (revenue science)".]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-03   -   (IP: 24.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Positive aspects include great webmaster tools and features. I never imagined I could get so much out of a free host. The negative aspect is some minor downtime, normally after 11 PM (-5:00 GMT). I would recommend this to anyone looking for a powerful webhost who needs MySQL and PHP abilities. I have used this webhost for about a month only, but it has proven to be very good. The web hosting downtime is roughly 5%. It is quite a fast server. I can have 10 clients browsing with no problem. Support is average, but features are 110%, with great free website building tools!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-24   -   (IP: 210.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Phpnet's registration was quick and to the point, with me having phpBB up and running in less than five minutes with no PHP or MySQL experience. It is all simple software, with only a few minor bells and whistles attached, no banners or ads or any distractions at all. I rate them a 10. I hope they do not get any banners anytime soon, and the hosting is great.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-23   -   (IP: 80.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is one of the worst free hosting services. Yeah, the feature-pack seems very cool, but then one day without warning they delete your web site. And when you ask them, why? The answer is: you violated their terms, OR your site needs too many resources from their servers. So, which? My WordPress personal weblog was not a really violating one (no bad content, etc.), just my own little life. If a low-traffic WordPress blog is too much to the servers, then find another host! Also after they delete your free website, it is replaced with their error 404 page, which (like all their error pages) redirects to a webpage on partners.22web.net which is full of 6 Google adsense ads in iframes (which violates their TOS in several ways), and after a few seconds redirects to yet another webpage full of tons of ads.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-22   -   (IP: 68.229.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the best free hosts that I have been to. Wepages are very fast loading with 99% uptime. I have tried many other freewebhosts, but this one beats the rest. I recommend this to everyone.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-20   -   (IP: 68.241.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have not tested this webhosting service fully, but I think it works well with my website. I still do not know how to use the scripts available with the automatic installer, although I have tested Xoops and PhpFusion, which work fine -- not very fast, not very slow. I would like to be able to install Moodle script, but it is not listed. Yes, I would recommend it to everyone I know. I like the fact that it is not loaded with ads like some other webhosts. Thanks a lot for such a wonderful service. I hope you guys continue web hosting free of charge.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-18   -   (IP: 172.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The fastest host I have been with, but there is no address to email to for support, and they sometimes delete your website without warning.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-17   -   (IP: 219.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
PHPNET is cool. I use PHPNET because my previous free PHP hosting was really bad, and the cPanel was bad, but PHPNET has a great control panel, great file manager, and a file editor just like net2ftp. Two Thumbs up. Also their free servers have a good uptime and bandwidth allowance.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-16   -   (IP: 216.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The product appears to be extremely satisfactory at first, but this host can not decide who I am logged in as. It seems to suffer from loss of session data. I registered 2 accounts on my wiki software, and it will randomly switch between logged into account A, B, and logged out. Users will be driven away by this behavior. I rate their free hosting an 8, just in case it is temporary.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-15   -   (IP: 81.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have to say that this is the BEST host in the world that is completely free hosting. I am really at the point where I would never change hosts (I mean it). Please support phpnet.us. Their webpage-loading speeds are amazing. I have tried setting up phpbb forums on many hosts, and this has to be the best trouble-free host.

Pros:
it has all features you need.
Even if you are new to web hosting and use of ftp, these people have excellent support, and you can automatically install scripts such as phpbb message board.
300mb file storage space.
80gb bandwith per month.
Much more... just try it.

Cons:
Only VERY occasionally the speeds of the host drops, and websites hosted by them load very slowly, but that is very rare.
It does not have SMTP support.
No other problems.

Believe me when I say this: sign up now! They provide the best free web hosting I have ever seen, and I am not just saying that. People who rate this freehost badly usually (I do not mean everyone) do not know what they are doing or have never heard of how to use ftp. I rate this infinity / 10. :-)


Reviewed on: 2007-02-14   -   (IP: 193.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
GREAT! Why do I never see that server in forums about free hosting?!? It not only allows .htaccess files, but here I can manage all PHP parameters even before and without unneeded files. The web hosting server is fast. The feature to install scripts automatically for you is good. It does it all and has a REALLY BIG base of NEW scripts (on other free servers I see some scripts but their versions were very old). Cool feature! Thanks! I have been using for only a small period so far, but I believe in it. :-) I will place their banner on my site, even if they do not force to do this. ;-)

Reviewed on: 2007-02-14   -   (IP: 24.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
One of the best free web hosting servers! The website speed is fast, and it is easy to set up and login. Also it has no filesize limitation (many free hosts have a small filesize limit).

Reviewed on: 2007-02-13   -   (IP: 71.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site ROCKS! The server is fast, and the Java uploading system works great! I do not use PHP or SQL, so I could not honestly rate those, but otherwise this free hosting service rocks! There is one little problem with images: For some reason, I can not get it to read images from other directories. This is probably a fault of my coding though. Anyway, I highly reccomend this website! If I have tried one site, I have tried at least 40, and this one really hits the spot!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-11   -   (IP: 219.64.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am highly satisfied. This is the best free web hosting portal I have ever encountered. You can have your photo gallery, blog, and other gadgets from the php scripts it provides. It is really amazing. Check it out.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-09   -   (IP: 64.251.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a great hosting site. The user interfaces are easy to deal with, and the webpage loading speed is fine, and free webpages have no banners!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-05   -   (IP: 69.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is easy to get started with, has great webhosting options, but lack of easy FAQ and help options for beginners.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-04   -   (IP: 59.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
PhpNet is really great. But I can not use PHP mail() function here. Anyway, thanks for providing free PHP webhosting with MySQL database and FTP support too.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-04   -   (IP: 196.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
SIMPLY THE BEST! I was bored of all those free web hosting sites till I found "PhpNet"! You get banner-free web hosting with 80 GB monthly bandwidth, Fantastico-type scripts installer, control panel, MySQL database, PHP enabled web space, no maximum file size, all file types allowed, FTP account, with no forum posting required, no setup fee, and instant free hosting account activation. ;-)

Reviewed on: 2007-02-02   -   (IP: 68.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Overall phpnet is a very nice free host provider. It still is slow at loading pages, and you can not choose your own ftp username, but that is reasonable.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-30   -   (IP: 189.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been searching for this host for a long time, I mean it is great free webhosting with no forced ads with a perfect space of 300mb that no one can refuse to have. It has an easy to use control panel and fast servers. If you want real free hosting, phpnet.us is the one!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-29   -   (IP: 83.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Really, I want to say WOW! This is the best free web space hosting I have ever seen. It supports PHP + 3 MySQL databases and the PHP GD2 library is awsome! :-) And it offers superior PHP scripts auto installer! GREAT job, guys!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-29   -   (IP: 165.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is an excellent choice for free web hosting with php / mysql databases. It fulfills all you need for php scripts, hosting, and web management for blogs, bulletin boards, shopping carts scripts, etc., all in one single place, and without charging a cent.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-27   -   (IP: 61.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Greatest free PHP hosting I ever found! :-) They give you 300 MB free web space, 80 GB free monthly bandwidth, easy cPanel, PHP enabled web space, no maximum file size, all file types allowed, simple FTP account, free email address and webmail access, free sub domain, no forum posting required, instant activation, ability to edit php.ini (PHP Flags Manager display errors) and create .httaccess & .httpasswd files to protect web folders. You can create 3 MySQL databases. They have an easy File Manager for upload/download/delete/rename files, DNS Stuff for performing advanced queries such as Traceroute, Ping and NS lookup, and also PhpMyAdmin to manage database. Unfortunately my own php-mailer script did not work out. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-01-27   -   (IP: 62.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Well, at first phpnet.us was rather complicated to use, but now that I got the hang of it, it is okay.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-27   -   (IP: 200.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a really great host. I had tried a few other free webspace providers before, but I have had no problems with this one -- good for hosting php scripts free.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-22   -   (IP: 193.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
While being a good webhost, thanks to the large offered transfer limit per month and it being banner-free, but it really lacks reliability and support. Their servers are having some very long downtime.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-22   -   (IP: 217.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It was working fine until today, but it is down now. :-( They periodically disable their website and hosted free web sites to display only pages full of tons of textlinks.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-21   -   (IP: 71.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
When I first signed up, the web hosting server was down a lot because they were upgrading, etc. Now, though, I really can not complain: this is an amazing service. No ads, PHP works... sure, it is not too fancy, but it is good to use, and the fact that there are no forced ads on your free webpages is amazing. I am really not seeing any drawbacks to this. Since they upgraded, there has been no webhosting downtime and everything works great. The new control panel is pretty simple, but pretty good (a nice alternative to an ftp client when you are not at your own computer). As for the script installer, they are all outside scripts. Having issues with the automatic installer? Just do it yourself. It is not a big deal, and, for a lack of ads, I am more than willing to go to a little trouble with installation of the scripts. In short: if you are looking for a simple webhost with no ads and php and mysql, this is your site.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-18   -   (IP: 202.83.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
The biggest drawback is no support. For some reason, the CMS script installed using THEIR scripts installer will not work with the MySQL database created using THEIR control panel. I am sure the issue is minor, but whom to ask? Otherwise, an excellent free php hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-31   -   (IP: 64.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
For some reasons I was not able to install php script. I thought I did something wrong, but I tried other free php hosts with sucessfull installation.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-27   -   (IP: 72.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I went to this freehosting website; the one reason I like it is because it does not ask personal questions in the signup form! However I hated it because when I sent my form it said, "Sorry. We are unable to supply you with an account at this time." :-(

Reviewed on: 2006-12-24   -   (IP: 86.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
:-) I love it! whoever said there's no such thing as a free lunch should really check out phpnet.us! The site is similar to another host I have been using (ifastnet.com), but phpnet.us allows up to three sql databases, whereas on other freehosts the maximum is one database!

Reviewed on: 2006-12-19   -   (IP: 202.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
The file upload button is pretty hard to find (it is the green check mark image above the upload form). It would be best to move it under the "add another" button so it is more user-friendly, and add some text to it, such as "upload". Better yet, just use a normal html submit button instead of a vague graphic image.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-18   -   (IP: 66.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Their web site has been intermittent, and there is nowhere to check server status or indication if server problems. There are no alerts of downtime (though there are many free third-party website monitoring services on the Internet). It is not as consistant as other free hosts I have been using. If they get better web hosting uptime, maybe it will be good someday.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-13   -   (IP: 69.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I used MrAlert Home Edition 15-minute free website monitoring service (96 checks/day) to monitor my free web site, and the result was very disappointing over the last 2 days (if their uptime stats are accurate). It reported that my monitored webpage had 20% downtime yesterday and 100% down time today. It seems very unreliable!

Reviewed on: 2006-12-07   -   (IP: 62.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Their website is slow loading webpages sometimes, but it has .htaccess, mysql and php support! :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-05   -   (IP: 209.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I needed free PHP web hosting for my very simple PHP site. My web site does not connect to a mysql database - it is very simple. I also do not have my own domain name, because my website is for my private use and not for public use. I used another freehost in the past, but I think they are not fully operational right now. So I tried Awardspace.com, but I was trying to use it with a separate free domain name, and it was not working for me. It was too complicated to figure out. So I tried phpnet.us and it does everything I need perfectly! :-) Thank you, phpnet!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-29   -   (IP: 125.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I like this free webspace service. I hope that this service will remain free of charge. When I used the ftp for uploading my files, it was fast to move all of my files to the web server. thanks alot.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-28   -   (IP: 190.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They had some web hosting downtime almost one month a good (I think in September) when they updated all the dedicated servers. Now I have no problems at ALL. It is clean, and the new cpanel is great and simple, and most important, full php/mysql free hosting with NO ADS!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-26   -   (IP: 194.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the best free webhosting services ever. The phpnet.us service is great, and the site is opening very fast. The good thing is that it supports php scripts and the php web pages load very quick. I do not like that the site is sometimes down (they should really fix that error), but otherwise this is the best freehost for me.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-25   -   (IP: 71.242.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an awesome host - the best free host out there in my opinion.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-25   -   (IP: 83.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I have a problem with this hosting. I have connected to ftp and put on it all the files from forum phpbb. Unfortunately during the install process I get a text: "Could not connect to the database. Lost connection to MySQL server during query". What is the name of the database and mysql connection info, because it seems to be the problem. Please help me because I do not know what to do.

[
MySQL Host: sql1.phpnet.us
The MySQL Database name and SQL Username is the same as the username that was created for you.
You can see these infos in the left column of the control panel (login at cpanel.phpnet.us).
]


Reviewed on: 2006-11-24   -   (IP: 69.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Great host! You are given lots of bandwidth (80gb), plenty of storage space (250mb), NO ADS! (YAY!), easy sign-up, fast dedicated servers, and MySql and PHP, all at no cost to the users. What more can you ask for?
I do have a couple of minor gripes.
1. They do not support your own domain name hosting, which I think is a little bad.
2. FTP access is a little sketchy... sometimes it works, and sometimes it does not.
3. When connected to the FTP server, it tends to drop you if there is no activity in 5 seconds.
4. I could not connect to the POP3 mail server.
5. There is no ability to create your own 404 error pages.
Still I give Phpnet.us a rating of 8... Not bad at all for a free host! I can not wait till the day they support hosting domains free!


Reviewed on: 2006-11-24   -   (IP: 218.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
PhpNet is easy to use. I have used it about 6 months. Their uptime has been over 95%. Their server had been a bit slow, but they just upgraded their network of servers, and it is very fast now. The Zantastico script installer is powerful. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 80.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Positive aspects: free web hosting with no banners, no ads, php-MySQL support, databases, a control panel with simple interface, POP email account, and most important to me, PhPMyAdmin. :-)

Negative aspects: There were problems in last 2-3 months, before and during their webhosting servers cluster upgrade (ftp access was crushed down, same as http access sometimes, and with mail server problems too (now all works nice though!).
Email sending is not allowed outside of domain/subdomain (you can send e-mails from php scripts to phpnet.us account only).

In summary, it is a highly recommended free web hosting service!


Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 196.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
To host my site, I tried a lot of free web site hosts, and there is even a littered link chain from those that goes all the way to my web site's current host, PHPNET.US. These guys are just too good! I have MySQL and PHP supported, and there are no ads either! The best thing about the freehosting service is the high reliability despite being a free service. I have not experienced significant web hosting downtimes at all (only just about a day in the whole time I have had my website here) - simply amazing!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 85.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I can only say that phpnet is the best free host services ever, since it is fast and useful. The Advanced Hosting Control Panel has net2ftp file manager (a web-based FTP client) and Zantastico automatic installer for many php scripts (about 25), such as phpbb, joomla, WordPress, Mambo, XOOPS, osCommerce, and CopperMine gallery. But there is a big problem! Whenever I get an account, it is deleted within a few days. I do not know why. Please this time try to keep our freehosting accounts forever. :-) thanks.

[The company owner said that with phpnet and a few of their other free hosts, they were never running any idle / inactive account verification, so prior to moving to the new server cluster they ran some freehosting accounts housekeeping (to save migrating over 10,000 dead accounts), and this process would have been the most likley cause of your PHPNet free web hosting account being removed. They are implementing a new system that will email people when they are about to hit their inactivity limits on an account, and when their website has been idle for a period of time (giving the user the chance to rectify the problem).]


Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 216.175.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Let me just say that PHPNet is the BEST free hosting company out there. Not only was my account set up immediately, but I was able to begin uploading my web site IMMEDIATELY as well. There are several ways to upload: a control panel file manager and ftp. Both work well. Occasionally there are a few problems such as too many people trying to use their services. This has only happened once, and I am quite sure they will never let it happen again.Their support is quick, effective, and they try to do everything in their power to help you. Their webserver is fast too. There are not many free website hosts out there that give you 80 Gigs of Bandwidth a month. I highly recommend these people.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 202.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
PhpNet.us is an excellent free php host in most respects - its only downfall being that it has, on occasion, been down for long periods of time. Besides that, the only complaint is that the FTP seems a bit slow. I have had a free site with PhpNet.us for a few months (at least, time has really flown), and I am overly pleased with the results. It has no filesize limitation, high bandwidth allowance, a large amount of webspace and no forced ads (besides on error pages), which more than make up for its shortcomings. I would recommend PhpNet.us to anyone who does not mind if their website is occasionally down. The web hosting downtime has been further apart and shorter in total recently, showing their devotion to their customer base. Signup is easy, and their support is responsive and helpful, too.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 203.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Hosting-wise, everything is A-ok. The free diskspace amount and mySQL provisions are ok. However it would be nice to have the smtp function enabled. I would recommend this free host only for beginners.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 138.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free home page hosting site is the best of the best: NO ADS, 300MB webspace, MySQL and PHP, and now it even includes a control panel with add-ons like PHPBB2 (forum) installer, etc. The new cpanel is the best I have used, and the new script installer is very easy to use. I like this site.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 222.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is a great free hosting site, with no file restriction, fast server, 80 GB bandwidth per month allowed, and of course a new CPANEL!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-23   -   (IP: 151.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Phpnet.us offers very complete freewebhosting services (with PHP and mysql) plus 300mb of free web space. It is enough for my needs, and I am very happy with it. Any cons??? To tell the truth, a few weeks ago phpnet was down for a few days, because they were improving their web server hosting infrastructure. But things like that may happen with free hosting providers.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-21   -   (IP: 83.131.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Php Net is a clean and honest free php hosting offer. You need to have some webmaster knowledge, as there is no automatic assistance. It is the best free php hoster site I have found until now, but it is not for the beginner webmaster.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-02   -   (IP: 83.23.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They remove your free website without a warning. At first it worked wonderful, but after few weeks there was nothing. Sometimes they are overloaded -- OK, that happens... but this!?

Reviewed on: 2006-11-01   -   (IP: 208.182.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Phpnet.us is the best free host around. Yes, last month they went down for a while, but when they came back, thankfully no files or anything was lost! :-) I had a whole server full of mp3's and other audio items hosted there.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-20   -   (IP: 59.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good free web site host without ads, providing a good amount of webspace, and huge bandwidth. It would have been better had it provided a user control panel and some web tools.

The owner says their free web hosting servers are being upgraded and moved into a cluster / grid network. This web hosting architecture is completely redundant and offers benefits such as high availability, ultra fast speeds, and unprecedented reliability (if one server was to go down, all the websites are still working). The web and MySQL servers are all being upgraded to this improved solution. The bad thing is that this major upgrade has meant they have had to change all freehosting account user names, which were emailed to the users recently.


Reviewed on: 2006-10-16   -   (IP: 85.206.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Whatever you do, sooner or later they will close your website without any warning anyway. Cheats! I put the same content to other free webhosting providers, and it is still there! It seems they deleted all the free hosting accounts while they were upgrading to what they claim is a much better and more reliable system. But why were the previous freehosting accounts not restored after the upgrade?

Reviewed on: 2006-09-25   -   (IP: 61.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Hey, what is going on? Three whole days have been passed, and I am not able to access my free website? Is phpnet.us down or what? I cannot access anything -- the page is not loading! It was an excellent site but why is it not working for such a long time? :-( Please anyone, tell me what is going on.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-25   -   (IP: 203.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
They always delete your web site, even without breaking tos, but beware they only want the 404page after deleting your free website for banner ads to show. Even their own homepage is showing nothing but ads now - no content or freehosting services.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-25   -   (IP: 80.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It used to work quite well actually. But from some time on it was going down quite often. Today it is impossible for me to get in and create an account or even go to my free webpage. Still I hope it is up again soon. By the way, the previous poster (2 reviews below) is right telling about that error page with loads of ads.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-20   -   (IP: 84.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Not bad, but not that good either. I do not know the reason but it seems you have to be lucky when you register. I opened 3 accounts just for testing a while ago : on two of them I could not seem to get ftp working properly (timouts, or nothing written to server), and the same files on the third account worked like a charm. Mysql had the same problem : 2 out of 3 accounts mysql kept on giving errors, and again with the same setup used. Weird.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-17   -   (IP: 85.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It is a nice service. you must think twice about banners. They said there are no banners, but there is a lot of advertisements when your webpage is under errored page. The visitor will be confused when something goes wrong. Other things are very good. In past 2 weeks, I can say it is fast server, with cool uploading and downloading speeds, and webhosting uptime is good too.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-16   -   (IP: 194.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Really great FREE hosting services, instant account creation.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-09   -   (IP: 210.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent performance. I prefer not having a lame web-upload for files, and the addition of popular CMS packages is just a sweetener. Quick 4-field signup without asking for any details like name/address/phone etc. is good, too.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-07   -   (IP: 70.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I had a free website on this host, but they took it down constantly, and it was a pain. The URL of my free web page redirects to a web page on dhcp81.com that does not load (that domain name is unregistered). Is PhpNet hacked, or just misconfigured? Their signup page redirects to ifastnet.com and displays many cpanel error messages such as "Disk quota exceeded (122) in /var/www/www/signup.php on line 1".

[
PhpNet owner replied:
We had some capacitiy issues with the service, and while we were fixing this, we decided to pause new account signups, and move them over to ifastnet.com, however the capacity issues have now been resolved, and phpnet.us is taking new accounts again.
]


Reviewed on: 2006-09-05   -   (IP: 82.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Awful - whilst the hosted services are good, the package looks great and the amount of bandwidth is great, the server is often down! My website was only available half the time - and what is the point of that? I am moving to iFastNet instead (less bandwidth, but more reliability).

Reviewed on: 2006-09-01   -   (IP: 69.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best free hosting service you can get! Minor cons are only FTP upload (no web-based uploading files), and FTP times out too fast for me.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-29   -   (IP: 217.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Efter installing a blog script, a login to the admin panel fails and the web page redirects to ads page instead. Totally useless for me, when adding a new post is impossible. I am not sure what the problem with the blog script is, as other hosted PHP scripts work fine. Maybe the problem is caused by a missing file in the blog script, causing an error 404 which thus gives the ads page.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-20   -   (IP: 80.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good, the videos they offer to show you how to do things are very clear and also the give you links to other web site that will help answer any questions you have :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-08-18   -   (IP: 86.143.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Good basic free webhosting services.
Pros:
* Custom error pages and password protected pages are available. you just have to write the htaccess file yourself.
* MYSQL Database
* PHPMyAdmin
* No Ads
* Free POP3 Email account username@phpnet.us
* Subdomain
Cons:
* No control panel
* FTP times out
* I am personally finding the web server quite slow to load pages.


Reviewed on: 2006-08-17   -   (IP: 201.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The positive is the unlimited FTP allowed. I use cuteftp pro, and I do not have any problems. their 300 megas free webspace are sufficient to store videos, music, images, and other files. It is very recommendable, and the best thing of everything: there are NO BANNERS! I am very thankful with the developers of this free web space site. It is very necessary for webdevelopers on a tight budget.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-11   -   (IP: 202.12.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Amazing, I just ran through a lot of free web site hosts, and none of them met my needs, but this free hosting site just gave me almost everything I need. So far... that is my first impression.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-08   -   (IP: 24.141.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
You need to use FTP to upload your files. There is no login to a control panel. You can access and manage your mysql database with phpmyadmin at http://support.phpnet.us/myadmin/

Reviewed on: 2006-08-05   -   (IP: 83.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Their FTP times out too fast! The rest is fine.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-03   -   (IP: 80.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Great - quick and easy. No long forms to register. The only problem is the lack of a way to create a web page to display if the webpage cannot be found (custom error 404 page). Instead advertizing is displayed for error pages.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-02   -   (IP: 218.208.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free PHP hosting provider, with PHP GD support (the library of php image functions). They have hosted my free website since May (about 3 months), with no problems at all.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-01   -   (IP: 67.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This free website hosting site advertises 80G transfer bandwidth/month allowed, but they deleted my free web site without warning after using only 2G. They then locked my account, so a redirect page could not be posted. Very poor customer relations. So if your free site becomes popular (or you violate their TOS), it will be deleted.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-30   -   (IP: 210.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Positives:
* No ads, as they promised :-)
* short subdomain URL free

Negatives:
* FTP connections time out fairly quickly during uploads

Would I recommend it? Yes.
Webserver speed? Good.
Support Features: Excellent.

It makes me think how they will be able to support it without ads or payment of some sort. We could probably see banners coming on in a while.


Reviewed on: 2006-07-22   -   (IP: 220.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
what I love about this free website host is that there is no maximum file size limit, and that there are totally no ads. however, at the moment, I find that I cannot connect to my ftp account - all account details and the host address are correct according to the email received from them. furthermore, I cannot find a contact email to ask them about it, or at least find a help section that is beyond two video tutorials. how do people get help specific to phpnet's freehosting services? [The server and FTP seem okay now.]

Reviewed on: 2006-07-21   -   (IP: 207.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Well, their web servers were down a while, and I could not access my website, and sometimes the phpMyAdmin goes down also once in a while.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-17   -   (IP: 202.130.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It took me two weeks to find a free webhosting service in the internet. I have tried several sites that people voted the best, but I think Php.Net is actually the best free webspace hosting site I have ever tried. Thanks Php.Net a lot for its support to the community.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-17   -   (IP: 82.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Positive:
1. No advertising on your free web pages hosted.
2. .htaccess supported (custom error pages, user limits, etc)
3. VERY good technical support.
4. Immediate and anonymous registration.
5. Quite fast servers.

Negative:
1. No crontab :-(
2. Disabled fsockopen() and system() commands in PHP :-(
3. User cannot view logs.
4. No ssh.
5. No FAQ; with any question you must write to support guys.

Would I recommend this free hosting? Answer is yes.


Reviewed on: 2006-07-16   -   (IP: 24.225.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I had an ebay listing for an RV, the bidding was up over 20,000, and they just canceled the account without warning. Now my ebay auction listing is all broken.

[Their TOS states "Our free hosting plans are NOT for the following purposes: File storage, File hosting, File Linking, Image Linking,...", and they rightfully cancel sites breaking their TOS, which it seems you did. Try using instead one of the free image hosts listed under "Free Image Hosting" section of this website.]


Reviewed on: 2006-07-16   -   (IP: 200.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think this free host is very cool for hosting my blog website free.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-12   -   (IP: 213.123.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Phpnet are the best free host I have come across, and I have been through a fair few. It is banner-free and has one free hosting plan which is very generous. Add-free, Mysql database support of course, 300mb free web space (huge compared to others I have used) and 80gb bandwidth per month. As for availability, I have never had an issue with my hosted website being unavailable to my knowledge. The thing that impressed me most though is the first time I posted a tech support problem via their support ticket system I didn't expect to hear back for a couple of days but received a response in 2 hours. The guys who run it have been so helpful with my technical queries. If you are dissatisfied with your freehost, then give these guys a try. if you get any experience close to what I have had with them, you won't be unhappy.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-11   -   (IP: 71.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is a great host compared to Awardspace and Roxr (my previous free hosts; it is like comparing black to white). Php Net has fast FTP transfers (I got 24kb/s, compared to Awardspace's 2kb/s), great webhosting features, instant account creation, and a phpnet.us subdomain.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-09   -   (IP: 24.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Well, umm, isn't this like Netfast? [Yes, it is the same free webhosting company.] Well, at least this one has the same features but more! INSTANT ACTIVATION IS THE BEST IN FREE WEB HOSTING REGISTRATIONS! That is what I have to say.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-05   -   (IP: 195.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
It is good host, BUT they deleted my forum. I had 70 users and 500 posts, and now I don't know what I can say to them. WHY? It was a very goodly forum. I am very disapointed. I upload it again to the same server because I even believe it is good. I hope for the best this time. my rating is 8, for the very good options of these free website hosting servers.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-04   -   (IP: 216.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free php web hosting server is fast and simple. I got my details straight away after clicking signup. It has everything I need: PHP, MySQL data base, lots of disk space with no file size limit, and no banner ads!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-02   -   (IP: 80.80.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best free mysql php web hosting site, with no banners or ads forced on your free webpages!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-02   -   (IP: 200.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is simply the best freewebhosting website ever the Net has had.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-29   -   (IP: 201.207.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very good free subdomain hosting service with no ads on free web pages hosted.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-27   -   (IP: 60.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
FTP gets disconnected very often, and uploading is slow for me.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-23   -   (IP: 67.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Excellent free php hosting! One of the best free hostings I have seen.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-20   -   (IP: 80.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think this is the best free web hosting service that you can find all over the world! Amazing! 300 MB of free web space, no file-limit, no ads, php, 1 unlimited mysql database: all for 0$! Incredible! With these tools added to the fantastic open-source CMS Joomla (www.joomla.org) you can build up a portal or a blog or a forum or a professional web community!

Reviewed on: 2006-06-20   -   (IP: 83.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Undoubtedly the best free hosting service I've seen so far on the web. Plenty of web space free, no forced ads, no file size limit, short subdomain URL, php support... need I say any more? I thought such a free host could possibly never exist, and yet here is one that has proven me wrong.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-11   -   (IP: 203.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Great free hosting server!

Reviewed on: 2006-06-10   -   (IP: 81.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
WOW, instant activation and PHP/mySQL database supported - all I needed in a free hosting service provider and very quick/easy to set up. Don't go for this option if you want Perl and loads of toolbars, as this isn't what it's about.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-24   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
About the same as My-Place.us, another partner of ByetHost, just with slightly different web hosting features and limits (and My-Place.us has free email, whereas phpnet.us does not). This one has no file size restrictions, so you can ftp upload large files. After giving the few registration details on their signup form (username, password, and email address), wait a minute or so for the webpage to refresh a couple times, and then it will give your FTP server info, MySQL host name, phpMyAdmin URL, and other important webhosting details. FTP files to the www folder. The server is fast, but the third-party 468x60 banner ad at the top of the page was a little slow, and not good content in my opinion (of course it constantly changes though; it is seemingly random ads and not site targetted). My test phpinfo() php page works (their webserver is currently running php version 4.3.10-16 in safe mode with GD support enabled, as well as other useful php modules, and MySQL 4.0.24). Good freehosting for php development or testing (not for newbies though). Your free web site must get at least one visitor hit each month to stay active. "Php Net .US" provides virtually unlimited bandwidth for free websites (80 GB per month), since it is ad-sponsored. Your free sub-domain looks like http://username.phpnet.us/

 

Copyright © 2002-2018 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2018 -