free webspace  






ProHosts

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
     
# Votes: 1 0 0 3 2 1 1 5 1 4
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.94 / 10

Total Votes: 18




18 User Testimonials/Reviews of ProHosts

Reviewed on: 2007-06-02   -   (IP: 82.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Now the bandwidth has been reduced to 6 GB free monthly traffic, which is the same as their parent company, Byethost. Previously it was claiming to offer 30,000 MB/month (30 GB).

Reviewed on: 2007-05-17   -   (IP: 172.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I am currently using the free web space service provided by prohosts.org (part of byethost), and I have to say what an excellent service it is. There are services for everything, including php, mysql, extra sub domains, one-click installs, the list goes on and on. I am currently running a Drupal install and have had very little problems, and the one wee problem I did have was answered and fixed within 2 minutes - yeah, seriously. I do not know of any other web hosting business that could compare in technical support, and this service costs nothing. When I need to upgrade to a paid hosting service, Prohosts.org will be my host. It is an excellent host, and I have already recommended Pro Hosts to all my friends and family anyway, so it is time the rest of the world started using them as well.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-16   -   (IP: 70.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Even if there are advertising on the bottom of each webpage, you must keep in mind that the web site host is not costing you anything, so it needs to make some sort of money to keep itself running. Also, there is some site re-directing, but as long as you use FTP to transfer files, that should not be a problem. The main problem is that it only has 300 MBs of web storage room for files, and that is not that great for hosting forums.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-15   -   (IP: 89.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was looking for a good free hosting site to start my new forum, and I am glad I found prohosts.org (same as pro-hosts.org). There was some downtime earlier today for a few hours, and I emailed the support department, as I was concerned it would be a regular thing. Within 5 minutes they had replied and explained the problem. That was the fastest response time I have ever had from a webhosting support, and I have used many free hosts over the years. I can not recommend them enough.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-07   -   (IP: 71.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This is a really bad host. Sign up is easy and quick, but the control panel is difficult to use. Now they have begun to add a 468x60 Google banner to all free web pages after implying they would never add banners.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-07   -   (IP: 202.7.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Their FTP is acting weird for me, which is really annoying. They also have google ads at the top of the page now, which is even more annoying. Other than that, it is a great host.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-06   -   (IP: 74.67.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This is no longer banner-free hosting services. They now place Google advertising at the bottom of each webpage.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-25   -   (IP: 217.159.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The signup was very fast, and I had no problems with setting up my site. The only downfall here is that they do not allow you to see your website stats. There are no ads on your page, and the automatic script installer is very handy.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-21   -   (IP: 210.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This error message is what you get when you try to install something:
"There seems to be a problem with the MySQL server; sorry for the inconvenience. We should be back shortly."


Reviewed on: 2007-03-09   -   (IP: 86.141.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It was very easy to setup an account, and I got Joomla running quickly and was able to test variations. Great! I am thinking of upgrading to a paid hosting account, because it is so good.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-08   -   (IP: 202.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is the worst that I have tried. I could not even sign up for the free host service on their home page. Before getting the chance to sign up, you are redirected to weird pages that try to install spyware software on your system. I was directed to no less than 3 pages that tried to install software on my system. I could not get past this, no matter what I did. So a huge big 1 rating from me. AVOID this site like the plague!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-06   -   (IP: 71.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Great host. I have not had any problems with Prohosts, and I plan to continue using their services. There are no forced ads either, which is really nice because most freehosts put ads on your website, and that is annoying. The automatic installer of scripts makes adding features a breeze too.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-25   -   (IP: 80.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This host is really bad! I can not install my forum on this host because it constantly redirects me to a partner ad-page. If you are looking for a good free host for forums, this is not it. It is the worst free host I have ever tried.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-16   -   (IP: 210.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
WOW! Finally I found a good place to host my site - with a good domain name. It IS GREAT! Although this is my first time running a community website without much knowledge in PHP and MySQL, it became simple when ProHosts provided a simple menu to understand and automatic installer to install the PHP scripts. YEAH! THANKS PROHOSTS for the good freewebspace services! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-02-14   -   (IP: 65.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am rating ProHosts a 10 because I set up the DNS, and my domain name website was available in less than 12 hours. This is fantastic since my previous freehosting provider took 3-7 days to respond to support issues. It is extremely fast compared to previous hosts. This webhosting site has many additional free features available than most hosting sites. Keep up the great work.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-06   -   (IP: 84.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
You get lots of features like free mysql PHP hosting, and no ads on your website (when it works), but my website frequently redirects to another web page full of ads - very irritating.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-06   -   (IP: 165.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Initially, I was excited. Free web space bannerless? Now I am resigned to the fact that their free bannerless web space is not worthwhile. What they give you is generous, IMHO. However, after setting it up, trying to load my site in a browser takes a very long time. What is the use of having freewebspace when you can not display your masterpiece to the world quickly? Much of the time, trying to load my site in a browser, it gives an error (3 out of 10 times). My opinion? PHP, mysql... great. Speed? Slow. Their own website loads fine, but my site leaves a lot to be desired. I figured that I would be better off paying for a REAL web space.

[Note by webmaster: I looked at your free website on prohosts.org, and though fairly large for a webpage, it loaded fine in less than 2 seconds.]


Reviewed on: 2007-02-06   -   (IP: 203.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The only thing I do not like with VHCS control panels such as the one used here is I can not seem to find statistics of my storage and bandwidth quota (which is really an important factor that every web host or web hosting control panel should consider), and they do not fit nicely even with a 1028x728 display monitor (plus the heavy graphics). I like the web hosting and the features (no ads on my page), but I am wondering how they are supposed to earn from this when they do not even have ads on the control panel?

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- January 20, 2019 -