free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  Somee


Visit: Somee
http://somee.com/DOKA/DOC/DOProductDetails.aspx?docode=false&pid=100000000036
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 150 MB.
Forced Ads: TextLink-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: ASP, ASP.NET.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • MS SQL, Microsoft Access databases.
  • Silverlight and MVP Framework.
  • No file size limit.
  • Inactivity limit: your free website must be visited at least 5 times each month.
Date Added: September 22, 2004.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 74   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 11 5 3 1 3 1 3 6 12 26
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  6.93 / 10

Total Votes: 71

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  Somee



71 User Testimonials/Reviews of Somee

Reviewed on: 2006-08-02   -   (IP: 194.29.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Stay away from this free webpage hosting site! They deleted my free hosting account with no prior notice or anything. All my emails to the tech support received the same reply - none at all. This is no way to give service - even if it costs nothing!

Reviewed on: 2006-06-10   -   (IP: 68.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Beware: not recommended for long term web hosting. My website was deleted 5 times in 7 months. They don't have to give a reason - and they didn't. My e-mails to tech support asking why have been ignored. My visitor logs show I met the min requirements of 10 visitors/month and 4 clicks on ads per 2000 pages served. 1 login is required every 6 months, and I logged in once or twice every 2 weeks to work on the web site and learn ASP. My web site content is within guidelines, and I maintain a valid email address, so it would be a mystery why they deleted my free web site if it weren't for obvious technical changes each time my website disappeared. When they made major upgrades to the Web host application for customers, my site was deleted. When they restored to a previous version of Web host application after an upgrade produced very slow response times, my site was deleted. When they changed their name server IP address, my site was deleted again.

File sizes are limited to 1 MB, except for MS Access databases, which aren't limited. They place minimal text ads at top. ASP and MS Access database work, but there is no way to set directory permissions to protect the database. Control panel is easy to use and usually works, but gives constant error messages. More than half the time the operation works despite the error message, but no guarantees. Web server is always up, but as noted my website isn't always online. Server speed is a little below average, and ftp speed is about average. Free web space recipients have to agree to receive ads via e-mail but I only received 2 ads in 3 months, so it is not too intrusive.

All in all, somee.com is generous, but keep backups of all your files, including the directory structure. After you recreate your deleted free hosting account, be prepared to wait 2 - 4 hours before the control panel will work the first time for file uploads. Ftp using the ip address works almost immediately after creating the new account so you can upload files that way if you know how. Use a script, because the ftp session times out at 2 minutes.


Reviewed on: 2006-06-06   -   (IP: 163.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The ftp connection is disconnectd after 120 seconds [of inactivity?]. Therefore it is nearly impossible to do any development on this site. You need to re-log in for every dit and dot that you change.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-02   -   (IP: 203.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Things are not bad, but, PLEASE DON'T PUBLISH ANY FREE WEB SITE IN THIS SERVER. THEY WILL DELETE WITHOUT NOTIFICATION.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-21   -   (IP: 81.91.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
If you use this hosting service you would risk having you website deleted without any prior notice and any reason at all! Everything seams perfect at first but suddenly they sent me an email saying my website was deleted for SPAMING. Totally not true. Look for other free web hosting services.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-11   -   (IP: 71.112.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It looked like a pretty decent setup with a lot of configuration options, but the text ads at the top of the web page actually overwrote the top of my web pages. I would be perfectly OK with their ads showing on the pages as long as my own content was not obscured, but that wasn't the case, so I couldn't use this free website hoster.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-03   -   (IP: 58.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
So cool freewebspace site!

Reviewed on: 2006-04-02   -   (IP: 219.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This free web server is good, but I cannot use this as a file storage.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-29   -   (IP: 59.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Remains to be the best of the free hostings. user friendly, server never crashes, etc.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-16   -   (IP: 203.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I think it is better than domaindx!



71 Customer Comments/Reviews of Somee

Page:  3 of 8

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free ASP Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -