free webspace  






Teracities

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
     
# Votes: 2 4 1 0 2 1 0 2 2 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.95 / 10

Total Votes: 19




18 User Testimonials/Reviews of Teracities


1 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-05-22   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Firefox can not establish a connection to the server at my free sub-domain of teracities.com. That is all I get 9 out of 10 days, and then one day it might work, but the next day it is down again. What is the point of it trying to exist? It does not work! It has constant problems.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-05   -   (IP: 210.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
when I try to confirm my e-mail address I get this error (with my user name generalized):

"Fatal error: Failed to mkdir(/www/teracities.com/k/e/e/username) in /var/wkscript/functions.php on line 195".

Something is going wrong on that site if it cannot make a directory, and I have tried 4 different internet connections. I have had to resort to other free webspace hosts.


Reviewed on: 2007-04-03   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
At first they had intermittent site access, then nothing, then it was removed from the listing here, and now it is back and the site worked, YESTERDAY!Today it is no access again: "Forbidden - You do not have permission to access / on this server." That is my site! If you need one day on and 5 days off, then this is the place for you! It had a good mix of features and also unZip on files, so would have been a top rating free host (if it could stay available). This is a very unreliable webhosting server.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-20   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Yes, it might have been up since March 15, but even though I have left urgent web tickets, my hsoted site is nearly impossible to log on to. The file manager works great, and I have deleted the site, reinstalled the files exactly as it was before it died, and yet I still can not access the site. I have put a longterm trace on it from mon.itor.us, and while several other sites work well (not at teracities) using the same web pages, teraciries still will not work. Has anyone had any luck there yet? It is a pity there is no forum or webmaster email address, and tech support tickets seem to go unasnwered or unnoticed! This problem was fixed once for a short while, but now all sites there are dead again. The owner rarely monitors the free webspace service to make sure everything is okay.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-19   -   (IP: 84.126.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
All free web pages are down again (though their site is up, and your files can be seen in the file manager). My site was mostly down for the last two weeks. This is certainly not the 99% uptime they claim to offer. I rate it a 2, and I am now setting up my own server.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-19   -   (IP: 88.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Rarely up (has mostly downtime), and if it is up, it loads SLOWLY.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 24.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The last couple of weeks my free site has been down almost every day for a few hours. It is great that there are no ads, however I could not even adjust my web site because the site is down all the time. I would not recommend this site. Now I am moving my site to another host.

[The free web sites hosted by Teracities are working again.]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-14   -   (IP: 207.235.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
This site was GREAT for about a week. Then it suddenly went down with a "64 - Host not available" error. Without a support forum, I was unable to find or report any assistance. I submitted two help tickets, both marked HIGH PRIORITY, and they have remained unanswered. The idea of this free web page hosting site is great, but if it does not work, I can not give it a good rating. If they get it fixed soon, I will bump my rating to a 7 or 8, and if it stays up then I will go to a 9 or 10. But for now, I can only rate it 2.

[The free web space sites on Teracities are back up now (March 15).]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-13   -   (IP: 4.21.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I signed up and uploaded a website several days ago, but I have yet to be able to access the site. The connection times out, the web page does not load, or it returns an error. I opened a support ticket, but received no response.

[Added by webmaster, March 15: I contacted the owner last night, and he quickly worked on it and said it should be working, but my free web site on teracities.com is still down also.]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-13   -   (IP: 68.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Their hosting server is getting slower and slower, and they do not have a forum to discuss problems.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-04   -   (IP: 213.113.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This webhost is great - not just the huge webspace they give you, but the speed of it! It is so fast to upload files, and what's the best, your pages are banner/adfree! I would really recommend this site to people.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-03   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Just a seek for help! There is no forum for users on teracities that I can see, though their FAQ says there is! Is there any way to backup the sql database? I am not really familiar with sql databases and forums. I am using the phpbb forum, and can not see how to backup it.

[
In their control panel, if you have not already, create a database name, username, and password, at the link that says "Create/delete MySQL database" (just beneath the file manager link). Then using that username and password (not your account ones), login to the pre-installed phpMyAdmin 2.8.2 using the phpMyAdmin link just beneath those links. There you can use the "Export" function to backup your mysql database. That works well, but you could also install your own backup script, as there are several free SQL backup scripts you can download on the Internet. Just search on Hotscripts.com and other PHP scripts sites.
Have you tried the "Support tickets" link in their control panel to contact them? There is an email address at the bottom of their webpage for "abuse", which you could try also.
]


Reviewed on: 2007-03-01   -   (IP: 89.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I rated 10 for this webhost.

pros:
20 GB file storage space and 40 GB monthly bandwidth.
no ads on your free web pages hosted -- unbelievable!
fastest ever free hosting: fast FTP, fast control panel and everything.
2 MB file uploads, and a lot types of files allowed.
many script installations automated.

cons:
no supporting forum.
.sql file extension is not allowed.
bugs everywhere.
 
Still, it is the best free hosting. The 10 rating is for their potential.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-27   -   (IP: 203.111.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Their website home page says: "Bad Gateway - The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server." I hope they are back up soon -- they offer good features.

[Their homepage was down for several hours, but it is fixed now. Their own homepage being down did not cause downtime for the hosted free websites though.]


Reviewed on: 2007-02-26   -   (IP: 68.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best free web hosting service, with amazing connection speed. They also have automatic installations of many PHP scripts:
4images
sBlog
UseBB
wordpress blog
bBlog
Nucleus
MyLittleForum
osCommerce
SMF
tikiwiki
wikiwig
Xoops
coppermine photo gallery
MyBB forum
ZenCart shopping cart
cutenews
phpBB2 forums
gallery
Joomla
Mambo

I can not find their forum though. It appears they do not have one.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-26   -   (IP: 59.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Due to their poor website design, the registration form is confusing and very hard to read the grey text on grey and light blue background. Click on the odd-looking field next to the text about TOS to check that you read it (it is like a very elongated check box, but looks like a text box). The freehosting activation e-mail was sent instantly, but then in step 2 you have to give more personal info on a form that is equally hard to read (it helps to select the text with your mouse to reverse its color). After filling out this, it says "account created successfully", and about 5 seconds later redirecting to their home page (leaving you wondering what is going on). The account data (such as FTP server name and control panel login URL) were sent instantly to my email though.

The FTP server is also given in the control panel main page, as well as PHPMyAdmin, PHP application installer to install scripts easily, website statistics, support tickets, and file manager (very similar to other LayeredPanel free hosts). The file manager lets you upload 3 files at a time.

The webpages load very quickly, and nothing is added to your HTML, so there are no banners, ads, or popups. :-) Error 404 pages are redirected to their home page. The free php web hosting runs PHP5 (Version 5.1.6). The PHP was very fast, second only to FreeHostia according to the free PHP hosting comparison benchmark results on this website.

Overall it is pretty good free web space hosting. I would rate 10, but give a 9 rating due to the poor registration method and not being user-friendly for newbies (beginning webmasters).


Reviewed on: 2007-02-24   -   (IP: 58.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Well this looks really good at first glance:
- 20,000 MB diskspace (20 GB)
- 40,000 MB monthly bandwidth (40 GB).
- NO ADVERTISEMENTS on your free webpages!
- FREE subdomain (user-name.teracities.com)
- Easy-to-use WYSIWYG editor
- Full FTP support
- PHP4 support
- 5 mySQL databases
- Instant free web space activation

Yet there are some problems, as the faq mentioned ads WILL be inserted on your pages, as well as limited mysql to 2 databases and not 5 as advertised on their front page. Maybe they will clarify these things and fix the contradictions. Other than that, it seems zippy, and there are the usual google adds all over the control panel page for administrating the web site. But hey, if it is free web page hosting and they keep the user pages bannerless, then I am all for them surviving and even getting very rich on adverts, just so long as they do what they claim to do.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-24   -   (IP: 74.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I must say that I am very impressed with this host! You get bannerless hosting with lots of webspace and monthly bandwidth, and I was surprised at how fast my website loaded after I uploaded my files. This host is definitely worth checking out!

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -