free webspace  






TopCities

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
   
# Votes: 14 3 2 1 0 1 3 3 2 2
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  3.84 / 10

Total Votes: 31




31 User Testimonials/Reviews of TopCities

Reviewed on: 2007-06-28   -   (IP: 72.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Topcities used to be a great host years ago. But somehow my account password got erased, which caused me to be unable to log in to my site. I tried contacting several people there through e-mail, but I never got a reply.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-26   -   (IP: 64.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I LOVE topcities webhosting! I originally used XOOM - and one day all my free webpages just vanished. Then I used Geocities, but I could never get on my own web pages because my pages were being "shutdown" because there was too much traffic (bandwidth) - THAT WAS RIDICULOUS! :-( Topcities allows me to run all my web pages (20+), and there is more than enough space available. My webpages are never shut down and always working. This has been the best free web hosting I have found, and I have been doing my websites since 1998. My webpages load quickly, which I love. There is good support and easy updating of your web site. I LOVE IT! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-07   -   (IP: 12.46.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have built 3 diffent sites on Topcities, the oldest being 5 years old now. I have never had a single problem. I am always able to log in, and my sites are always working. Customer support is 4 stars out of 5 -- on some emails they may take a day or two to respond, but they always have. Live help is better, and you get results right away. For those who say they are not emailed new passwords, once you are logged on, you can change your own password to whatever you want, so it is up to you, not Topcities. They do not send you passwords, which is probably why you never got any. Read all the fine print and FAQs first; it is all explained there. I never had a problem, and my free sites have never been down once in 5 years.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-15   -   (IP: 70.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I have had a website on topcities since the middle of 2000. I was working on my site in December 2006 and the next day suddenly could not log in. I am still unable to access the website and have sent several emails which have remained unanswered. I have no idea what has happened. When I try to log in, the error message is as follows (this particular message is from about 1 minute ago):

Fatal Error: Something that was not supposed to happen did. We have been notified of the error.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Error writing to file. - /topcities/Users/t/twinklystars/_data/dirs_hf.txt


Reviewed on: 2007-02-11   -   (IP: 24.72.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I have had a website hosted there for 2 years. I had no problems until November 2006. I was very pleased until that time. Since November I have been unable to login. My ID and password are recognized, but it will not let me into my account to edit my website. There is an error message saying, "We have been notified; sorry for inconvenience".  It is not fixed yet. No response from email. My site is still viewable, but I am unable to edit it. It is a decent host, but only IF IT WORKS!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-06   -   (IP: 62.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
At first I was really pleased with Topcities. I spent ages setting up a site, but one day could not access my free webpage hosting account. I sent 4 to 5 emails asking what had gone wrong, but no reply, and am still waiting 2 months later. I am not impressed at all.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-23   -   (IP: 85.168.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
For the second time, my free website has been erased with no explanation, no comment, no answer to my desperate messages.

Reviewed on: 2006-04-26   -   (IP: 4.247.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I can't even get started. It took two days to finally get a password and then when I log in I get to the file editor and I kept getting an err message every time I try to edit the page saying the page does not exist? I am already on the page, so how can it not exist. About a year ago they removed my page and would not tell me why.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-19   -   (IP: 70.36.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've hosted my web site with them for years without problems. The people who complain probably abused the services in the first place. Today I noticed topcities just changed their bandwidth limit to unlimited! Wow I'm so happy now.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-29   -   (IP: 142.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Large banner ad can ruin the layout of your free website. If you decide to leave Top Cities, they will keep your web site running for themselves and use your Page Rank and Back Links. You can't get any lower than that.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-02   -   (IP: 24.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This was my site. One day in May, I couldn't log in. So I moved to a new site. I wish i could redirect viewers to my new site. I had a topcities account 2 years and I didn't do anything wrong. Just one day I was kicked off!

Reviewed on: 2005-08-30   -   (IP: 213.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have had my website up for 5 months and I haven't had any problem with TopCities at all apart from I never get my comments/ e-mails answered.

Reviewed on: 2005-08-21   -   (IP: 81.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Site was fine for a year or two. NOW I cannot get in. Password denied. Forum (info) not operational. No contact possible. "Password sent to your e-mail" they say. Not true. So I start to look eleswhere.

Reviewed on: 2005-07-04   -   (IP: 24.43.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This host is the worst I've seen and been to yet. I shouldn't have to say anymore, just one thing... DON'T USE THIS HOST!

Reviewed on: 2004-12-11   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I once tried to register an account on TopCities, and while it worked well enough at first, it suddenly failed to recognize my password later on, and this was when I'd just logged on! I went in and was trying to access the file uploading options when it asked for my login details again, and then all of a sudden, I found myself unable to log into my account again.

As others have pointed out here already, they never answer emails from clients at the service, and when trying the option to retrieve a lost password, it just didn't work. If there's anything I appreciate in a webhosting service, it's good customer service, and sadly, TopCities offers none, which is a leading reason why I wouldn't even suggest this server for building a website on.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-08   -   (IP: 144.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I recently discovered two of my sites hosted by TopCities had disappeared.  I sent several e-mails to tech support and have received no response at all.  I highly recommend this outfit not be used.  I also discovered that TopCities will remove your site if it has no activity - why??  Anyway.... no response from tech support and no warning about sites disappearing don't leave me with a warm fuzzy.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-30   -   (IP: 198.147.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Don't waste your time registering for an account. You won't recieve an account confirmation e-mail with your password. Several days later I looked over their FAQ's. It tells you to choose "lost password" if you havent recieved your confirmation. I tried it, still no account confirmation. I give this host an F-

Reviewed on: 2004-05-20   -   (IP: 24.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I used to be on this site. Every 6 months my website would be deleted. Then they brought in the bandwidth counter. By 2pm every day I was exceeding my daily bandwith and the site was not available. By the 15th of the month I was exceeding my monthly bandwidth and my site was not available for the rest of the month. They never answer emails and suport is non existent.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-19   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I signed up for this host and they were quite stable until a while ago. My site and a couple others were deleted for an unknown reason. I as well as the other members still help in the member forum but are no longer hosted with topcities. They weren't too reliable and I personally wouldn't recommend them. They were ok at one point but I lost faith in this host. Medium to slow loading speeds as well as non existant admin support. Members who help in the forums deserve some credit for the free support they handle.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-08   -   (IP: 62.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I rate Topcities very low because they delete websites with absolutely NO warning and will NEVER answer emails or give an explanation. Apart from this very major failing, they would be great. They took down my site and put a notice on my site that I had exceeded bandwidth, although my own detective work showed I had not. Indeed my site NEVER re-appeared although if it had simply exceeded bandwidth it should have re-appeared the next month.
DON'T USE THEM!!!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Okay. I made this excellent site, and had links and everything set up perfectly. I test it and the links are all not working. I go back to the file manager and they say to change all .html endings to .htm - so i did - and everything worked ok. But still, then i made a new page and added the .htm link and it said to change to .html - an okay host in terms of space and stuff but i am sick of changing my extensions.

Would i reccomend this host? Not really
Good things: Fairly fast, easy file manager, good amount of space.
Bad things: Have to keep changing extentsion, so i made my site like a book. You just go from page to page with no navigational bar. And that worked ok....i still find it very wasteful.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 65.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
VERY VERY VERY VERY SLOOOOOWWWWWWWWW HOST! Along with that 900KB file limit!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-03   -   (IP: 172.129.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
do not use this host.
i have web site with 2000+ files, generating about 100 hits per day. topcities deleted my site without warning, without telling me why. i have been unable to get a response from them concerning my site.....a quick check of their forum shows that i am not alone. my story is repeated many times by many others.....5 years of work, deleted without warning or even an explanation.....it could and will happen to you....


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
One of the top 10 available due to the size of space and the fact that the banner is not bandwidth hungry.

This is the place for beginner and person looking for a big space.


Reviewed on: 2003-04-07   -   (IP: 216.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Positive:
-Lots of space
-Fast, reliable servers
-Option to upgrade
-Forum for asking questions

Negative:
-File size limit (hasen't been a factor for me though)
-Bandwidth limit

I recommend this webhost. This has never happened to me, but some people have had their accounts deleted. Most of the time it was the person's fault. (Read their Terms of Service!)

I have used this service for over 2 years and never had a problem with it.

There is some down time, but it's rare and never lasts too long.

The host is quite fast.

You can get support on the forum or email. I have never had to use this, so I'm not sure about how good it is.


Reviewed on: 2003-03-09   -   (IP: 24.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
For first time users with small websites that don't get a huge amount of traffic this is great (i.e. small personal websites). However, because of the daily bandwidth limitations and monthly limitations this host isn't very accomodating for larger websites. Once you've used your daily/monthly bandwidth you cannot even access your member info, let alone update or access your files on the servers.

General Overview:
Upsides:
- I've never had a problem with the per file size limits.
- easy to use, has both FTP and web interfaces for uploading
- nice short url (membername.topcities.com)
- fast

Downsides:
- per day and per month bandwidth limits
- couldn't access the site while I was in Japan (but that may have been the ISP I was using)

How long have you used this free webhost? over a year...perhaps even 2.


Reviewed on: 2003-02-12   -   (IP: 24.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I was on this host for 2 years. After the first year they put in bandwidth restrictions. I had a popular recipe website and my hits went from a high of 19,900 in one month to a restriction of 3,500 hits per month. My site was getting cut off at about noon every day, and cut off for the month around the 15th. Furthermore, in 2 years I had my site deleted 4 times. They do a housekeeping every 6 months and delete all the sites then start over. They will NEVER answer emails either!

Reviewed on: 2003-01-04   -   (IP: 80.15.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I've had my site up-and-running with TopCities.com for more than a year, and another one for nearly 2+. I have no complaints. The file limitations (max. for account and bandwidth) have never been a factor. It's been down, or inaccessable, rarely. I highly recommend TopCities, and I've seen and used several others! If you run a Non-profit or personal activity on a very low budget, consider TopCities.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-11   -   (IP: 150.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This is the WORST webspace provider ever created! I barely used it for four months and all of a sudden, they just delete my site. They didn't care that I updated it regularly, and kept my upload limits BELOW their 900 Kb restrictions, and kept my site free of profanity or violence! THEY JUST DELETED ALL OF MY HARD WORK WITHOUT EVEN TELLING ME!!! I don't recommend this site, in fact, STAY AWAY FROM IT!

Reviewed on: 2002-11-01   -   (IP: 213.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Be careful. After using it for five months my topcities site was suddenly all gone. Nada mas!

Reviewed on: 2002-10-27   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is a reliable free host that has been a longer time than most. This free webhost also has nicer features in the file manager than most free webspace hosts. There is the typical EZ-Web editor and file upload of 5 or 10 files at once, but there is also a Java upload where you can select many files at once. Or you can just use FTP. There are two free website templates available in the file manager: "Cool Light Blue" and "Pink Clouds".

The banner at top is not real bad looking. In the added code is a comment that says, "TOPCITIES MEMBER, IF THIS BANNER IS MESSING UP YOUR PAGE LAYOUT, VISIT http://www.topcities.com/help/banner.html FOR INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO FIX IT." It adds a 468x60 banner, and under that two 20-pixel-high images which together are also 468 pixels wide. These are links to TheFreeSite.com and TopCities.com.

The total amount of data transferred from your web site space may not exceed 1 MB for every two html page views.


 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 21, 2017 -