free webspace  






Tripod.uk

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 15 1 1 3 6 4 5 5 4 11
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.58 / 10

Total Votes: 55




40 User Testimonials/Reviews of Tripod.uk


15 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-09-03   -   (IP: 24.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
They have upgraded the free web space amount to 1024 MB (1GB, previously only 50 MB). However the ads are very obnoxious. Google ads would be fine on the page, but they put them in a tower in a frame on the right side of the webpage (squashing your website content), and there is another ad and ad-bar in the main frame that initially covers much of the page before collapsing after a few seconds. I do not think they have an inactivity limit (great), as I have had a freehosting account there for years and had not logged in for ages until today, and my account is still working fine.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-29   -   (IP: 88.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Completely junk as far as i'm concernd. i mean like it says my password is too easy. its my everyday password, never been cracked yet, and then when i put a password that is 15 characters long, it says it must be at least 6 charaters, and then it starts saying please choose a different username, an when it finaly worked after about 20 minutes, guess what:

"Due to the maintenance work, it is not possible to change your personal details right now. Please try again later. We apologise for any inconvenience caused."

why dont they just put that message up before you try to join? this is the worst host i've seen yet.


Reviewed on: 2005-05-31   -   (IP: 62.255.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Tripod is only a good web host if you want to spend your life complaining about poor service, adverts and general rudeness. All they ever do is give you an automated e-mail telling you to complain on the forum which they never check.
I strongly oppose Tripods free web hosting as it is shabby with tools that dont always work, ads that up 4/5 of the page and stop php scripts from working and php hosting was the only reason i came to Tripod and it seems they cannot even do that right!


Reviewed on: 2005-05-05   -   (IP: 62.255.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Positive aspects: It has useful online features.

Negative aspects
Very invasive adverts that sometimes cover up to 3/4s of the screen. These ads stop php scripts working. They impose a visitor minimum limit you must get over 50 visitors to your site and they don't even seem to be able to count. they claim I had 11 but with a private counter counting only different IP's I counted 57.

I recomend this service only if you want to have your website covered in ads and want to have rubbish customer support features (a forum which no tripod staff actually visit).


Reviewed on: 2005-04-20   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is probably one of the best free hosts I have come across. Ok, so it may not offer 500megs of space and it may not be ad-free, but it beats others by a long shot. I used this web host to make my first ever website, using their website builder. Since then I have learnt several website codes, and after losing my last web hosting, I needed a temporary host to test out my PHP coding. I was surprised that it actually had such good features. The only downsize, for me, is the size of the advertisements, but then, the service is great otherwise.

Reviewed on: 2005-04-05   -   (IP: 67.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Pros:
* free
* 10 meg max filesize
* ftp
* php4
* perl
* 1x mysql db

Cons:
* invasive ads BREAK many php applications
* FTP upload averages 8kB/s (I can upload at 140kB/s)
* does NOT fully support PHP4
* imagemagick NOT supported
* deletes sites without 60 unique hits/month


Reviewed on: 2005-03-11   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This was my first introduction to sitebuilding back in 2001. Then it was pretty good if PAINFULLY slow to use. the on-line site builder was drastically updated and became a MONSTER to use.

The perks:
1. Good host in that the facilities now are not too bad for a complete novice who wishes to be left in peace to just muddle on and try stuff out. HTML editing is possible as long as you do it online (fine if you are on unmetered access) or you can use (if you can figure it out) their templates instead.

The not-so-funny-drawbacks:
1. Where do I begin? I had to upload my own HTML pages (as I progressed) to their benighted sitebuilder tool and wait for HOURS while it did its updating. With too few file places for uploading this could take HOURS! Add to that, that you may be on dialup and you can forget it!

2. Advertising may completely push your code out as others have mentioned. This is intrusive and EXCESSIVE. It alternated between popups which I really dislike to the now "wider-than-decent" frame on the right making it seem like YOU are actually endorsing the sites listed there. Depending on what you hope to achieve with your page you could end up with some real STINKERS which you, in effect, are advertising for.

3. The last but NOT LEAST issue I have/had- the fact that the staff DO NOT EVER RESPOND at all, ever, never, not in a million years!

This has meant that their site's locking me out of my own website means that I am tied to having a completely uneditable site which I cannot edit or REMOVE! I am mortified. No number of "lost password" retrivals have achieved anything but that I have received hundreds of auto-generated email telling me what I already KNOW my password is. And so much for me thinking perhaps it had inadvertantly been changed! I have emailed and emailed. And then I tried emailing them. And also emailing them. All to no avail.

Conclusion: Good for beginners IF it actually worked (which it still doesn't for me- I check twice or more a year...) and you don't mind excessive stress over not being able to get through to anyone or cannot cope with the advertising!

PS: I have reviewed a few free services which I gleened from this most excellent list (you guys- keep up the GOOD work!!!) but have to say- I turned traitor and paid (£14/annum)! I simply couldn't take the agro any longer. The cheap and cheerful site I am with is a marked improvement on ANYTHING I have experienced with free hosts. Remains to see if they have the staying power over the free ones!


Reviewed on: 2004-11-27   -   (IP: 81.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Good package on the surface and I've (rather hesitantly- but what can you do) signed up for a second year. The tools are there and easy to use but frustratingly unreliable and although support in building the website is ok I'd be hard pushed to find a less awe inspiring support service.

I emailed them two weeks before my yearly subscription was to end to enquire what my new package would cost and any additions- didn't get anything back at all. Emailed four times in total and was repeatedly ignored (despite having seen the yearly subscription moved from my bank account). Consequently I lost my page and email for two weeks. I'll move this year.

Altogether a decent package for your first website but be prepared for downtime, frustratingly ignorant support and lots of unreliable tools.


Reviewed on: 2004-09-24   -   (IP: 69.157.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is pretty good, I used this to make my game Legend of the Green Dragon. The server is slow at times, but what can you expect for free services? Like, you shouldn't expect fast paid servers on a free account. Overall there Hosting is good, and I reccomend it if you need a quick easy-to-make host.

Reviewed on: 2004-09-23   -   (IP: 62.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Absolutely atrocious. Every possible type of forced ad you can imagine is employed here. The frames mess up all your layout, things wipe across your content. Just don't do it. Plenty of other places give as much without forcing you to have foul pages.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-20   -   (IP: 213.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Now you have ad settings so like you can change the frame to google textlinks.

Reviewed on: 2004-06-09   -   (IP: 82.193.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Good things on lycos.co.uk is PHP, ASP, Frontpage (this is very rare on free host) MySql, FTP, counter, guestbook, express meta-tag and big space 50 Mb for unlimited bandwith.

And one more thing most important for new webmasters, very easy work place web FTP (too slow for me but easy to use) and  Mysql easy and good.

You have help (maybe little short but... you have it!)
I in that help find how to use FTP without WebFTP and 100% working but if you don't know how to configure program your problem not lycos. I test it with Dreamweaver MX, Smart FTP, FTP Voyager and its working.

If someone tell you different don't believe. You have help, you can ask super user on lycos and you have forum.

After you read this you ask question why my rating is 6 after all this good things, they have many annoying and bad things but you can be satisfaed because you don't have alternative!

BAD THINGS are: Ads are annoying and large, pop up window sometime not always splash up when someone come to page, for me most frustating thing is ftp server (webftp from lycos and dreamweaver also), too slow, I dont have broadband but even for my internet connection is to slow cca. 3 Kb/s and with many disconnections. Another thing frustrating is limitations on mysql database and PHP, you can't have on your site have Wisiwyg editor for administration my site, and I can't have simple XML RSS news graber for news. Mysql don't always work.

Summary:

I think that for newbie is pretty good hosting, you can learn most thing about php and mysql and you can have e-mail address for your page also. For advance user, you always may pay dollar or two per month and find better service.

I dont think they so good but its free. what you expect!


Reviewed on: 2004-05-22   -   (IP: 210.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They send you ftp username and password is a sadistic joke. It never connects. I tried on 2 accounts I created as upload through webftp is a drag.

I tried to find support for ftp upload. There is NO REFERENCE of that about ftp in their help pages. PHP is heavily restricted. Does not let you run many common commands. Not installed GD library needed for images manipulation.

Terrific slowwwwwzzzzz.

Last but not least, annoying pops. Sure to drive your visitors away cursing you in all languages known to them.

Still want to use them ? I bet your IQ will be in single digit :) Dont get angry. When you see their pops you will be real angry. I saved your time after wasting lot of mine.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-18   -   (IP: 210.245.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've tried many hosts, but I must say this is the best.
PHP, MySQL, PHPmail enable, 50Mb, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited file size, all file types are allowed (include mp3). What do you want more?


Reviewed on: 2004-02-09   -   (IP: 65.148.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Tripod UK is okay.. it is much better than Tripod US. Everything is okay on Tripod UK except for that sideframe thing. I absolutely HAAATTE That thing. does anyone know how to get rid of it? i used to have a code that did and i guess they found out because it doesn't work anymore... grr.

Reviewed on: 2003-12-14   -   (IP: 202.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
PHP, mysql support, ftp. The ads are annoying but u can get rid of the frame by getting a redirect link and selecting framekill. the java ads annoying but at least it closes... there are better hosts out there but this ones ok..

Reviewed on: 2003-12-07   -   (IP: 209.239.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Well in my opinion it is very good. Most of you people rate everything bad. well guess what I think you all who rate things 1s are N00bs!

Reviewed on: 2003-11-27   -   (IP: 62.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
There hosting is ok. You have to admit, it's instant signup and they're accepting thousands of applications a day. The only downside is the advert. It's huge! You'll find if you enable PHP 4 U, your PHP will work fine. You can also connect with frontpage. Lycos UK has come a long way since 6 months ago before they did the make over of their site. MUCH BETTER THAN LYCOS U.S. http://www.tripod.lycos.co.uk.
If you're looking for a site with a few pages, this is fine.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-30   -   (IP: 217.44.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Honestly ... its rubbish. They say it supports php, you can upload a page with a php extension but you cant even use php include. Its got a huge frame on the side ... flash drop down add, popups, its slow, cant connect with FTP ... Trust me ... DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!

Reviewed on: 2003-10-30   -   (IP: 63.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
PHP and MySQL works. FTP works. But it is full of errors, very slow and it is down frequently.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-06   -   (IP: 81.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I don't know about you, but my site is clogged in commercials. There's not just the adds frame. I get a flash commercial and, from time to time, a pop-up. Visitors can't really see the actual contents of your website because of all the commercials. It is also very difficult to connect using FTP, because their servers are down.

Reviewed on: 2003-10-05   -   (IP: 202.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I don't think they're that bad. PHP works fine for me (haven't tried msqyl though) and they're easy enough to use. I can't get ftp (not webftp) to work so I'm assuming there is none. :(

Reviewed on: 2003-08-23   -   (IP: 209.63.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Lycos UK used to be one of the best free web hosts (other than their small amount of webspage you get). Then came along the ad frame which refreshes every few seconds and interferes with scripting languages on your website.. Shortly after came connection issues with the databases. Around the same time as the database issue, a new problem popped up disabling members from logging into the php/mysql managment.

If you look through their forums for support, you'll notice that 99.9% of all posts are members complaining about the service, and the other .1% (if that) would be the support making promises they have yet to keep. They do not reply to your problems, and I highly doubt they even bother to look and see what members are having problems with.

I do NOT recomend this host to anybody! The only thing I find to work as of this review would be the FTP. If you want quality hosting with no annoying ad frames, no scripting issues, REAL PHP scripting (and not their made up version of PHP), and working databases, I'd go find someplace else!


Reviewed on: 2003-07-29   -   (IP: 203.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
My ISP doesn't connect to them which is a problem with a number of ISP's across the world with respect to this server. Support didn't respond and I only found out what went wrong with my account via the user forums.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-13   -   (IP: 172.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Free is free, but their stupid ad frame they use makes them bottom of the heap for free hosting...

Reviewed on: 2003-07-13   -   (IP: 80.178.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
i hateeeee lycos.. that is the worst host in the history of all time...
don't use it!! it stinks!!


Reviewed on: 2003-06-24   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I used to think this is 1 of the best webhosts around. I didn't mind the advertisement banner on top.

However, now they add a big banner on the right side of my site as a frame. They email me to tell me about the new style of advertisement but soon they add the old banner back as well.

There are downtimes as well. I can't view my site for more than a week & I don't bother to go back to check often. I suspect I have exceeded their "unlimited" bandwidth.

I can't access to their FTP as well, maybe I have to stay in UK in order to use it. I have been using their WebFTP, which is same as normal web browser, except they have graphics that slow down the loading of the page. Thus you have to spend more time to upload your files.

Currently my site is up & I'm intending to use the account for hosting my gallery. My main site will not be hosted there.

I give them a "5" for rating to pass them because of the 50 mb space & bandwidth they provide. I hope they will improve on their service. I understand they are providing free service afterall.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-20   -   (IP: 217.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It was ok before the ad was added. now not only it ruins the layout, masks the url but i also can't access the news, my forum's administration panel and other php based stuff. Also the ftp is way too slow, and very often down. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-13   -   (IP: 209.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I was amazed at how great this site is at being a bad host. It's TERRIBLE! Php&MySQL is always down. The host has too many errors. Finally they got the php and MYSQL back on one time and that was great except for the fact that the FTP went down after the php and MYSQL came back on. So it was no use basically cuz I couldn't get the file i needed. This place stinks like garbage. Not recommended.

Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 213.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Lycos used to be a good server, but their new ad-frame system completely ruins sites made for & viewed by 800x600 res veiwers.

the new banner take up 20% of the page and is located vertically down the right hand side. - this is not editable thus does not fit with the site layout.

no longer recommended.


Reviewed on: 2003-06-08   -   (IP: 213.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
The only good thing about lycos is php&mysql. Other things are just terrible!!! I can name their administration as "commercial freaks" because of their advertising project. After discovering that their banner is removable with <applet> HTML tag, they decided to add a frame which make website look horrible! Pages are loading about 4-5 times slower, and there appears many errors in html because of that frame! What are they thinking??? Nevertheless this host is terribly slow! Almost every day I found downtime in FTP, or my page was unable to reach... This host is very very bad!

Reviewed on: 2003-06-03   -   (IP: 24.70.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I was really impressed with lycos.uk for all the reasons people have mentioned, namely unlimited bandwidth, 50MB storage, good technical support, etc.

THEN they changed the banner!  Now it's a NON-REMOVABLE scroll bar with ads on the side of your screen!  It's a FORCED AD with NO WAY to remove it!  If they hadn't changed the banner, I would've given them a 10/10.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-04   -   (IP: 210.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
It stinks...........they banned all asian IP.........
U only can access the sign up page but after u type all the info. and press summit..........


Reviewed on: 2003-05-01   -   (IP: 203.97.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I managed to get a phpBB board working okay on this host. Rare to find a reliable free host which offers PHP and mySQL, and their ad requirements are reasonable as well. Unfortunately, their FTP does not work for those in the south-east Asia region. They will not provide exact details, but I am in New Zealand and it doesn't work here, and I understand from posts in their tech forums, that it does not work in neighbouring countries either. Talking about their tech support forums - they're great, I found lots of help with getting the phpBB board working.

Reviewed on: 2003-02-25   -   (IP: 217.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I hate it. it was all going fine until mySQL database was locked for no reasons at all.

Reviewed on: 2003-01-14   -   (IP: 80.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
maybe its a good HTML host, but try using PHP/mySQL (for instance on my phpBB forum) and it gets real slow. :'(

Reviewed on: 2002-12-31   -   (IP: 212.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It's really good webhosting.

Reviewed on: 2002-12-10   -   (IP: 172.183.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Not too bad, quick and reliable and gives most info needed to set up scripts, my only complaint would be the top banner that covers the top of your site until your visitor works out how to close it. Would not be as annoying but I'm using free pre-made scripts and it covers some of the important bits !!!

Reviewed on: 2002-09-09   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
You can upload 8 files at once, or zipped file (nice for big sites). There is a large banner at top. PHP was recently down for a couple days, but is usually a reliable host. The URL of your free home page looks like members.lycos.co.uk/username

Reviewed on: 2002-09-07   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Since we cant get the "perfect" free host anywhere, this is far the best I've seen.  Very reliable, always up.  average speed, sometimes even fast server.  The top banner isn't too bad, it actually looks rather nice, at least comparing to others I've seen.  They give 50mb space and that's enough for many of us putting our homepage online.

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- July 17, 2019 -