free webspace  






XTHost

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
         
# Votes: 0 2 2 0 1 1 0 0 8 10
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  8.04 / 10

Total Votes: 24




23 User Testimonials/Reviews of XTHost


1 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for blank user-review ratings also.


Reviewed on: 2007-04-14   -   (IP: 195.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It is Ok. There could be a bit more free file space to upload stuff, and a Site Builder could come in useful.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-12   -   (IP: 84.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This free hosting is great, has fast signup without registration, and my freehosting accounts with lots of traffic are still there. I like it.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-27   -   (IP: 71.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This site is entirely too slow. Its slow to sign up and slower for end users to log on. They may be a good site if you want a site that is text-only or near to it. Otherwise I think the 5 rating is fair. they are better than a lot of free webpage hosts.

Reviewed on: 2006-05-21   -   (IP: 222.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
instant access. It's good except its 30MB storage space limit.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-04   -   (IP: 64.114.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
At first I was satisfied with this service. Considering that it was free, I was even willing to put up with the ridiculous filtering out of files containing certain text strings, supposedly for security purposes. One such text string is "bank", used alone or part of other words. The system will not allow the upload of any file containing that word, either by FTP or via the web. The word is so common that removing or changing it can interfere with the context of a web site. Now, unfortunately, there have been so many technical problems and crashes lately that I have moved my web site to another free hosting server.

This was a pretty good service until the technical problems and server crashes started. Users lost their entire accounts more than once, and had to start all over again. My main objection was the ban on uploading files containing certain perfectly innocent and very common words, like "bank" (even as part of another word), in a rather clumsy attempt to avoid abuse.


Reviewed on: 2006-01-31   -   (IP: 71.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I've been with them for 5 days now and the site has had HD crashes and lost all the files of its members. Ftp access was down 2 of the 5 days. I have not been able to log in for 2 days now. The site is currently offline for whatever reason. Files come and go at their whim. Is this the kind of site you want to host your files? When I first signed up I thought it was a great site. But the reliability of their operations are in question now.

[It is up now. Their news page says, "30.01.2006 HDD Crash. The harddrive crashed. I couldn't recover any data...sorry."]


Reviewed on: 2006-01-17   -   (IP: 221.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
good! It can support gb2312 (simplified Chinese charset). Suitable for Chinese characters pages. And easy to setup your website. no ads, no confirm e-mails.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-03   -   (IP: 202.176.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Fantastic! Everything was created in a minute.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-29   -   (IP: 195.56.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I was in this host's community for a while, and i can strengthen that occasionally deletions happen without any explanation. The weirdest thing ever happened there was when somebody requested for web space upgrade second time (had 100Mb), was approved (got 130Mb), then after a week got deleted. The admins told they did not do this, neither they gave back the account. So if you wish something on what you can rely, it is better to avoid. On the other hand they really offer what they tell, but from time to time their uploading also goes down for shorter or longer periods, so in long term it is cumbrous to keep up a website there. There are better choices.

Reviewed on: 2005-12-09   -   (IP: 84.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Amazing, setup done in 2 seconds. No waiting for email and it gives you all the FTP info you need.

Reviewed on: 2005-11-26   -   (IP: 84.12.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Fantastic set-up. no waiting for e-mails or reviews; just enter your required username and it is done in 2 seconds! only negative is that you need 1 hit per week or your free hosting account gets deleted. so back it up!

Reviewed on: 2005-11-24   -   (IP: 80.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
The Pros:
Fast Reliable Server
Helpful Community (Forums)
Browser and FTP upload
30 MB for starters. If you need more, you can ask them
No Pre-set bandwidth limits
No Forced Ads
The Cons:
10 MB File Size Limit
No PHP/MySQL support

I am giving this one an 8.43 out of 10 (see below) primarily for only one reason: Lack of PHP/MySQL support, which would have been icing on the cake really. Very reliable, very friendly, very fast. Oh, and to re-state the obvious: make sure you are on their good side by following their TOS and you'll be fine.

Summary.
Speed: 10/10
Reliablility: 10/10
Space: 7/10 (only 30 megs, 10 meg file limit)
Bandwidth: 7/10 (no direct mention of bandwidth limit)
Features: 7/10 (no PHP/MySQL support)
Signup: 8/10 (Fairly straight-forward and fast, but TOS is restrictive)
Ads: 10/10
Overall: 8.43/10

I would recommend this to ANYONE looking for a free host IF you don't mind the restrictions mentioned above.


Reviewed on: 2005-10-28   -   (IP: 212.199.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This host is just awesome. You get 30 mb webspace with no adds, no nothing. they dont even email you the account details! only problems are that the site doesnt support CGI PHP MYSQL and so on. so this really isnt the place for advanced sites, though overall it's a great free web hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-23   -   (IP: 68.17.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
This host is ok, but if the administration doesn't approve of the content of your site, it gets deleted. I've registered FOUR separate times now, and my site always gets deleted within a couple of weeks. It doesn't appear I've violated the terms and conditions (if I have they don't tell me), and my site receives more than the 1 hit per week requirement. Since no one else seems to be having this problem with their site getting deleted, I have to assume the administration doesn't care for the content and just deletes it.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-18   -   (IP: 62.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Pros:
instant site creation
upload online on the site
no need for ftp progs.

cons:
Upload is one file at a time.

overall superb web hosting service.


Reviewed on: 2005-10-15   -   (IP: 69.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great, A site running in 2 seconds, it's great to host a blog using blogger.com! I highly reccomend this host.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-05   -   (IP: 61.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The Best free web host site I have ever used! Because it's application is easy and fast! And the web speed is very fast even better than many other paid web! The only weakness is it don't support php or other script, database! But if you just need a static web! this is excellent! Thanks a lot!

Reviewed on: 2005-10-03   -   (IP: 71.132.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
w00t INSTANT website in 2 seconds. Everything is great, Unlimited file size(if you ftp upload). 30mb free web space. But there is this one file i can't upload no matter what. Still havnt figure out. oh well.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-26   -   (IP: 12.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow. No email confirmations, or even signup restrictions. After you enter your username and password, you have a website! You can upload any size files, too, through ftp. The web upload interface is lacking, but it's only an early version, and the ftp access makes everything easier, anyways.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-25   -   (IP: 203.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
excellent web hosting service, with no ads forced on your free web pages.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-20   -   (IP: 209.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Really fast creation of your account! Negative is that you need at least one hit per week, otherwise you are regarded inactive. For the rest it is basic but sufficient if you just need web space for your free website. I recommend it.

Reviewed on: 2005-09-15   -   (IP: 60.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an awesome host. its always up and very fast and also offers ftp access. Signup is easy unlike other hosts. I dont think there is anything bad as long as you use ftp access!

Reviewed on: 2005-09-14   -   (IP: 70.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very quick and easy set up. Fast reliable server. Only downside is that they don't support executables, but they do allow zip files, so that is just as well.

 

Copyright © 2002-2019 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 13, 2019 -