free webspace  






ZendURL

Our free web hosting review is no longer available for this previously listed free website host.

This web host was removed from our database, possibly (usually) because it is no longer a free or operating service, or is not accepting new users at this time, but could have been removed for other reason(s). If any of the user ratings and reviews of users were saved, they will be listed below.


User Rating:
 
# Votes: 6 3 6 6 12 6 15 10 22 39
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.38 / 10

Total Votes: 125




125 User Testimonials/Reviews of ZendURL

Reviewed on: 2007-11-23   -   (IP: 74.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Horrible. I can not upload anything via FTP since I get the "Disk is Full" error. It has been this way for some time. It is quite apparent the problem is not going to be addressed any time soon.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-15   -   (IP: 69.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
The control panel function to host a domain name is temporarily disabled now. There is no notice of when the temporary problems will be fixed, if ever.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-12   -   (IP: 82.121.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I could not install a PHP script I wanted to use because the PHP setting have open_basedir denied.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-27   -   (IP: 207.190.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The FTP servers are have big problems when uploading (the server disk drive is full, so you cannot upload more stuff). Also, phpMyAdmin does not seem to work now.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-18   -   (IP: 207.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
The ZendURL server has a full hard drive and FTP permission errors. Using my FTP or the file manager in my ZendURL account control panel, I cannot CHMOD, delete files, upload files, or rename files. Many other people are having the same trouble. I reported this problem to ZendURL 15 days ago, and they have done nothing to solve it yet. If you already have a website uploaded that does not need updated, it is good, but otherwise find another freehoster site.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-15   -   (IP: 70.116.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
ZendURL is falsely advertising services that they do not support (at least at the moment; some of the features they claim are temporarily removed until they fix some bugs or security concerns). I would suggest a full review by this free web hosting reviews website to ensure that the features they claim they are offering do indeed work. Some claimed features that I found very quickly that do not work are: mail(), WYSIWYG editor, FrontPage Server Extensions, Webalizer web site statistics, extra domains/subdomains (add-on domain names), SSL secure server, and ASP [most of these previously worked for a time]. Most things say they are disabled for now, but they have been like this for quite a while now. These are just some of the features that are listed on their website that this host claims to support but do not currently. I also do not believe they will be fixed anytime soon because they are selling the site on Site Point forum under premium sites [the SitePoint auction is closed now, and seemingly did not sell the website]. It seems they have abandoned fixing these issues. They also do force ads on to your site by default, and you have to manually ad special code into each of your pages (or a PHP-included header file) to stop their ads from showing up. This usually ends up breaking a lot of PHP pages. However if the added tag is not a problem, you do get free PHP5 hosting with no ads (the server runs PHP Version 5.2.3). Thanks for your time!

Reviewed on: 2007-10-11   -   (IP: 24.170.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I used to love this host. They were perfect for me... that is, until they messed up my XHTML validation by their new banner system (or having to add a tag to your HTML code to remove them). I hope they eventually fix this problem, and maybe I will come back.

Reviewed on: 2007-10-03   -   (IP: 217.50.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It has no filetype restrictions, so you can upload all file extensions! Also big files can be uploaded. ;-) PHP pages load fast, and it supports real FTP upload. It used to be bannerless by default, but now there is a new system whereby it has deactivatable ads (you must add <NOADS> tag to your web pages to remove ads; not a big deal if you use a header or footer file included by PHP pages).

Reviewed on: 2007-09-27   -   (IP: 62.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I read the reviews and thought of trying this one. It was a good free host, had fast registration, is easy to use, and many things are already there (MySQL database, for example)... but it is very slow server lately. It tired me to death with constant times out. I do not know if the host does not like Greece, but it took me 1.5 hours to upload the e107 (8 MB) and I was using a Cyber Cafe to do that (meaning I had good upload speed). It took some time to load even the main page, and I had many many time-outs trying to install the e107 script. So I did not even bother trying to customize my website since it took 30 seconds to load the webpage. It just needs some fix regarding lag times -- I guess the webserver is overloaded and too busy. Also it is not that good that they do not send you an e-mail with your website data and you have to store it yourself.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-24   -   (IP: 70.11.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I was not with them long. For some reason my site was disabled because I used a paypal donation button. The forums seemed helpful, but I would rather not deal with their buggy site disabling software.

Reviewed on: 2007-09-22   -   (IP: 124.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is really good. While I used this host, there was only one instance of downtime I was aware of. However now there are security restrictions which means you can not remote link (i.e. using php includes).

Reviewed on: 2007-09-18   -   (IP: 87.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
They have recently changed their ads policy from being totally bannerless to putting ads on your free web pages by default (a large Google Adsense banner at top and textlinks at bottom), with the option that they do not put ads IF you put a special code (NOADS) in ALL your webpages (putting it in an included PHP footer or header file would work if it is used on all pages). It would be nice if they parsed it out, as it messes up the HTML validation. It would be better if it had no ads by default (as before) and you could put their adcode if you opted to.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-05   -   (IP: 72.155.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Before finding ZendURL, I looked at a lot of other free hosts, and there was always something I did not like, such as whole pages of stuff you could not put on your site, limited space, IP ranges that were blocked, impersonal troubleshooting tickets, and so on; then came ZendURL with none of these issues. Their "terms of service" consist of 10 items, not 5 pages with ultra fine print. Wow, I finally found a freehost I did not have any initial issues with. Do I recommend them? Unless you want to deal with those issues the other guys have, yeah.

The final reason I picked this to host my website when I signed up in July, aside from it being #1 and the slick black design, was because of the forums that are open to the public (the forums do not work with IE, but they are working on that -- I use Firefox and have had no problems). They even have an "off topic" thread to help take the steam off the issues you may have in a relaxed creative environment. Who else has that? The people are real friendly and more than willing to help, especially the admin of Zendurl who reads all the posts and takes time to give personal friendly replies at an average of 9 posts per day!

Even though there are downtimes (as of this review, their uptime is 92% according to the serviceuptime.com website monitoring service), FTP issues, and domain issues (as noted in the negative reviews), they work one on one with you on their forums in a professional manner; ZendURL resolved my website issues in less than 3 days, which was amazing for a free host -- I am very impressed with their support. You just need to have patience, be friendly, and be willing to create a forum thread (or use someone else's thread) to post the problems you are having. Once working, my website has been very fast (but you can be the judge of the websites on there by going to their forum's "member list" at zendurl.com/forums/memberlist.php) (this only has websites of forum members who choose to show them -- update: due to a forum crash on 8/4/07 many forum members were lost, but this did not effect the members' websites -- many sites are just no longer listed). ZendURL is not just another free service that hosts your website; they are like a family who welcomes you in.

A bit of advice when signing up:
Signing up to the Host site and the Forum are different. You can not sign in to the forum with your host name and password (which is great for security). Your passwords cannot be changed by you, so make them good; your host password is also your FTP password. Your password will show up on a private intro page once you create your account (not so great for security), but then you will not see it again. Once you sign up, you will not receive an e-mail (as of this review), so make sure to copy that page with all of your info or print it out (they are working on this issue).

Oh, and let me tell you: I really enjoy bopping down rating points of other hosts whenever I can, but I can not find any issues with this host that has an A- uptime and treats their members real well; you will not find a free host better than this one.


Reviewed on: 2007-08-05   -   (IP: 89.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
Zendurl.com was really cool when I registered because all worked like it should, but now one day later it is like all my file lost its permissions. Even when I give them 777 it still will not work, and the control panel/forums are not reachable (I get just a 404 error). I hope they fix that fast because I think they are able to be a very good hoster -- they just need to fix errors faster.

Reviewed on: 2007-08-04   -   (IP: 221.120.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-08-04   -   (IP: 221.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-08-01   -   (IP: 64.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I was looking for a free host which would support my own domain name, so tried this freehost. I tried to install Joomla, which failed with open base errors -- the workaround was to create a subdomain and post a message on the forums. I went to remove my files from the main directory by FTP, and it would not allow me, so I tried Cpanel, but kept getting errors on the host. I tried to access the forums to report/request help, and continued getting errors just trying to access the forums. Overall, for a beginner, it may seem to be a great host if you have no idea what you are doing, but for a professional website developer,  I would stay clear until they get the bugs sorted out. Thanks to ZendURL for letting me test (sort of).

Reviewed on: 2007-07-29   -   (IP: 125.238.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Although I would recommend this webhost, and I do, I have had quite a few problems with it. Firstly, if you have a problem, there is no way to contact them. There is no email address to get support, and the forum (which they say is the way to get your support) does not even work at the moment [their forum is working now, recovered from a backup]. There are often problems with the control panel, and I now just stick to using the file uploaded, as otherwise I just get confused, especially with their web site layout, which could be improved by quite a margin. Also I have had problems with the editor. Sometimes my code affects the webpage of the editor (e.g. I have a text box on my page, and the editor uses a textbox to show your code. So when my code closes a text box, the editors textbox is closed and the rest of my code is displayed in the page of the editor, not in the textbox). Also I tried to use a php script to make an image, as you do, but ZendUrl kept adding code to the end of it (as they do with all pages -- it is a counter), which stopped my script from running properly. Also my site gets a bar at the top of the page, warning people that ZendUrl has decided my page poses a minor threat to them. All I have on the page is basic html and an image. Their analyzing system is really bad. No one will go to my webpage if it tells them it poses a threat, even if it is minor. But all that bad stuff aside, it is a decent host if you get used to it, and never have problems. The bandwidth and free web space are more than generous, and is easily worth the "cost".

Reviewed on: 2007-07-26   -   (IP: 82.92.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Zendurl is good, but there are many times bugs on the site and the host. That is why I will rate it an eight.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-25   -   (IP: 71.165.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is an excellent webhost with just about all the features you need. I do not really see anything wrong with it. It offers plenty enough MySQL data bases and allows many kinds of scripts. As for the counter arguments against this?

Regarding the 1 rating on 2007-07-13... Most of these are just common errors that show up on just about all hosts. I am not quite sure how often they are down, but likely it is a piece of bad luck. They probably had some server issues to deal with. Just about every site which you register with has some kind of limitation to username length. True, 11 is rather short for maximum, but just choose a shorter name which you can deal with. Points 4 and 5 in the review are common to many of the largest free hosts. They are just a system delay. The problem in point #6 happens to half of the hosts I have tried. It should work out in some period of time after creation. If that does not work, try deleting the account and recreating it or ask the webmaster for help.

I hope I was not too harsh, but that is how webhosting goes, even paid ones. :-)


Reviewed on: 2007-07-16   -   (IP: 75.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I give ZendURL a 3 rating. I love the ideas they had with the point system, and optional ads on my site (which would allow me more points to spend). They seemed to offer the features and services which I was looking for, but I expected more from the top listed free-host on this site (when sorted by the webhosting features rating).

First off, I have a lot of experience with web-design, server set-up, cPanel, PHP programming, Apache, Linux, and all the other tools and applications that are related to running a web server and/or website. I may not be a professional or an expert, but I have witnessed how a good server works, and ZendURL, on some occasions, seems to imply that their service is as good as having your own server, but it fails miserably.

The ENTIRE ZendURL site is clunky and poorly designed. They seem to have taken classic, conformist "technology" and "computer" photos to use on their site to try and make you think, "So that is what their servers look like!" [Their website template was bought from one of the popular website template sites, and slightly modified.] The login is poorly written, and it feels like one part of the website does not know what the other parts are doing. Overall, the entire site seems like a mess!

After using the poorly written and designed login feature, you are presented with your control panel. Upon inspection of all the features, I found half of them worked correctly (half did not). Namely, when I tried to use the phpMyAdmin service, I found that I could not log in at all. I was figuring that maybe, for some odd reason, it was because I did not have a database set up yet. That is when I found that using their way of creating a database, the tool would not create one! Thus I ended up with no database, and no way to log into phpMyAdmin. There were dozens of other errors as well, but I will not list them all. Frankly, a free-host is not worth much of anything if its features do not work. In my opinion, bypass this one, and look further down the list.

[
The ZendURL admin replied to this review:
"I would just like to let the most recent ZendURL reviewer know that I would like to apologize for the recent MySQL problems. I have fixed the problem with databases not showing up, and provided a link on our control panel to fix MySQL databases that are not showing up."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-07-14   -   (IP: 221.128.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is easily the BEST php hosting site, free or paid. Their servers have excellent uptime: 96%+, and the disk space and bandwidth are adequate. I would definitely recommend this host to all beginners and also to all those who have intermediate knowledge of hosting. The support staff is patient and friendly, and great how-to's are available on their forums. It supports most major scripting languages. Overall it is an excellent host.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-13   -   (IP: 74.51.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Ugh. THESE guys have the highest rating here? [the "features rating" is only based on their claimed amount of webhosting features, not how good the host is; see the user ratings and reviews.] PATHETIC! Here's a list of what I did:

1- I tried to register yesterday, but it was down until today.
2- Today, I had to wait till 12:00 PM for them to reopen.
3- I made my account, but my username had to be shorter than 10 characters (I tried 11).
4- I had to wait around 3 minutes for the subdomain to show up.
5- The subdomain can not even be accessed -- it returns a 403 error.
6- I can not upload files, delete the cgi-bin folder that is already there, or anything. I have NO permissions whatsoever, with either the manager or FTP.

That's it. I am not going to bother going through tech support with them since it should work from right off the bat. I am done. They are completely unprofessional, and did not work at all. I am disgusted.


Reviewed on: 2007-07-11   -   (IP: 75.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This web host is not bad for a first time website owner. I have gone through many webhosts, and this stands out (probably the best freewebspace host). Of course you can not expect it to be perfect, as there is random downtime (without warning, it will go down, but it is not bad, as I do not always update my site). The sign-up process went along well, except they suspected a brute force hacking attempt and locked me out for the first ten minutes (I did not care). But overall it is not bad! I give it a seven rating.

Reviewed on: 2007-07-11   -   (IP: 24.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Ok, so I register - That was no problem. But THEN I login to the control panel and I see text on top of text [in what browser? it seems okay to me]! How am I suppose to read that!? THEN I FINALLY can make my way to where you supposedly enable frontpage server extensions and I get an error message (so there is no frontpage extensions support at this time until they fix their messed-up server). This along with a few other things has without doubt made this a really frustrating experience, one of the worst freehosts I have tried (and I have been doing webdesign for well over 3 years now).

Reviewed on: 2007-07-09   -   (IP: 213.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They have fixed some problems, and added a few new features (such as BoxTrapper spam protection), and re-activated the registration form page. Subdomains are not automated, but it supposedly has now fixed their "Easy Subdomain Creation", though for my previous account it does not work still (it says the subdomain is already created even though it never worked). There is a script auto-installer for 6 popular scripts, such as phpBB forums.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-30   -   (IP: 76.104.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I like having few ads. There does not appear to be any outside the host's main portal (none put on your hosted free web pages). I decided my previous site was getting old and somewhat ugly by today's standards, so I found this newer free host. The pages of mine look much better being done in an advanced graphical editor, rather then the drag-and-drop I was used to. You can not even tell anymore that I lack HTML knowledge. ;-)

They have had random downtime due to maintenance, upgrades, and bugs, I have noticed the control panel/FTP or their logins sometimes also briefly messes up for these same reasons (no biggie problem). I have not lost any data which I did not remove myself; that is good and expected of nearly all web hosts.

So I would recommend them particularly for personal web pages or forums. Their features tend to cater toward that. Users interested in running a business should wait. The few minor uptime issues left could disrupt sales. Overall, they are relatively new and still working on various things. The core features are free, so give them a try.


Reviewed on: 2007-06-24   -   (IP: 72.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I tried to use the web page editor. It apparently did not work for me. :-( But perhaps it is just my computer.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-21   -   (IP: 67.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
PLEASE READ, EVERYONE! There is a control panel rewrite that will be active very soon! As for the server downtime, all that has been fixed. Registration has been closed as of 6-21-07 due to the control panel updates. The upgrading should provide these new things:

1. Domain and subdomain creation will be automatic and error-free.
2. The ability to choose which directory your domain name points to, and to be able to delete domain names.
3. A cleaner design for the control panel, with an easy-to-use navigation system.
4. New features, including password-protecting files and directories and hotlink protection.
5. A much easier to use Webalizer and Analog website statistics system.
6. (Possibly, but not confirmed yet:) the ability to use BoxTrapper to customize your e-mail address settings.

ZendURL owner.


Reviewed on: 2007-06-16   -   (IP: 84.69.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Overall it is a great host, except there has been a lot of down time recently, but I am sure that is only temporary! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-06-11   -   (IP: 24.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
For more than 2 weeks I have been trying to like zendurl, but am very disappointed. The control panel has tons of errors everywhere, and it is a very slow server, with very slow support. The Webalizer stats only work if the subdomain is activated, but the subdomain feature does not work. For about the last 24 hours the hosting server was down totally. They website and ftp have been all intermittent. I think I am going to quit the first chance I get. I do not know what the worst is, so I rate them 2 points.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-07   -   (IP: 67.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
HORRIBLE! Tried this one out for all of 15 minutes. I found three substantial issues, not to mention the sluggishness of this site. First substantial issue: I tried to get a subdomain, but you must confirm your account first via email. No problem, right? Well, I never received an email. So for kicks, I click on the confirmation link anyhow, and it says the mail() is down, and provides me with a confirmation code right then and there. Great, right? Nope. When I plug in my user name and confirmation code, it then says sorry, but this feature is down right now. Second substantial issue, it said too many FTP users at this time. I just got on, and already I can not upload? [You can use the file manager.] Honestly, I did manage to upload a half dozen files PRIOR to getting this message, but within five minutes of posting, I already get such a message? It sounds like this site needs to stop taking new users if it can not support 50 users simultaneously logged into FTP or me doing two things at once! (It is advertised to support three simultaneous FTP logins by the same user.) The third substantial issue: the site navigation is lousy. It is ugly, laborious, and has links to defunct areas, not to mention ads above, below, and on either side of you.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-03   -   (IP: 24.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I have been to many other free hosts, and it seems there is always a catch: the PHP scripts take forever to load, mySQL is always down, they close your account the second you use 5 gigs of bandwidth, or the web pages are ad-loaded. However I never have had an issue with ZendURL. The only reason I give them a 9 instead of a perfect 10 rating is because only 50 people can be connected to the FTP at one time.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-03   -   (IP: 202.88.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I tried this one, but I get plenty of errors. You can use a light CMS on your free web site; that will not eat too much memory on their part.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-03   -   (IP: 85.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is good hosting. I am from Poland, and we do not have good and fast webhosting here. But ZendURL is super!

Reviewed on: 2007-05-31   -   (IP: 201.47.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
It was easy to create an account, but then there were many problems to upload files due to ftp server bugs: after a few files, mput reports a "too many files open" error and then becomes erratic. Files are lost. It does not happen with other hosting services. Ok, I can live with that. But then, when I tried to access my web page, it was blocked by the ZendURL firewall due to some kind of violation of terms of license. I reviewed my material and found nothing that might be causing the problem. I tried to post on the ZendURL forum for support, but it complains that my username is incorrect and I have only 2 more tries, and then only one more. But I am using the same username/password that gives me access to the control panel and FTP. That is enough; I am looking for another free hosting service. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-05-29   -   (IP: 88.106.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I found this site suspicious at first, as it was a bit slow and most things were not working very well. I gave it some time, and things were fixed pretty quickly; they were under construction. They points system seems a cool idea, and the staff on the forum are great! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-05-28   -   (IP: 65.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I have not used it much; it would get a higher rating but after checking the support forums (because wp install would not work due to its security settings), I found that it turns out it only allows old versions of Wordpress with the present security settings.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-25   -   (IP: 87.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I came looking for free php hosting and got that plus two mysql databases, fully accessible ftp, fast server, stats, and so much more. My head is still spinning.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-23   -   (IP: 24.196.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Great host. Too bad the FTP is always buggy. :-( The online ftp page is not very easy and fast to use. Every web page and file has to be uploaded separately.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-23   -   (IP: 70.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
There is still a Ftp problem. Most of time I can not login because it only allows maximum 50 FTP users at once - very low number for a freehost! You have to use the file manager in the control panel. Also the subdomain setup still does not work, and the free website URL that did work previously does not work now -- it has changed to be a directory level deeper (I discovered this by noticing the error message from the attempted subdomain mapping when I tried to create the subdomain again). The popup in the online website panel is absolutely horrible -- use a popup blocker or close it as fast as possible. None of the email addresses or telephone numbers work at all, and their whois info is hidden (WhoisGuard Protected via a domain proxy).

Reviewed on: 2007-05-20   -   (IP: 80.235.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Best free webspace server ever. The provide users with everything you need to build your own website. Rated 10 out of 10 ponts. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-05-18   -   (IP: 24.150.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This freewebspace host site is amazing! The points system is amazing (for upgrades and free domain name)! And for support? Zendurl replies in like 5 minutes! :-) I love this hosting site!

Reviewed on: 2007-05-18   -   (IP: 80.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I hesitated quite a while before signing up here, as I noticed some delays in loading of the homepage itself. However, after most other "free webhosters" proved useless for exploring basic php/mysql skills due to disabled php functions here and there, I finally tried my luck and signed up. Of course, seemingly nothing went right from the first moment (FTP, mail, subdomain creation). I read and posted on the according forums, made myself some tea, and waited. And voila, those all turned out to be temporary problems. Being a programmer myself, I can imagine the time and effort the hostmaster has put into getting the server back to full running state again. For all those people here complaining about features not available: Post on zendurl's forum and you will most likely get what you want! Only very few requests are not responded positively to - yet. From what I saw from the past days, there will be solutions for those issues as well. Conclusion: If you want free PHP webspace with file space for lots of scripting (they added ASP support lately also!) and are willing to have some patience with the hostmaster, you will get everything you need and a community eager to help.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-18   -   (IP: 84.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is far the best hosting service I have found. Some other hosting services may have more space, or better bandwidth, but zendurl is fast, gives good service, has a GREAT forum, and the admin is always helping you out. Even if you find a free web space service that has more webspace or bandwidth allowances, always choose zendurl. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-05-13   -   (IP: 69.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
ZendUrl has very good features and very good potential. They offer enough web space for almost every user out there, and more than enough bandwidth. They offer email, autointallers, MYSQL and many other amazing features. The only problem that I have been seeing are the FTP downtime and the HTTP downtime. The HTTP uptime is currently being tracked, and it is high compared to other freewebhostings (still lower than I would like though), but FTP has the most problems. They offer an online filemanager, but I prefer FTP access. Once the upgrading and final fixes are completed, this free host will beat most paid hosting providers.

As you may have read, the subdomains do not work from the beginning, but if your hosting shared files among servers, the directory access that they also give you is very helpful when mapping images or mp3s. The support team is very good and will fix almost every problem brought up, including your subdomain. However the problem that I have seen with this is that they work pretty much individually, which is maybe the only way they can. But if they fixed (or tried to fix) every user account when an error or problem is with more than one user, then it will be fixed faster and maybe prevented.

A couple more points... the best thing (in my opinion) is that there is no filetype restrictions (possibly a 20 mb file size, but no file extension restrictions). Also they have a unique upgrade system in place. You get points for doing surveys, putting ads on your site, etc., and then you can use those points to get more free space, bandwidth, email, MySQL databases, etc.

Overall, I think this is a very good free web host, although maybe it could use some some better uptime!


Reviewed on: 2007-05-09   -   (IP: 217.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I signed in the day before, and everything was okay so far. But after that, not everything works right. I get database connection errors and infrequent 404 error messages even when I try to access their main page for logging in. The subdomain creation script does not work. That is not what I call a good beginning. FTP and POP3 worked properly, and I could upload static webpages and send an e-Mail to myself. In summary: maybe the problems of Zendurl are only temporary, but in this state it cannot be recommended, except for simple free homepages and websites.

Reviewed on: 2007-05-01   -   (IP: 78.0.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
ZendURL is a great webhost, I think. Everyone is talking about the fre domain names, but did anyone get it? I looked on the forums and I think they do not offer free domain names. I would really like if someone would answer my question.

[
They will host a domain name free if you have one already, however the forum thread on the subject of getting a free domain is in their forum archives, and it appears no one got one, or maybe one person did. The thread claims it would cost 175 points/year. The owner said, "I thought I could do a simple eNom push, but I did not realize how expensive they were. So the extra points [raised from 144 points] will pay for maintenence of your domain name. Hopefully in the future we will have a simpler way to do this however. I will look into becoming a domain name reseller."
]

[
The owner, Alex, said, "I would just like to clarify the domain name thing: We allow you to host your own domain name, and if you want a free domain, you can pay 200 points/year and we will host it for you (or register it and push it to an account you chose)."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-30   -   (IP: 88.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This is quite a good host, though there are some invisible webtraffic statistics scripts added to the free webpages (Statcounter and Google-Analytics Urchin JavaScript codes). The subdomain feature is not currently working. Also, my website is down with an internal server error. It DOES however, offer POP3 emails, autoresponders, MySQL and PostgreSQL, Frontpage server extensions, CronJobs (you have to ask for them), loads of features, and quite a good quota as well. The webhosting is good for a utility website, but not good for a public one though.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-29   -   (IP: 61.1.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is the best site for free web hosting - no ads, php, mysql databases are just some of the features. They have very few server down times and allow nearly all PHP scripts. Most importantly, there are NO ADS on your web site!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-29   -   (IP: 88.107.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This free hosting provider has frequent problems with FTP and the control panel login. I get FTP error 421 error (service unavailable, probably because of max connections reached) when trying to FTP connect.

[Currently at the top of the control is a link saying "Click here to fix your FTP account. This is for if your account USED TO work, but now gives you a 421 error." Whatever this link does did not work for me at the time, though the FTP sometimes works.]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-28   -   (IP: 74.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I just recently signed up, and I am impressed. It is SO hard to find a completely free ad-free web host online these days that supports FPE (Front Page Extensions).I would recommend this site to anyone, but I would warn them about the possibility of "down time". I do not know how frequent it will happen, but overall I can say I love Zend URL.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-25   -   (IP: 69.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The webhosting server is fast, but I can not login to the control panel, and ftp sometimes does not work, and when you can log into the webpanel, the file manager often does not work. If you can upload your files, it is okay, but not good if you need to update your files often.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-22   -   (IP: 81.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I am pretty disappointed with this host. The PHP mail() function is disabled to prevent spammerabuse. I can live with it. There is an annoying firewall which blocks many things. PhpBB, gallery2, mambo, joomla, drupal, phpnuke, postnuke, cubecart.... forget them -- they have open_basedir restriction, which means if you want to use the listed scripts above you will have to modify all of it, and that is in most cases impossible, because basically you have to move almost everything in one directory if the require() or include() function looking for something that is further up. And the server is too slow sometimes. I did not rate them worse because the support team is helpful.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-22   -   (IP: 67.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This service is the best ever! It has a great forum support! I never used anything like it! It is THE BEST!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-19   -   (IP: 190.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Their service is okay, except PHP mail is disabled. :-( However this is true of most free PHP hosting servers, as they are otherwise frequently abused by spammers and suchlike, and then shut down, so at least it keeps the webserver more reliable in that sense.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-18   -   (IP: 87.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I have been a member for about a month, and initially I was happy with the service. But over the last few weeks the service has become severely degraded. Much of the time, access to my free site and even ZendURL's site just times out, no matter what time of day - am or pm. And when it does work, it is slow. It is definately not an issue on my end, as most sites I visit load fairly quickly. The pop-up ads in the control panel are annoying, to say the least. They do have a great support team though.

[Their website and my free website there are loading very quickly for me. Giving the URL of your free website on their server would be helpful to test the page-loading speeds from other locations.]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-14   -   (IP: 62.108.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I uploaded my phpnuke site and finally found a host where the headline() function works. I was left speechless from amazement. All the functions of this CMS work. Sometimes things do not function like they should, BUT they have an amazing forum where people communicate with you, and not machines. Working together with those guys, you find the solution to your problems.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-13   -   (IP: 84.192.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
ZendUrl is a great host on overall that can use some minor improvements.

The good points:
It has a very good uptime and fast server speed.
The support is great; just pm the administrator, and your problem will be solved.
They have a point system which is really good. You gain points by registering for their incentives, and can use those if you need more web space, bandwidth, or even a free domain name (well, it costs you "points").
It is free web hosting service that is ad-free, and has all the features a professional host has to offer.

The bad points:
They sometimes have issues with their FTP or PhpMyAdmin (your website stays available though; it is mostly security issues which causes you to be unable to update), but if you tell them about the problem on their forums, they solve it right away.
Some things should be clarified better. It takes a while to get used to the point system, and not everything goes automated.


Reviewed on: 2007-04-12   -   (IP: 218.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I think their problems metioned in the reviews below are fixed now. It is working smoothly, at least for now. If you got any problem, just visit their forum. People there are willing to help.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-12   -   (IP: 74.115.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I own a software and animations company called "Martini Corporation", and it seems they blocked my website for having the word "Martini" (which is a common last name). RIDICULOUS. What other words are blocked? [You could have your name in an image to avoid the word filter].

[
The admin relpied: "I would like to officially state that we do not block the word 'Martini' in our firewall... we have never blocked this word, and do not plan on blocking it anytime in the future."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-10   -   (IP: 24.30.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is a great hosting site. It is the first free webhosting site that I have found that I am completely satisfied with.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-23   -   (IP: 59.182.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Nice host, but there are FTP problems going on. They offer good services, but if they correct the ftp fast, it will be better. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-03-19   -   (IP: 81.241.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This webhost is the most user-friendly one I ever saw on the Net! The community is great also! It has no file size limits, and no advertising banners/popups on your free webpages. That just proves it! I hope this webhost will continue existing forever!

Reviewed on: 2007-03-18   -   (IP: 207.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
After several days of trying, I have come to the conclusion that ZendURL is not good and will probably never get fixed. For weeks now many of the links do not work, signup is not working [you signed up twice???], and very little of the claimed features basically work. I thought it ironic the webpanel website editor says "Made by bugScripts". I tried to set up POP3 email and saw this error message [with username replaced, and a lot of lengthy redundant nonsense at the end deleted below]:

"The e-mail account @username.zendurl.com was successfully deleted. Sorry, you do not have access to the domain username.zendurl.com....."

Do not use this service. It is a waste of time. It looks fancy, but its looks are decieving!


Reviewed on: 2007-03-18   -   (IP: 69.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I could not get the FTP to work or their e-mail. Also the webserver is very sluggish and slow, maybe overloaded, poorly configured, or DDoS'ed.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 83.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
This host seems extremely poor. Once you have logged in the webpanel, your password is displayed in plain text in several locations (such as account info and MySQL database pages), which causes a serious security issue and leaks your password (not any worse than most Internet sites with login, but possibly still of some concern). The control panel has pop up ads, including one that I think was malicious code. While browsing the website just now, I had F-secure warn me that an unknown program was attempting to modify my registry (possibly this was due to something else though, such as malware previously installed on my computer). I have written this webhosting review to warn other users to be cautious. Also they are no longer bannerless, but have recently started putting a text link at the bottom of free web pages with text "Powered by ZendURL".

Reviewed on: 2007-03-17   -   (IP: 203.160.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Things I like from this host:
1. FTP upload (it is down at this time, but will be back soon)
2. Friendly Admin and mods.
3. The point system is affordable, and nothing is forced.
4. Webserver speed is great.

Things I do not like :
1. The coded file manager and other things still have a lot of problems - still inconvenient, but compared to FTP upload this is just a small problem.
2. This host still does not have a graphical user CP and information on user's available space for files, etc.
3. The web statistics load slowly and do not really report the right numbers.

That is all now. I would recommend this host to anyone looking for a free web site host, and I rated it as 9; the only reason it is not rated 10is because it is still under developement and it takes time to become professional.


Reviewed on: 2007-03-16   -   (IP: 207.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I went to register, and everything went ok, but now I come back to work on my site and everything is returning errors. It may be a glitch, so I will give it a few more days, but as of right now I do not recommend this service to anyone. I will re-evaluate later if it ever starts working again. [It was down a while, but is working at the moment.]

Reviewed on: 2007-03-16   -   (IP: 217.42.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Zendurl is a webhost with teething issues. FTP does not work now, and there are various permission and script issues. It is not perfect. But, Zendurl earns a lot of respect from me simply due to the fact that the owners seem to be trying their hardest to make this the best free webhosting server they can, working on technical issues as and when they happen to the best of their ability. The owner is active on the forums, and seems very genuine in his wish to help people and get zendurl up and working perfectly. That kind of dedication and customer support earns a lot of patience from me in regards to the technical issues. As for features, it has almost everything you could want (once they are all working) - more so, you can earn points quite easily to upgrade your account with more free HD space, more bandwidth, more databases, and even a FREE domain name. So while at the moment it is buggy, I would keep an eye on this place -- with the care and effort the owner seems to have for both the community support and his quality of service, Zendurl may very well become the best free web host on the Net.

Reviewed on: 2007-03-11   -   (IP: 75.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
After a rather lengthy upgrade (it took about a month), ZendURL is now fully functioning again. All website data and all content is on a 8-core Clovertown server, which provides supeior performance and stability. The old webserver is still helping with processes. They have added a brand new template-based editing system which allows people to make a good-looking website without any programming knowledge or requirements. The new web server with 8 cores is extremely fast, and it supports many things. If you request something, he might add it. They support SSL with https interface, 1 gb of space, 16 gb of bandwidth, 3 databases, and awesome support in the forums with many experienced users in that. If Zendurl is not there, then another person will answer your question or idea in seconds. If I had to choose a free host, I would choose this one.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-05   -   (IP: 66.240.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been host hopping for quite sometime now trying to find a good free php host, and this is the best one yet. This host is faster, more reliable, and the most supportive of all the webhosts I have used so far. I over time felt like I got to know the zendurl staff, as they helped me through my problems.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-03   -   (IP: 210.187.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I really feel weird that this placed the best in the "Features Rating" (based on the features they claim to offer with free hosting). I tried to install some script, and it blocks my site and says "Your site was detected as unsafe", and I had just uploaded a XOOPs script that took me hours to upload (my ISP speed is not that fast). Then later I learn that I have to request for a subdomain (it is no longer automatic, and some features such as statistics require the subdomain), etc.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-03   -   (IP: 221.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Their server seems to be overloaded, or at least messed up now, and is mostly not functional. The webpage to login to the control panel only gives an MySQL error:

"Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Host 'server.zendurl.com' is blocked because of many connection errors; unblock with 'mysqladmin flush-hosts' in /home/zendurl/public_html/db.php on line 6
Could not connect to database".

[
Reply by ZendURL owner: "ZendURL is currently experiencing a ton of load, which is currently too much for the current servers we have. We are adding a high performance (Clovertown) server as I speak, and we should be setup under this system within the next couple of days. We have been working on this issue, and plan to have a real fix soon."

Added Feb. 6:
"We have found what has been causing the massive load problems and have fixed the problem. Although the new server is not up yet, ZendURL is running as it should without any sort of load problems. The new server will only make it even better."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-02-02   -   (IP: 70.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This host is great, and support is excellent! Sometimes a blog or CMS will not work, due to PHP security measures, but most times this can be worked around. Overall, this free hosting service rocks! And plus, they are not a clone like so many of those other sites.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-30   -   (IP: 209.60.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I started using this host because it is free php hosting with a an ftp client and pop3 mail and mySQL database. The problems started when they tried to lock it down by enacting open_basedir(). By doing this they have broken most cms systems or any well thought out and not redundant php applications. In case you do not know, open_basedir() makes it so the current file cannot access any folders below it. So say you can a file of components that need to access your globals file, which you should only have one of, it cannot if it is in the base of your webserver. Because of this I have to trash about a week's worth of work in order to find a new host that does not have this in order to use a cms without going through and editing every file it has. Of course most free hosting provides do not even provide PHP and MySQL databases, not mention they put ads on your freesite, but some people will complain about not getting a free dedicated server with no limits.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-30   -   (IP: 67.40.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Their personal attention via support forum gives you access to friendly administration and help. You get MySQL, PHP support, good speed, and service. Recommended.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-29   -   (IP: 168.103.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I found that this web host was actually good. Some of their features were not working right, but the point system looks nice and lets you get more webspace and bandwidth and such. One thing that I did not like was the fact that simple php scripts made the webpages load slower, like 6 seconds, and more advanced ones with mysql database like phpbb forums made it even slower, like 10 seconds for the webpage to load. I believe that once this website gets some of the bugs out, or whatever, and speed up the server, they will be a really good free webspace hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-29   -   (IP: 70.53.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This is certainly the best of free hosting services. I had previously used freewebs, and I got tired of their extremely slow web file manager, and not wanting to pay for FTP, I went to bravehost, which was great until I needed PHP support, and not wanting to pay for that, I went to zendURL. It has all the features of freewebs/bravehost including most of the paid ones, for FREE. The first time I went on their forums, I was quite amazed. There was this cute little banner at the top of my site, saying it might pose a minor threat to your computer, etc. I posted saying so and that my website was not at all a threat. About 30 seconds later, the admin of ZendURL posted saying it was fixed, I have never had free host be this quick or helpful. Since then every question or problem I have had has been dealt with in the same manner. I will never use another web host again! Thanks, ZendURL!

Reviewed on: 2007-01-25   -   (IP: 69.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I had a few problems getting set up, and I posted support tickets, and the same day the issues were answered with ways to help troubleshoot the problem. The admins and moderators as well as users try their best to keep on top of things and seem to be well ahead of the game for free webspace services.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-24   -   (IP: 12.215.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I am pretty intellegent when it comes to hosting sites, but this one is a bit confusing to navigate. The popups on their control panel page (1 per page) annoy users. The automatic subdomains were disabled, and now you can get one only by requsting it in their forum. It seems they still have a lot of bugs to get out of their system.

[Reply by ZendURL owner: "Popups have been removed from the control panel due to complaints we have been receiving."]


Reviewed on: 2007-01-23   -   (IP: 82.57.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best free webhosting company! Really. It is running on a fast dedicated server, and you can have PHP scripts (with some limitations, though, of course).

Reviewed on: 2007-01-22   -   (IP: 61.63.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
This site does not even give you enough access. whenever I am trying to install phpbb forums, it will not let me do so. it says you can do php scripts, but you can not even do a proper forum. the site is hard to use too, with popup ads everywhere in the cpanel, and it is so confusing. The file manager does not work, and my uploaded files are not even currently displaying on my subdomain (though FTP shows they are still there on the server).

Added later:
The webpages do display still, but I found the problem is that subdomains no longer work. If your website was:
http://username.zendurl.com/
then it can be viewed now instead at:
http://www.zendurl.com/username/


Reviewed on: 2007-01-21   -   (IP: 81.179.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Zend URL is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! It has no-cost, ad-free web hosting, with PHP support, database support, and everything you would not expect from a freewebspace service.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-18   -   (IP: 222.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This can only be too good for webmasters. POP3 Email, Auto-responder, fast servers, and PHP-MySQL support is all my dreams (for a free web host, of course). The only thing annoying me is just some errors I got when I wanted to see their other features. I do not think this webhost can attract more people if they do not manage to fix those errors.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-02   -   (IP: 72.232.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This web host is revolutionary. It offers things that can ONLY be found on paid premium web hosting. Fast servers are just the beginning. It has an extremely helpful support team that responds within minutes! Also it supports Front Page Server extensions, FTP, PHP, and pre-installed scripts. All is awesome.

Reviewed on: 2007-01-02   -   (IP: 64.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This looks like a great host. It might be useful one day even though I own my own ISP. The little thing I did not like is that the webpages seem to load too long. Maybe the server is located out of the United States, but I did not like that. Mostly the free host is great. I would have found this very useful 3 years ago. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-01-02   -   (IP: 88.117.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
ZendURL is back with all their features. The web server is faster than ever, but there are still some problems with FTP.

[
Note by webmaster:

FTP works fine now (I just FTPed files to my new account, and it uploaded files very fast; I had to sign up again first though, as my previous account was lost), but the FTP settings are different than they were a month ago, so look in your control panel for the correct FTP server name and username setting. When you sign up, you get this warning:
"It is also important that you log into the Control Panel and view the FTP page before uploading files. This may save you a lot of headache! Also subdomains may take up to 30 minutes to appear everywhere."
Also in the web panel it says,
"IMPORTANT: When you upload files, it may take up to 30 minutes for some users to see them. This is because some computers view the backup server. Since backups occur every 30 minutes, it may take that long before all users see your site."
Seemingly it also may take considerable time (maybe several hours in some locations) for the DNS to propagate on newly created subdomains.
]


Reviewed on: 2007-01-02   -   (IP: 82.171.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I really would like to warn everybody for ZendUrl, when you are logged into your account in the control panel, every webpage that loads causes an annoying popup, usually to some shady website (not the worst kinds, but not good sites either), and it seems (to my anti-spyware software, which may be reporting inaccurately) at least one of them tried to install all kinds of spyware on my computer. I understand that they need to make money, but after I logged in, all my spyware and virus software started screaming about attempts to install software on my PC. I do not think this is the right way to treat people, so I would stay far far away from them if you do not want to put your PC at risk. If you do use this free hosting site, I would reccomend a good using a good popup blocker in addition to the antivirus/antispyware software. ZendURL, please stop forcing these pop-ups that override users popup-blocking settings and forcing users to visit websites we do not want to visit.

Also, the EasyEditor File Manager page gave this error message:
Warning: Division by zero in /home/zendurl/public_html/editor_add_page.php on line 23


Reviewed on: 2006-12-05   -   (IP: 151.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Their web site is down now, along with all the free websites hosted by them. The ZendURL.com owner said, "The hard drive on our server was corrupt, causing the downtime. We are going to get an improved dedicated server, and make serveral load changes before going back online." Also the news on their homepage says, "We are currently reconfiguring the server, plus we are adding an additional server." So they should be back up soon.

Another problem was that we could not choose the exact name of our website, but got a shorter one (our username, and therefore the hostname for the subdomain, is only 8 characters long). Their offer really seems too good to be true, and here are the facts. I am very disappointed.

[
Update 12-14: Their home page says: "Signups are temporarily disabled. We are making some final changes on the new server, and we expect to be allowing signups by Saturday December 16th.:
]


Reviewed on: 2006-12-05   -   (IP: 189.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free web hosting site is great! I got my web site up and running in less than 15 minutes. It puts no ads whatsoever on your website, and I have had no problems with the FTP uploading either. It is really great for a quick and easy setup.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-03   -   (IP: 71.164.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
So far, this is one of the best free hosts I have ever used (and I have used a LOT). You get instant setup, loads of features, plenty of web space (200MB diskspace) and bandwidth (10GB!) for a free host. I signed up about 3 minutes ago, and I am already up and running. Their dedicated server is extremely fast. Highly recommended. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-01   -   (IP: 149.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow! This is definitely the best free webspace host I have ever tried. I had my web site up and running within minutes, with no problems at all. I strongly recommend this if you are looking for free hosting!

Reviewed on: 2006-11-29   -   (IP: 189.146.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Simply the best free hoster, with the best support team and really fast web page loading in html code, and fast ftp upload.

Reviewed on: 2006-11-29   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Zend URL freehosting is back online, and this time the owner has taken great measures to make sure it is back for good. He said he redid a lot of the coding, secured the php configuration more, and rescripted from scratch an anti-phishing firewall (the hosted files are scanned, and every major phishing site gets stopped by the firewall).

My previous free web hosting account was gone, so I signed up again. The new account was created instantly. No email was sent, so make sure you copy the FTP account info and such after the registration. In their custom control panel there is a php script autoinstaller for YaBB Forums and Agora Cart shoppingcart scripts. The file manager does not seem to work yet, but FTP uploading was quick. The FTP connection info said "You are user number 53 of 150 allowed. You will be disconnected after 15 minutes of inactivity." There are no ads on free webpages (though the webmaster control panel has ads and popups), and the web server is very fast, but there are some statistics trackers codes added to the bottom of your html (after the html closing tag): StatCounter and google-analytics.com (Urchin) javascript stats codes. SSI and PHP Version 5.2.0 work okay (php safemode is on). Recomended free bannerless php hosting service for experienced webmasters and php developers (probably not for newbies).


Reviewed on: 2006-11-05   -   (IP: 211.18.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Boy, Zendurl really messed up! They do not have what it takes to keep a hosting site up and running. They let any user do whatever they wanted until their provider pulled the plug, erasing all our free websites. So their answer - change web servers and go on as before. This WILL happen again. Now they have this warning on their site: "If you see a well known site below that asks for a password, it is a FAKE". Does Zendurl know what they are doing?
Now their site asks for a username and password http authentication to even view the home page, or you get "Authorization Required" error page.


Reviewed on: 2006-11-03   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
The free webspace signup is currently down, and there is this news on their message board:

"Currently our old provider disconnected us and asked us to pay a $1000 fine to get back online (because of orkut and paypal phishing). We declined, and we are going to be moving to a different dedicated server provider. No deal has been made, however we are deciding on a couple of companies. When we are on the new site we start over fresh. ONLY paid members will get their points back (and rompus). This will prevent all issues with nonworking accounts. We are currently located on my other site (tomorrowhosting.com), and we will stay here until we move to the new server."


Reviewed on: 2006-10-21   -   (IP: 81.158.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This site is simply amazing, and it is not because it supports PHP, Pearl, etc., but it is because the forum support is by far the very best I have seen. They have people who are extremely helpful and dedicated to helping people out. So far they have replied to my post extremly fast and have helped me incredibly with problems not even to due with the hosting, but just my own coding problems, etc. It is one of the best free phphosts, and I would recomend to anyone.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-19   -   (IP: 151.205.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
ZendURL offers free PHP and MySQL database hosting. I got a myname.zendurl.com and zendurl.com/myname/ when I signed up, and my website worked within minutes. PHP functions like mail(), require_once(), and fopen() are disabled to prevent phishing and for security reasons, but the auto-responders work, and I can live with that if I ever need to mail.

However, when I added a domain name that I wanted to host (aside from the subdomain I got when I signed up), I had to do it twice (the first time did not work), and now the ZendURL Control Panel thinks I have used up two addon domains. My request on the forums to delete my hosted domain name (the only way to do so without a Control Panel form or Support Ticket system at this time) was declined. Their reason: "There is no need for us to change the settings, as it would not affect anything located on other servers." Now I am stuck with one domain name, for which I can not use the same MySQL DB as the subdomain, using up my two free domain hosting spaces, and I can not delete it (or is it "them"?). :-(

Also, I saw the entire zendurl.com domain down with a "This Account Has Been Suspended: Please contact the billing department..." page today. Thankfully, that problem went away some minutes later.

If you do not need support or a separate top-level domain name hosted, ZendURL's free hosting service is amazing. If you do, good luck on your journey.


Reviewed on: 2006-10-16   -   (IP: 80.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It has the easiest registration, and very fast PHP.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-16   -   (IP: 68.79.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Absolutely free webpage webhosting site with great admin, and almost free domains -- only popups are in the control panel (there are no poupups or banners on freepages though).

Reviewed on: 2006-10-15   -   (IP: 24.203.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This webhost is awesome, with PHP for free! Also, the servers uptime is excellent. It has not been down yet, except when they changed servers for a better one. Overall I like it ;-)

Reviewed on: 2006-10-14   -   (IP: 200.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great free webhosting site: PHP, mySQL, FTP upload, great support forum with immediate replies, wonderful staff - everything I needed. This is the place everyone needs when looking for a free website.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-14   -   (IP: 86.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Zendurl is the first free web-hosting service I have actually found that WORKS without hassle, and does not bombard you with constant alerts asking you to buy their premium service. Speaking of which, it appears everything is available to the basic user, without all this "sorry, you will have to buy the premium version if you want to upload more than one file at a time" nonsense. it is rather annoying having to upload each image and each thumbnail in a gallery individually. once I had figured out how the FTP worked, it is just a matter of loading the FTP client and telling it to update the website. I have only been using it a few days, but I tried quite a few free hosts last week when I was trying to find a host for the site I am designing, and this is the first one that has all the accessories (php, frontpage server extensions, etc.) that I need for it. Everything on Zendurl seems like it has been made to work, not to just look like it works. the web site may appear a little outdated, but it is simply a lack of gimmicks and trying to dress everything up. Zendurl seems very much to me like a website designed by experts, for experts. That said, someone out looking for an easy way to create a free website based on a template available and have it look good without having to do much more designing than picking a colour scheme would perhaps be better with a more established and "user-friendly" hosting service.

Reviewed on: 2006-10-10   -   (IP: 142.177.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been patiently awaiting some hardware and software upgrades recently occurring on ZendURL before doing this review. Now that the majority of the upgrades, etc., have been completed, I must rate ZendURL 10/10. I have tried a LOT of free hosts, and ZendURL outdoes the competition by far in every aspect. I have been hosting my website free there for about 3 months now, and have no plans on leaving. The support staff are friendly and helpful, and willing to work until your issue is resolved. The new (current) server is very fast, and rarely experiences downtime. Among other good things, they support PHP, Perl/CGI, and some other server-side codes too. Ample storage space is offered, and MySQL database is included. The only thing currently unavailable is outgoing email from a web site, for security reasons, but I think this issue is being dealt with as I speak, and hopefully a solution will be found soon. Switch to Zend URL! You will finally be happy with your free host!

Reviewed on: 2006-10-07   -   (IP: 83.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Their file uploading processes are not working at the moment, as well as their new addon domain name feature (which would be great if they get it working). I guess they have some bugs to work of of the new system.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-05   -   (IP: 70.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
They were an awesome host, until they switched servers, had a week of downtime, and now pages take minutes to load instead of seconds, and they decided to randomly disable functions, breaking scripts all in the name of stopping MySpace abuse or something. They have broken my website, lost a week of MySQL data, and strangled the connection speed down to a dribble. I wish they would just go back to the old server. this one is horrible.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-05   -   (IP: 210.2.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-08-30   -   (IP: 142.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am a current subscriber to ZendURL's freewebhosting services. Let me say they are top notch. I would challenge just about anyone to find a website that offers the same services for the same free price. They have had a little web server downtime lately, but this was due to moving to new web servers, which can only make the service they provide better. It is worth a look! and then signing up for! :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-08-24   -   (IP: 209.242.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
After reviewing many freehosting sites, I decided to use this freehost. However their website says the uploading and registration for new free web hosting accounts are not allowed today (August 24, for 24 hours) while they transfer files to a new webserver. A recent update says the process is about finished.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-22   -   (IP: 203.194.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
Good points:
Fast end user server.
Fast response time from support.
No banners on free web site pages hosted.

Bad Points:
Costs must be covered somewhere, so rather than your visitors getting adverts - you the webmaster do. Banner ads and popups nonstop while you just try to manage your site in the online control panel. Their ads don't even fit on my screen, so you might need to horizontal scroll to just use the facilities. Some popups caused my system to lock up - maybe because of a dial-up slow connection. Use a popup blocker.

It has a very confusing "point" system. You need to "earn" points by either having popups and adverts in your control panel, or inflict them on your visitors. Banner adverts are not enough - so either you tolerate popups or your visitor does. To display banners on your web site you must understand PHP. And while PHP is supported, there are no instant scripts provided for things like running a forum - or anything else for that matter. The only scripts provided are for the popups and banners you would need to display to avoid them yourself.

In summary, what is provided for free is amazing - and the support they give is excellent - (10 minutes to respond to a support ticket) - but unless you are going to be building a large web site and have experience with more advanced website creation, stick to the simpler freehosts.


Reviewed on: 2006-07-21   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Their signup system and user controlpanel has changed. After signing up again (giving username, password, and email address; then instant free hosting account), the next web page gives lots of free hosting account details and says, "A confirmation email has been sent to [your email address]. You may still log into your control panel without confirming your email, but you will get 10 free points if you confirm your email." In order to activate your subdomain (the folder URL, www.zendurl.com/username/, works by default), the you must create a support ticket (not currently working). If you activate your subdomain you will be charged 10 ZendURL points (you get that many for free by confirming your e-mail anyway). The user control panel looks pretty simple with plain text links to various webhosting functions, but has a lot of features. The file manager program lets you upload only one file at a time (is fast though), but you can use FTP uploading files instead. The free web server is lightning fast, with no ads on free web pages hosted. My SSI and PHP scripts work fine. My phpinfo file shows it is PHP Version 5.1.4 with PHP safemode off, gd 2.0.28 compatible, and many other php modules loaded. Great for free bannerless php web hosting service. In the control panel you can add a mysql database, add cronjobs, create free email address, autoresponder, and email forwarding, Install/Uninstall FrontPage Server Extensions (FP extensions are installed by default), and create support tickets. It says you can have addon domains and subdomains by using a support ticket, and you may only see your webalizer stats after your subdomain is set-up. The userpanel support ticket link did not work though. Good otherwise.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-21   -   (IP: 142.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
The user control panel is ad-filled (somewhat slow loading third-party ads), and their "Ticket" system does not work!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-20   -   (IP: 221.216.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good free hosting with no adds, and supports Front Page Server Extensions, PHP, PERL/CGI, SSI, etc.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-07   -   (IP: 201.74.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
WEBSERVER DOWN! [It is back up now.] I don't know; maybe I really don't have any luck, but since I signed up (2 days ago), the web server had been down 3 times, in 2 days! the things that zendurl offers are really good; that's true - mysql, php, cgi, 100mb space free, no ads... but only if you don't mind having your free web site down for some hours a day.

Reviewed on: 2006-07-05   -   (IP: 142.167.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I found everything I was looking for on this free host service! Free mySQL database and FTP managing with php and any file type! Thank you, Zend URL, for making this!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-02   -   (IP: 220.253.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is brilliant! It supports front page extensions! and php scripts! which is very helpful! and best of all, it costs nothing! and is bannerless, and is always online! definately the best free web site hosting on the Net!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-02   -   (IP: 66.227.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is one of the best hosting sites (free) I have ever used, especially if you are using FTP. They are just recovering from being hacked, and they are trying to get back up on their feet. you get a large storage amount, a large monthly bandwith, and no file size limit. They have excellent ticket support and also a forum if you need help with something. When I had a question, I submitted a ticket for support and it was answered in less then 5 minutes. That is great service. Some downsides to it are the browser file manager. This could use some work. But if you are using FTP to upload files, you don't have to worry about this. I highly reccomend this free website hosting to everyone.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-27   -   (IP: 24.52.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
ZendURL has been completely redone since the hack that it had several months ago. It should now be much more secure, and offers better free hosting services. I have been very pleased using Zend URL. It is easy to use. They had a couple hours of scheduled down time yesterday, which would be the cause of most negative ratings). Their services are great offering many things that most free web hosting providers do not. Using PHP and similiar server-side scripts has been a bit of a pain for people simply becuase, for security reasons, you can't access files in a lower directory than the one you are in. It has been easy for any of those that have asked for help to fix it. Its sign-up process is simple and painless, unlike some other free web space hosts where you have to enter credit card number, adresses, and other personal information. Having no ads forced ads on your free webpages is great. You can get upgrades (such as more web space, bandwidth, or MySQL accounts) to your webhosting service by having them, though. I do think that their website could use a little work, though. It is stuck at wider than my monitor (1024x768) and could easily be fit in that space, if not less. But, as this is a web hosting service review, I will not take this into account much. This is, by far, the most friendly, easy-to-use, and powerful web host I have used so-far.

Reviewed on: 2006-06-25   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
My previous Zend URL free hosting account was deleted again (maybe for inactivity this time?), but their freehosting signup is open again, and they have very different services now - free subdomain with FTP uploading and scripting such as Perl, PHP, and Front Page Server Extensions. I guess I will have to sign up again. The owner says, "There is not one line of code from the old site", so hopefully the previous problems are solved now.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-24   -   (IP: 70.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I am trying to sign up. I put user name password email and then submit: no further step but a blank page with following words: "All Files Are Curently Suspended While We Search and Eliminate Hackers. No Data Has Been Lost."

Reviewed on: 2006-01-17   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
My account was deleted after they got hacked, but I signed up again with same details.  The popups in the control panel are incredibly annoying. PHP no longer works, but maybe is temporary.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-13   -   (IP: 161.184.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Host got hacked, their services are lacking highly, only a web uploader and nothing else :(.

"As some of our users may have seen, our servers had been hacked. as of now it seems that all of the files hosted have been lost (although we are not positive that this is the case). We will be down for the next couple of days. Check back periodically for information on when we will be back up. When Zendurl is back up we will have a much more stringent set of rules and guidelines to help insure that this does not happen again."


Reviewed on: 2006-01-08   -   (IP: 222.154.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is a pretty good host. You get no ads, and heaps of free web space. However I don't think you can upload using FTP, and there are limited upload fields in the members area. If you could use FTP, this host would get a full 10.

Reviewed on: 2006-01-08   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Their web hosting server is fast, no forced ads (yet), and PHP Version 4.4.0 and SSI work. Powered by multihoster 1.0.6 webhosting script. You can instantly add your free web site to their online directory (there are only 4 sites listed so far). Great free hosting service. I hope it lasts. Your free URL looks like http://www.zendurl.com/you/

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -