free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  BraveNet


Visit: BraveNet
http://www.bravenet.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Popup.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum, Script collection.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Web Traffic Statistics.
  • 90-days Inactivity limit.
  • Bandwidth limit 1500 MB/month.
  • Maximum file size limit 150 KB.
  • Same freehost as BraveHost.com.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 52   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 5 5 2 4 4 4 3 4 1 8
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.58 / 10

Total Votes: 40

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  BraveNet



40 User Testimonials/Reviews of BraveNet

Reviewed on: 2004-04-07   -   (IP: 24.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Well, Bravenet has never had a FAX service, is only 7 years old, and has never changed owners.  (I've been a member since the first week it went up on a 75mhz pentium server back in 1997.)

Bravenet's hosting system is called Bravehost.com (it is only a year or so old)... free pages provided with NO POPUP ADS at all.  You will get basic banner style ads and thats it, from Bravehost.com.

The old, now discontinued Bravepages services (which was provided by a co-branded partner company before Bravenet made a full commitment to hosting) had a lot of popups and some service/stability issues.  No longer an issue.

Lots of new cool website tools are coming down the pipe for Bravenet users in the near future, too.  Both free and paid accounts will enjoy new and improved goodies...its all good..:)

Bravenet also provides some of the best web tools out there...their new Web Journal service is quickly setting new standards in the blogging community and they have just unveiled new stuff like the traffic exchange, Website builder and some other stuff.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-05   -   (IP: 204.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I'm still working on constructing my new website here. it's a personal page site. They provide a bunch of extras, including linked photo sites with viewer uploading available, chat rooms, weblogs, Ecards, Links with viewer input available, plus many other things. plus a ton of extras.

The do limit the photos in your photo center to 150 KB. But your photos in your webpage can be larger.

No adult material or links to adult material is allowed.

My only complaint is that they limit the types of files which can be uploaded to the free sites.

In my case, I go back with Bravenet and Bravehost about 10 years. Then they offered a service for sending and receiving free faxes through the internet like efax does today. The faxes that you received were terrible and you could barely read them. But I never received a lot of faxes so it didn't matter.

Since then, ownership has been transferred to the current owners. I've had a free photo album on Bravenet for a couple of years. I can assure you that they don't delete photo albums if you don't visit them. I didn't visit my for 6 months and it was still there. Photo albums can be setup seperately, or linked to your website.

I just constructed the first webpage that I've constructed since 1995. I used the Serif Pageplus program to create it. I never learned to actually write HTML. Bravenet does provide a bunch for templates for the people who do write HTML, or wish to learn. They also have a new Website creator. (I didn't try it out.)

Your own FTP transfer program will not work with the free site. However, they have a web based java FTP transfer program that works great.

Well, my website is new. I'll let you know how things are a few months from now.


Reviewed on: 2003-07-10   -   (IP: 81.77.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have never had any problems with this site! It is the best and it's my favourite word, FREE!!

Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Good solid and reliable webserver, but sadly popups make this a lesser choice than other freehosting servers. There are worse websites for popups, but there are better banner alternatives offering this type of free web space services.

Reviewed on: 2003-04-17   -   (IP: 218.22.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2002-12-31   -   (IP: 80.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
positive: 100MB free space, mp3 doesn't seems a prob, forums, questbooks, and other free stuff, very good, even if u use another site, u can use the forum!!
negative: 600mb/month, 1mb limit, add-on on the site!!!! very BAD!!!
I would recommend this for stock, put a little site on it and then link the other stuff, to a free host without add-ons, but plz reming bravenet on that site, coz they gave it free
used= 1day, lol
for the other questions, i don't think the slow upload is a prob, and the extra services are wonderfull
jaryd


Reviewed on: 2002-11-24   -   (IP: 62.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
If you plan to use the large amount of space they offer, you'll quickly (10-20 visitors/day) exceed the 600 mb of bandwidth, and are redirected to paid hosting.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-14   -   (IP: 170.224.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
All seemed great initially, until I had my site deleted without warning or explanation, I am still waiting for one.
Just lucky it was a free site! Or I would have been in trouble.


Reviewed on: 2002-09-09   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Bravenet's free hosting is powered by powered by 0Catch, and has a large ugly banner with text link at top. FTP was fast. MID files are allowed. The free hosting package can be upgraded to Premium later.  Too bad it doesn't support scripting languages. My free web site is on a subdomain of bravepages.com.

Reviewed on: 2002-09-07   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Very reliable.  Hasn't ever been down.  FTP is very slow sometimes.  They provide nice addons "with nasty banners" of course.  One of the most reliable free web hosts I've seen lately.



40 Customer Comments/Reviews of BraveNet

Page:  4 of 4

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -