free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AngelFire

( "Lycos Webhosting" )


Visit: AngelFire
http://angelfire.lycos.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 20 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser, SiteCopy.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: FrontPage Extensions.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Script collection.
Your URL: /dir/you.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
  • RealAudio, RealVideo, Flash, and MP3 files allowed.
  • Web-based Email (Web-mail).
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 56   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
     
# Votes: 11 3 2 3 0 5 5 1 0 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.51 / 10

Total Votes: 35

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AngelFire



35 User Testimonials/Reviews of AngelFire

Reviewed on: 2004-12-11   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It's a pretty good host for simple sites, and was quite helpful when building a site focusing on my sister's wedding. I guess I'd recommend them.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-08   -   (IP: 68.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This site is okay. I gave it a six because it only has that one banner ad at the top and doesn't have excessive pop ups. The uploading is cool and its user friendly. The downside is that you have that LONG url and that is not good for when you are telling someone to check your site out. They'd probably would be like "nevermind" by the time you got to the /dir/ part. Otherwise, its cool!

Reviewed on: 2004-06-27   -   (IP: 4.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2004-06-15   -   (IP: 142.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This webhost used to be good. Ermm.. okay okay used to be decent.. about a year ago, you had the choice of whether you wanted your ads in popup or on your page, now you don't have that choice and you get both, on your page and in popups.

And now Angelfire and Tripod for that matter, have this newly super annoying search window that they embed on to your browser if you're on IE. (not sure about netscape and the other ones). It takes up a bit of space on your screen and even if you close it on the first page, it will keep popping up every time you navigate to another page.

If you don't plan on having a lot of visitors, or mainly as an archive, you might consider this webhost.
There are times where the lycos server is on pms and you can't upload/edit files as fast as you could.

FTP usage is good, one of the only positive points about this webhost.

Right now, I'm looking to move my angelfire page elsewhere. One can only stand so much popups and ads and... search windows.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-10   -   (IP: 64.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
"I've been with AF for many years. It's continually gotten worse."
Hear, hear. It used to be good. USED TO BE. Now it stinks. I don't know whether my tastes have improved or Angelfire has gotten worse, but it's probably a mixture of the two. The plan naming scheme is kinda cool, but it doesn't support CGI (for the free plan), the banners are unbearable, etc, etc.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-02   -   (IP: 64.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Currently this host is lying to new signups. It states quite clearly "Members of our Free service are required to host ads (choice of pop-up or on-the-page ads) on their pages..."
This quote is located at:
http://www.angelfire.lycos.com/doc/subscriptions/compare_popup.html
I've been with AF for many years. It's continually gotten worse. I'm very actively looking for a new host. I was shocked to find that when I went to my site (with JavaScript enabled) that there was four (4) areas of ads *on each page*.
One banner at the top (which was incorrectly coded so it covered my navigation), two (2) banners at the bottom, and a pop-up. The storage went from 5 megs to 50 megs to 20 megs. Poor customer service (I e-mailed to ask about the ads and they told me how to change my password). Would only recommend for a beginner or as a beta testing server. Would strongly caution against joining if you want a good impression for your visitors.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-01   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
THIS IS THE GREATEST HOST IN CYBERSPACE. You have to admit, it is fairly wicked. 20MB, 1000MB bandwidth, which is fine, and NO FILE SIZE LIMIT. THIS IS THE BEST.

Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 156.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
All I can say is... "URRRGH!!!"
Ok, I'll say more than that.
I *thought* this was a decent free site.
I *thought* I could live with the banner ads at the top AND bottom of each of my pages.
I *thought* I was being smart by meticulously adding enough page-breaks to move my site content more or less away from those gawdy, flashing bars.

Until TODAY, when I went to my site, was checking out one of my images, and then, *BAM!* - a bright yellow Expedia.com banner ad suddenly appeared _ON TOP OF_ one of the images I had in the MIDDLE of my page! There is no way to close OR to even MOVE the stupid thing, either - it just sticks there like neon vomit a few seconds after the page loads, and it appears on EVERY page of my site! After all the hours I've laboured on my site making it look good..?!?

What are these losers doing??? Did they notice how much  space I was putting between their stunning ads and the actual content of my site..!?! PATHETIC, people!!!

I thought Yahoo!/Geocities had gotten bad, but at least you can CLOSE their ads (annoying as they are), and they stay at the tope of the page! I'm glad I already have my pages mirrored on THEIR site until I'm able to locate one that's better.

Man, I miss the mid-90s with REAL free web-hosting! : (


Reviewed on: 2004-03-20   -   (IP: 24.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
they don't let you design the site how you want to. besides i like tripod better.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-17   -   (IP: 66.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it is kinda annoying in that the buttons don't display correctly in avant browser so i had to resort to ie (...).  the ads are annoying but are easily bypassable, like yahoo's.  also, 20 megs is plenty of space if you're not hosting lots of bitmaps or video clips.



35 Customer Comments/Reviews of AngelFire

Page:  2 of 4

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

FrontPage Server Extensions

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 24, 2017 -