free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AngelFire

( "Lycos Webhosting" )


Visit: AngelFire
http://angelfire.lycos.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 20 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser, SiteCopy.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: FrontPage Extensions.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Script collection.
Your URL: /dir/you.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
  • RealAudio, RealVideo, Flash, and MP3 files allowed.
  • Web-based Email (Web-mail).
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 56   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
     
# Votes: 11 3 2 3 0 5 5 1 0 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.51 / 10

Total Votes: 35

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AngelFire



35 User Testimonials/Reviews of AngelFire

Reviewed on: 2004-01-26   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I find Angelfire very good for beginners like me!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 66.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This is a great website host for newbie web designers. If you have very little knowledge on how to make a website and just want to play around with it, definitely go for this one. I used to have at least 15 angelfire webpages when i was a kid and it got me started on the path to professional web design.

Although if you are a professional web designer and/or want a professional looking site, definitely DO NOT use this one because you will be guaranteed not to get anyone outside of your family looking at it.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-29   -   (IP: 166.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Angelfire is alright; used to be better until now.  Now you don't have the option to choose b/w banners and pop-ups.  This isn't good at all b/c at least before you could block pop-ups with a little javascript.  While popups can still be blocked you now automatically get banner ads on every page.  Looks pretty ugly.  You can never use frames b/c of banner ads messing it up, but who uses frames anyways?  Frames are old and bothersome, a table is 100 times as effective as frames.  Would reccomend for beginners.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-29   -   (IP: 213.243.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2003-09-16   -   (IP: 216.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I have had my pages here since 2000, but am looking for a new home. At first, I had a choice of one banner per page or one popup per page. Now, both are mandatory. I have a 20-page diary there, so this is too much. Banner ads + popups = slow website = avoided. Good to learn on, but also teaches the drawbacks of popups.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-10   -   (IP: 66.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Have been with Angelfire for almost 7 years now - in the beginning they didn't require popups, but now they barely offer pages BENEATH the popups! Went from 5mb to 50mb to 20mb, and the editor has changed so many times it's very hard to keep track of the changes. Have too many files to move, but am actively seeking other options. Best (now) for small sites.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-13   -   (IP: 207.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Popups. And more popups. Who wants to visit a website with a billion ads popping up in your face? Click your favorite color, etc. Hahaha. It was once good but then along came lycos with a jingling money bag, and Angelfire went popup crazy. Nawww... I think not. Soon as I find a better site I'm outta there. Not recommended except for the rankest newbie. No offense, newbie.:)

Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
A pretty good webhost. the good things:
- Easy. You don't need to know HTML at all, although it does help.
- Fairly short web adress. (Www. angelfire.com/dir/you)
- Pretty easy to understand.
- Many choices for text and backround.
- Hefty space. I have 5 loaded pages and only 0.03 MB / 20 MB has been used, so i guess you can make MANY, MANY, MANY pages.
The Bads:
- They say they are FAST. Are you joking me? They are slow.
- Popups. There are ALOT of these almost blanketing your site.
- Links. It's a pain here. They don't make the Navigation bar for you, meaning you have to do lots of extra work.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-29   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
//-----------| A Little History |---------

It was the 1st webhost that I used when I 1st started off my single page website more than 3 years ago. The storage space has been changing. It increased to 50mb at 1 time & then decreased to 20mb currently. Nobody knows when will it change again.

Then, I used the same account for my personal homepage with more 20mb of files. There was never a problem with the bandwidth & I used to think it was unlimited.

//-----------| Currently |---------

I could no longer withstand the popups with my growing site. Loading takes ages since I started off. Even their homepage takes ages to load sometimes, especially when you 1st visit it (without cache yet).

They didn't state the bandwidth limit, at least I couldn't find it till now. However I do surf websites hosted by them & the bandwidth doesn't seem to be high.

I have 2 accounts with them currently because I have switched to other webhosts. They didn't remove me even though the storage are completely empty.

//-----------| Recommendation |---------

Please don't ever use this host if you're using frames. The popups will kill your visitors; the banner will spoil your design on every frame.

However, please note that many free webhosts do have banners or popups, as annoying as Angelfire's.

I recommend this free host only to beginners with a small site.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Slow and popup crazed.
Not a place to put a site if you expect people to see it beneath the blankets of adds.




35 Customer Comments/Reviews of AngelFire

Page:  3 of 4

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

FrontPage Server Extensions

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -