free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  BraveNet


Visit: BraveNet
http://www.bravenet.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Popup.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum, Script collection.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Web Traffic Statistics.
  • 90-days Inactivity limit.
  • Bandwidth limit 1500 MB/month.
  • Maximum file size limit 150 KB.
  • Same freehost as BraveHost.com.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 52   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 5 5 2 4 4 4 3 4 1 8
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.58 / 10

Total Votes: 40

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  BraveNet



37 User Testimonials/Reviews of BraveNet


3 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2007-07-11   -   (IP: 24.10.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I purchased a URL (domain name) through bravenet, and a paid hosting plan 14 months ago. Within the first two weeks I was so angry with the lack of action by their support. It actually took two weeks to get a response to two service tickets. Their staff appear to be arrogant, and not seemingly trained in their field. After the first month of hosting I quickly moved my site to lunarpages (a top-notch paid host) and set up shop there. There is nothing at bravenet that enables a new webmaster to learn that is not found elsewhere on the Internet. There are cheaper hosting plans with much more file storage space and bandwidth. The story ends here. The site I started a year ago has grown immensely. It was my first site, and I was lucky for it to succeed. Well I now had to move my site do a dedicated server. This means creating nameservers for my URL. The domain name I bought through bravenet. BRAVENET DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO REGISTER NAMESERVERS, although it is a common need by many webmasters. So now I have had a dead site sitting for two days, and it will probably be another week until my domain name transfer is complete, meaning my site will have been down for a whole week due to their bad hosting. Be wise, and RUN FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOST. In the fourteen months since I started running websites I have had three weeks of downtime due to poor hosting. All three weeks are credited to bravehost/bravenet and their inability to provide customer service.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-28   -   (IP: 151.204.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I am currently using them for a family website and have been looking around to find a new host because I am tired of the ads. For what I want out of a family reunion site, bravenet (aka bravehost) is the best for my money. I do not have the time to learn how to build a web site from scratch, and bravenet saves me from having to try. I am now upgrading to the premium webhosting plan and will edit my review (if possible) to let you know how it goes. I have high hopes since this was my first website, and it worked well compared to others. I have office live also, and bravenet is by far more user-friendly and cost-effective for paid hosting services.

Reviewed on: 2007-06-24   -   (IP: 72.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This is a decent host - not good, but not bad - just okay. Its pagebuilder is good, but sometimes it acts sort of weird, and once it did not allow me to edit the webpages. My brother also used it to host his free website, but the banner ads interfered with his website layout, so he is currently searching for another host. I have never seen it down before, though, and it is pretty nice. But I certainly would not recommend it if you are easily bothered by up to 4 banner ads on the top of the web page at once (or just banner ads in general).

Reviewed on: 2007-03-23   -   (IP: 71.87.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
I went to Bravenet because I am a novice in the web building game. At first I thought their free site was great. I, like many others, was annoyed with all the advertising, so I upgraded to Pro web hosting service. I purchased the pro templates and have not been able to get them to work. Many other functions also did not work. I tried and tried to get some customer support, but Bravenet has none. I found a better all-around hosting platform and attempted to move my domain. I am locked out. I have had to purchase a new domain name that nobody knew. This cost my site end-users. I am stuck with paying for a site I cannot use. They will not respond to me. They took my money. Now, every time I attempt to move anything from the Bravenet site to my new site, my computor freezes up. I have recommended Bravenet to others and am now sorry I did.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-26   -   (IP: 219.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Great tools, but the catch is in the ads, popups, and forced banners: 3 banners 250 pixels wide, stacked on top of one another, and separated by an add navigation bar. It really made my free web page suffer. The webmaster tools ain't that great either. The only thing I ever use is the formmail. Also their web servers have frequent server downtime.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-27   -   (IP: 72.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This is a great site for someone who wants a quick and easy way to create a simple webpage free. BraveNet has great formatting, is easy to use/learn, and has great preinstalled templates. The forced ads can be annoying, but it is free. The toolbars and short url redirections are wonderful for increasing traffic. Do not use it for more advanced stuff, though.

Reviewed on: 2006-09-09   -   (IP: 70.24.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
The only reason I am rating this free webpage hosting site a 5 is the ads. The nature of my website requires no ads, and I registered thinking that there were no ads, because I was searching for no-ad services and Bravenet popped up. If there were no ads, then it would have been okay.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-25   -   (IP: 172.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I changed my web site over to bravenet about a year ago (previously using tripod). I had been using the great free webmaster tools bravenet provide like guestbook, chatroom, ect. However their free web hosting service is not the best. Their popups are extremely annoying and even unstoppable sometimes with a popupblocker. The popups can take over your web page. Now the popups have started in their guestbooks, forums, and other tools. So I have went hunting for another free hosting server and somewhere else to get a free guestbook as well. I was a huge bravenet fan as they made getting a guestbook and a host of other tools so easy and all in the one place. Now I am sad to say their popups have ruined it for me. I do not mind the banners at the top; that is understandable, but popups and especially popups that size put people off visiting your website. I have rated them a 4; it would have been a 1 rating had it not been for the amount of free website tools they provide.

Reviewed on: 2006-08-07   -   (IP: 209.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have had my site with BraveNet for 2 years without any problems. The customer support has been very helpful. 99% of the problems I call about have been of my own making, but they have always helped me to fix them. Just recently I started a new web site with them and upgraded to Pro and love it! I would highly recommend this FREE site to anyone!

Reviewed on: 2006-07-26   -   (IP: 70.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
This company is a major rip off. For your own sake, find someone reputable.



37 Customer Comments/Reviews of BraveNet

Page:  1 of 4

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- May 25, 2017 -