free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  BraveNet


Visit: BraveNet
http://www.bravenet.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 5 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Popup.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: SSI.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Message Board Forum, Script collection.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Web Traffic Statistics.
  • 90-days Inactivity limit.
  • Bandwidth limit 1500 MB/month.
  • Maximum file size limit 150 KB.
  • Same freehost as BraveHost.com.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 52   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 5 5 2 4 4 4 3 4 1 8
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  5.58 / 10

Total Votes: 40

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  BraveNet



37 User Testimonials/Reviews of BraveNet


3 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2005-03-11   -   (IP: 208.13.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
After the most rude support people in the world (only one was nice) have lied to me over and over about things being fixed, I have decided to move my website to another host.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-04   -   (IP: 69.244.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
if you make it on basic web editor, then advanced editor, or vice versa, you lose everything.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-04   -   (IP: 61.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This webhost is average, reason i say average is because their banner ads are really annoying and only allows you to upload files with specified extensions. Suggest looking for a better webhost, I'm going to be switchin mine to FRandT soon.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-30   -   (IP: 209.226.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
I signed on with Bravenet hosting over two years ago and it has become so bad, the reason I'm here is I am looking for a new host. Don't believe them when they say no Popups, my site is so plastered with flashing oversize banners, adverts and junk my visitors think it is a joke. My task bar literally fills with Popups, not two or three, but dozens. Stuff pops up and flashes everywhere, its a bad joke. Its too bad because they offer many great tools and easy add on features, but whats the point if they antagonize and scare off your visitors. Skip this host, its a waste of time. From what I can see there are tons of other responsible hosts to choose from.

Reviewed on: 2004-11-06   -   (IP: 68.49.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
It was alright, lots of features...but the ads and banners ARE HUGE! And they started to annoy my visitors, so I switched to ATSPACE. But if you don't mind ads, it's good.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-14   -   (IP: 204.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I posted a message the other daying that my website had been shutdown without notice. It turns out that it was not shut down. In using their java file transfer program, my "Index" page had not gotten uploaded. Transmission error, I guess. The people at Bravenet checked the problem and reported back to me. I am slowly the process of changing everything on this site. But since I had read about other people having their sites shutdown here without notice, I thought the same thing had happened to me. It hasn't. The problem here was my own fault. I now suspect the same thing concerning other reports like this concerning the Bravenet site.

Reviewed on: 2004-10-13   -   (IP: 204.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Barvenet started as an Email FAX service around 1994 or 1995. I think that the company "eFax" started shortly afterwards or about the same time. I had Bravenet's fax service for a while, but there seemed to be a problem with it. The faxes were never clear. Then they started the webhosting service about a year later.

I've maintained contact with the Bravenet people ever since. 
Last winter, I decided to setup another website. It is simply a persnal website for people to keep up on where I am.  (I'm a truck driver who travel's coast-to-coast. I've used computers since 1970. I haven't had a website up since 1994 on CompuServe.) Naturally, I choose Bravenet. Things have been going smoothly until this morning. For unknown reasons, my website has been closed down. My photo albums, weblog, and other stuff is still there. But the Website is down. I had read where this had happened to other people, but I was surprised when it happened to me today. I'm rating Bravenet a "5" because their service has been outstanding, until now. I am still waiting for an email from them explaining. If no email arrives, then I'll lower this rating.


Reviewed on: 2004-07-24   -   (IP: 68.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
When i first signed up they were great, 3 zillion fiascos later i'm now of a different opinion. after they broke off from 0catch/bravepages their customer service has gone WAY downhill, so far as to say the techs were flat out rude.

Reviewed on: 2004-04-07   -   (IP: 24.109.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Well, Bravenet has never had a FAX service, is only 7 years old, and has never changed owners.  (I've been a member since the first week it went up on a 75mhz pentium server back in 1997.)

Bravenet's hosting system is called Bravehost.com (it is only a year or so old)... free pages provided with NO POPUP ADS at all.  You will get basic banner style ads and thats it, from Bravehost.com.

The old, now discontinued Bravepages services (which was provided by a co-branded partner company before Bravenet made a full commitment to hosting) had a lot of popups and some service/stability issues.  No longer an issue.

Lots of new cool website tools are coming down the pipe for Bravenet users in the near future, too.  Both free and paid accounts will enjoy new and improved goodies...its all good..:)

Bravenet also provides some of the best web tools out there...their new Web Journal service is quickly setting new standards in the blogging community and they have just unveiled new stuff like the traffic exchange, Website builder and some other stuff.


Reviewed on: 2004-04-05   -   (IP: 204.110.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
I'm still working on constructing my new website here. it's a personal page site. They provide a bunch of extras, including linked photo sites with viewer uploading available, chat rooms, weblogs, Ecards, Links with viewer input available, plus many other things. plus a ton of extras.

The do limit the photos in your photo center to 150 KB. But your photos in your webpage can be larger.

No adult material or links to adult material is allowed.

My only complaint is that they limit the types of files which can be uploaded to the free sites.

In my case, I go back with Bravenet and Bravehost about 10 years. Then they offered a service for sending and receiving free faxes through the internet like efax does today. The faxes that you received were terrible and you could barely read them. But I never received a lot of faxes so it didn't matter.

Since then, ownership has been transferred to the current owners. I've had a free photo album on Bravenet for a couple of years. I can assure you that they don't delete photo albums if you don't visit them. I didn't visit my for 6 months and it was still there. Photo albums can be setup seperately, or linked to your website.

I just constructed the first webpage that I've constructed since 1995. I used the Serif Pageplus program to create it. I never learned to actually write HTML. Bravenet does provide a bunch for templates for the people who do write HTML, or wish to learn. They also have a new Website creator. (I didn't try it out.)

Your own FTP transfer program will not work with the free site. However, they have a web based java FTP transfer program that works great.

Well, my website is new. I'll let you know how things are a few months from now.




37 Customer Comments/Reviews of BraveNet

Page:  3 of 4

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -