free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AngelFire

( "Lycos Webhosting" )


Visit: AngelFire
http://angelfire.lycos.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 20 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser, SiteCopy.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: FrontPage Extensions.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Script collection.
Your URL: /dir/you.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
  • RealAudio, RealVideo, Flash, and MP3 files allowed.
  • Web-based Email (Web-mail).
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 56   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
     
# Votes: 11 3 2 3 0 5 5 1 0 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.51 / 10

Total Votes: 35

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AngelFire



26 User Testimonials/Reviews of AngelFire


9 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2007-05-04   -   (IP: 207.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Angelfire is the absolute worst freehosting site ever! I signed on because I am not very web savvy and it seemed like a good deal. Boy was I wrong! I ran into continuous "errors while saving", and do you think I could get tech support?! HAHAHA! Not to mention the other little things that made me want to chuck my laptop out the window! The joke is on me. Angelfire free hosting is bad!

Reviewed on: 2006-08-31   -   (IP: 70.41.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I give angel fire a 6 rating. I could see how it would be extremely annoying for larger webpages, but I only have one webpage and angelfire was the easiest free webpage hosting website I know of to get it out there.

Good things: It was easy to use.

Bad things: It randomly disabled Frontpage once, taking down my web page.

That's about it. The adds have not really bothered me much. I tried in Firefox, Opera, and IE7 browsers, and never got a pop-up. Firefox (with my extensions) and Opera blocked most ads period. All that was left was the search bar. I would recomend Angelfire for very small and simple sites. Otherwise no. On a side note, Google toolbar considers my free web site to be a phising site. :-(


Reviewed on: 2005-12-16   -   (IP: 70.16.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I'm switching to Yahoo web hosting because they offer double the web space, more bandwidth, and for a fraction of the cost. If your site grows and the free account is no longer suitable, then I recomend yahoo hosting. They have a toll-free tech support line that sure beats webmonkey. As for disk space, well, lycos offer 500MB for about $20 and Yahoo offers 20 GB for about the same price + all the e-commerce resources you need. Thats right, no more paypals, and the headache of e-commerce intergration.

Reviewed on: 2005-10-10   -   (IP: 24.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Just going on the occasional website hosted by them makes me sick. The adds simply annoy you before you've read half the web page. I strongly recommend not making a website on this host.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-11   -   (IP: 80.230.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
It's a pretty good host for simple sites, and was quite helpful when building a site focusing on my sister's wedding. I guess I'd recommend them.

Reviewed on: 2004-12-08   -   (IP: 68.221.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This site is okay. I gave it a six because it only has that one banner ad at the top and doesn't have excessive pop ups. The uploading is cool and its user friendly. The downside is that you have that LONG url and that is not good for when you are telling someone to check your site out. They'd probably would be like "nevermind" by the time you got to the /dir/ part. Otherwise, its cool!

Reviewed on: 2004-06-15   -   (IP: 142.59.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
This webhost used to be good. Ermm.. okay okay used to be decent.. about a year ago, you had the choice of whether you wanted your ads in popup or on your page, now you don't have that choice and you get both, on your page and in popups.

And now Angelfire and Tripod for that matter, have this newly super annoying search window that they embed on to your browser if you're on IE. (not sure about netscape and the other ones). It takes up a bit of space on your screen and even if you close it on the first page, it will keep popping up every time you navigate to another page.

If you don't plan on having a lot of visitors, or mainly as an archive, you might consider this webhost.
There are times where the lycos server is on pms and you can't upload/edit files as fast as you could.

FTP usage is good, one of the only positive points about this webhost.

Right now, I'm looking to move my angelfire page elsewhere. One can only stand so much popups and ads and... search windows.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-10   -   (IP: 64.252.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
"I've been with AF for many years. It's continually gotten worse."
Hear, hear. It used to be good. USED TO BE. Now it stinks. I don't know whether my tastes have improved or Angelfire has gotten worse, but it's probably a mixture of the two. The plan naming scheme is kinda cool, but it doesn't support CGI (for the free plan), the banners are unbearable, etc, etc.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-02   -   (IP: 64.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Currently this host is lying to new signups. It states quite clearly "Members of our Free service are required to host ads (choice of pop-up or on-the-page ads) on their pages..."
This quote is located at:
http://www.angelfire.lycos.com/doc/subscriptions/compare_popup.html
I've been with AF for many years. It's continually gotten worse. I'm very actively looking for a new host. I was shocked to find that when I went to my site (with JavaScript enabled) that there was four (4) areas of ads *on each page*.
One banner at the top (which was incorrectly coded so it covered my navigation), two (2) banners at the bottom, and a pop-up. The storage went from 5 megs to 50 megs to 20 megs. Poor customer service (I e-mailed to ask about the ads and they told me how to change my password). Would only recommend for a beginner or as a beta testing server. Would strongly caution against joining if you want a good impression for your visitors.


Reviewed on: 2004-06-01   -   (IP: 210.86.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
THIS IS THE GREATEST HOST IN CYBERSPACE. You have to admit, it is fairly wicked. 20MB, 1000MB bandwidth, which is fine, and NO FILE SIZE LIMIT. THIS IS THE BEST.



26 Customer Comments/Reviews of AngelFire

Page:  1 of 3

Go to Page:   1   2   3



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

FrontPage Server Extensions

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- April 29, 2017 -