free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AngelFire

( "Lycos Webhosting" )


Visit: AngelFire
http://angelfire.lycos.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 20 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser, SiteCopy.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: FrontPage Extensions.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Script collection.
Your URL: /dir/you.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
  • RealAudio, RealVideo, Flash, and MP3 files allowed.
  • Web-based Email (Web-mail).
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 56   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
     
# Votes: 11 3 2 3 0 5 5 1 0 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.51 / 10

Total Votes: 35

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AngelFire



26 User Testimonials/Reviews of AngelFire


9 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-29   -   (IP: 202.156.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
//-----------| A Little History |---------

It was the 1st webhost that I used when I 1st started off my single page website more than 3 years ago. The storage space has been changing. It increased to 50mb at 1 time & then decreased to 20mb currently. Nobody knows when will it change again.

Then, I used the same account for my personal homepage with more 20mb of files. There was never a problem with the bandwidth & I used to think it was unlimited.

//-----------| Currently |---------

I could no longer withstand the popups with my growing site. Loading takes ages since I started off. Even their homepage takes ages to load sometimes, especially when you 1st visit it (without cache yet).

They didn't state the bandwidth limit, at least I couldn't find it till now. However I do surf websites hosted by them & the bandwidth doesn't seem to be high.

I have 2 accounts with them currently because I have switched to other webhosts. They didn't remove me even though the storage are completely empty.

//-----------| Recommendation |---------

Please don't ever use this host if you're using frames. The popups will kill your visitors; the banner will spoil your design on every frame.

However, please note that many free webhosts do have banners or popups, as annoying as Angelfire's.

I recommend this free host only to beginners with a small site.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-23   -   (IP: 144.138.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Slow and popup crazed.
Not a place to put a site if you expect people to see it beneath the blankets of adds.


Reviewed on: 2003-05-20   -   (IP: 218.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I honestly don't see why Angelfire is such a popular free host. Their popups are ungodly, in your face, and there are soooo many. Plus, Angelfire is pretty slow, and way too basic. Not recommended at all.

Reviewed on: 2003-03-30   -   (IP: 69.9.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Angelfire is horrible once you've become better at creating sites. The pop-up ads are killing me!
However, I do recommend it for people who have never made a site before. It's pretty easy and they guide you through it step-by-step.


Reviewed on: 2002-11-23   -   (IP: 66.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I think it's an excellent host for people who are just starting out. My major disliking is the popups. If you choose to have a banner ad, you assume that that will be the only ad on your website, but unfortunately you'll get popups with it.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-14   -   (IP: 210.54.x.x)   -   Rated: 3
They changed the amount of space from 50MB to 20MB without telling me. I've used them for too long now and am looking for another host. I probably wouldn't recommend Angelfire - even logging out is a struggle sometimes.



26 Customer Comments/Reviews of AngelFire

Page:  3 of 3

Go to Page:   1   2   3



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

FrontPage Server Extensions

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -