free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AngelFire

( "Lycos Webhosting" )


Visit: AngelFire
http://angelfire.lycos.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 20 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top + Bottom.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser, SiteCopy.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: FrontPage Extensions.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook, Script collection.
Your URL: /dir/you.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
  • RealAudio, RealVideo, Flash, and MP3 files allowed.
  • Web-based Email (Web-mail).
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 56   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
     
# Votes: 11 3 2 3 0 5 5 1 0 5
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  4.51 / 10

Total Votes: 35

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AngelFire



26 User Testimonials/Reviews of AngelFire


9 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2004-05-18   -   (IP: 156.34.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
All I can say is... "URRRGH!!!"
Ok, I'll say more than that.
I *thought* this was a decent free site.
I *thought* I could live with the banner ads at the top AND bottom of each of my pages.
I *thought* I was being smart by meticulously adding enough page-breaks to move my site content more or less away from those gawdy, flashing bars.

Until TODAY, when I went to my site, was checking out one of my images, and then, *BAM!* - a bright yellow Expedia.com banner ad suddenly appeared _ON TOP OF_ one of the images I had in the MIDDLE of my page! There is no way to close OR to even MOVE the stupid thing, either - it just sticks there like neon vomit a few seconds after the page loads, and it appears on EVERY page of my site! After all the hours I've laboured on my site making it look good..?!?

What are these losers doing??? Did they notice how much  space I was putting between their stunning ads and the actual content of my site..!?! PATHETIC, people!!!

I thought Yahoo!/Geocities had gotten bad, but at least you can CLOSE their ads (annoying as they are), and they stay at the tope of the page! I'm glad I already have my pages mirrored on THEIR site until I'm able to locate one that's better.

Man, I miss the mid-90s with REAL free web-hosting! : (


Reviewed on: 2004-03-20   -   (IP: 24.145.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
they don't let you design the site how you want to. besides i like tripod better.

Reviewed on: 2004-02-17   -   (IP: 66.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
it is kinda annoying in that the buttons don't display correctly in avant browser so i had to resort to ie (...).  the ads are annoying but are easily bypassable, like yahoo's.  also, 20 megs is plenty of space if you're not hosting lots of bitmaps or video clips.

Reviewed on: 2004-01-26   -   (IP: 213.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I find Angelfire very good for beginners like me!

Reviewed on: 2003-12-03   -   (IP: 66.135.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
This is a great website host for newbie web designers. If you have very little knowledge on how to make a website and just want to play around with it, definitely go for this one. I used to have at least 15 angelfire webpages when i was a kid and it got me started on the path to professional web design.

Although if you are a professional web designer and/or want a professional looking site, definitely DO NOT use this one because you will be guaranteed not to get anyone outside of your family looking at it.


Reviewed on: 2003-10-29   -   (IP: 166.66.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
Angelfire is alright; used to be better until now.  Now you don't have the option to choose b/w banners and pop-ups.  This isn't good at all b/c at least before you could block pop-ups with a little javascript.  While popups can still be blocked you now automatically get banner ads on every page.  Looks pretty ugly.  You can never use frames b/c of banner ads messing it up, but who uses frames anyways?  Frames are old and bothersome, a table is 100 times as effective as frames.  Would reccomend for beginners.

Reviewed on: 2003-09-16   -   (IP: 216.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I have had my pages here since 2000, but am looking for a new home. At first, I had a choice of one banner per page or one popup per page. Now, both are mandatory. I have a 20-page diary there, so this is too much. Banner ads + popups = slow website = avoided. Good to learn on, but also teaches the drawbacks of popups.

Reviewed on: 2003-08-10   -   (IP: 66.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
Have been with Angelfire for almost 7 years now - in the beginning they didn't require popups, but now they barely offer pages BENEATH the popups! Went from 5mb to 50mb to 20mb, and the editor has changed so many times it's very hard to keep track of the changes. Have too many files to move, but am actively seeking other options. Best (now) for small sites.

Reviewed on: 2003-07-13   -   (IP: 207.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Popups. And more popups. Who wants to visit a website with a billion ads popping up in your face? Click your favorite color, etc. Hahaha. It was once good but then along came lycos with a jingling money bag, and Angelfire went popup crazy. Nawww... I think not. Soon as I find a better site I'm outta there. Not recommended except for the rankest newbie. No offense, newbie.:)

Reviewed on: 2003-06-11   -   (IP: 205.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
A pretty good webhost. the good things:
- Easy. You don't need to know HTML at all, although it does help.
- Fairly short web adress. (Www. angelfire.com/dir/you)
- Pretty easy to understand.
- Many choices for text and backround.
- Hefty space. I have 5 loaded pages and only 0.03 MB / 20 MB has been used, so i guess you can make MANY, MANY, MANY pages.
The Bads:
- They say they are FAST. Are you joking me? They are slow.
- Popups. There are ALOT of these almost blanketing your site.
- Links. It's a pain here. They don't make the Navigation bar for you, meaning you have to do lots of extra work.




26 Customer Comments/Reviews of AngelFire

Page:  2 of 3

Go to Page:   1   2   3



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

FrontPage Server Extensions

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 19, 2017 -