free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  Community Architect

( "CommunityArchitect" )


Visit: Community Architect
http://signup.communityarchitect.com/cgi-bin/signup
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 50 MB.
Forced Ads: Banner-Top.
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: Browser, SiteCopy.
Editor: Advanced, Basic.
Scripting: ISML.
Pre-Scripts: Counter, FormMail, Guestbook.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Email Forwarding.
  • Multiple accounts allowed.
  • 60-days Inactivity limit.
  • File size limit 256KB.
  • Bandwidth limit 1,000 MB/month.
Date Added: July 25, 2002.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 59   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 13 6 3 4 6 5 6 5 10 60
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  7.47 / 10

Total Votes: 118

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  Community Architect



46 User Testimonials/Reviews of Community Architect


72 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2002-12-29   -   (IP: 68.55.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Most of the criticism here is leveled at other hosts that use the Community Architect engine to provide the hosting. I am the operator of Techweenies.com hosting and I think we do a pretty good job of *NOT* adding in a lot of pop-ups and extra junk to even the free hosting accounts.

We also have never sold a single email address to a 3rd party for spamming (although we do send out our own sporadic newsletters when we have something to tell our members).

It's not really fair to compare Techweenies.com hosting with other companies using the same underlying engine, when many of those are running their business very differently than we are.

We are techs ourselves and try to do as little as we can to interfere with the hosting process as possible, while still being able to afford to offer it for free.

Those who want to be rid of any kind of advertising can get paid hosting accounts for as little as $5 or so a month, when paid annually.  That's a pretty good deal for hosting in general.

Thanks for reading what I have to say and please realize that the days of being able to give everything away completely free with no ads attached just doesn't work anymore.  The free hosting isn't a profit center for us, so we just try to balance out the expenses with the income from the basic advertising and then whatever Community Archietects has to do is their business, which we can't have any control of.

Mark Oberg
Publisher
Techweenies.com


Reviewed on: 2002-12-22   -   (IP: 66.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Built a free site and put in several days work and bam in one instant everything gone while trying to change a page name, only thing left in file manager is images. I would not recommend this service to a dog. Now there are a bunch of people looking for this site and it's all gone. Freeservers.com is trash.

Reviewed on: 2002-11-03   -   (IP: 68.96.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
WHAT THE %#^&???

This site have a high rating here so I went to check it out. First thing that poped-up from their web site was an "Installer" with no explanation what-so-ever or description of what ever program it is trying to install.  So I clicked "NO" but it installs anyway. 

What did I get?  Another stupid HOTBAR on my IE Browser, Outlook and Windows.  I woudn't doubt it if there is some sort of virus attached with this installer.  I find this to be malicious since it just invaded my PC forcefully absolutely without my consent.

I'm sooo irritated of this and for the wasted time it's going to take me to clean this up (YUP! there is no instruction on their site to un-install this program).

Too bad, I didn't even have a chance to check them out... And I never will.

[Added by webmaster:
There are 934 Community_Architect cobranded hosts listed - sorry you found one that needs deleted - I wish you could tell me which one so I could delete it, as it will take a long time to check them all again.]


Reviewed on: 2002-10-23   -   (IP: 12.211.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Difficulty transferring domain, unable to access control panel, non-responsive helpdesk, hostmefree.com appears to be off-line.

Reviewed on: 2002-10-08   -   (IP: 66.153.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been making a website for the last four years as a hobby. I've used them all, geocities, homestead, angelfire, etc., Lots of them through out the years, only wanting a FREE webhosting account.
I thought I found the best one for "ME", with a freeservers account, which is powered by CommunityAchitect. 
Then, a year ago I found BluesCities.net (powered by CommunityAchitect, but with a free bluesCities.net domain, instead of myname.freeservers.com domain), and I love it. If you want a free website by BluesCities.net, you will have a banner (mostly about blues music) on the top of your pages. This banner also has a refer and email button for said member of the free website, and a pop "under" window. By paying $4.95 a month, it all goes away and I can run my pictures on other websites.
They have templets and all kinds of tools for beginners. They have direct online code access (a sitebuilder) for advance users. I run java scripts on my site and I use ftp with no problems at ALL. The FTP doen't come with free accounts, but the free accounts have a file manager interface with an upload button...
I really think CommunityAchitect offers a great service, and BluesCities.net puts it all together for Blues fans, bands and artist to build a quality website. BUT, all webmasters will find quality tools.


Reviewed on: 2002-09-02   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Seemingly some cobranded webhosts on Community Architect add an extra banner or popup.  My website on freehosting.net has a popup in addition to the banner at top.  Also, FTP didn't seem to work.  Subdomain options for that cohost were:

freeservers.com
8m.com
8m.net
8k.com
4t.com
s5.com
itgo.com
iwarp.com
4mg.com
gq.nu
faithweb.com
tvheaven.com
freehosting.net
htmlplanet.com
scriptmania.com

I assume those all have a popup as well.  The browser file manager was nice. You can choose the number of files to upload at once. Their TOS says, "User accounts may be deleted after 60 days if there is no activity on the account, in order to free unused resources."




46 Customer Comments/Reviews of Community Architect

Page:  5 of 5

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting


Note:  Reviews and ratings for Community Architect and all of its partners are combined.

See also:
Detailed list of all Community Architect cobranded free web hosting partners.
Quick list of all Community Architect cobranded free web hosting (names and direct links only). Cobranding features of Community Architect.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 23, 2017 -