free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  ByetHost


Visit: ByetHost
https://byethost.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 1,000 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: PHP.
Pre-Scripts: Script collection.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Vista Panel.
  • Fantastico-like script installer.
  • MySQL databases.
  • Email - Custom MX records.
  • Bandwidth limit 50,000 MB/month.
  • Free website statistics.
  • Password-protected files.
  • Addon domains.
  • Cron Jobs allowed.
  • Instant account activation.
  • Custom CNAME records.
  • Maximum Filesize limit 10 MB.
  • 30-days Inactivity limit.
  • Unmetered MySQL space.
  • Free website builder with 100s of free webpage templates.
  • Disk space / Web Traffic / CPU stats.
  • Redirection and IP address deny manager.
  • VistaPanel control panel with file manager (browser uploading).
  • Custom SPF records.
  • Clustered Servers.
  • Freehosting for up to 5 add-on domain names.
  • PhpMyAdmin.
  • Softaculous automatic one-click scripts installer with 33 scripts including PHPbb, Joomla, and Wordpress.
  • PHP Flags manager - PHP display errors, set PHP time zone, magic quotes, and more in one click.
  • Host up to 5 Sub-domains with a choice of the following free domains: 22web.org, 10001mb.com, 2kool4u.net, 66ghz.com, a0001.net, fast-page.org, html-5.me, humorme.info, iblogger.org, is-best.net, is-great.net, is-great.org, joomla-host.org, likesyou.org, loveslife.biz, my-board.org, my-style.in, mydiscussion.net, nichesite.org, social-networking.me, synergize.co, talk4fun.net, totalh.net, or web1337.net.
  • Webhosting servers recently upgraded to use Cloud Linux, customized mod_security, and php suhosin for improved security and website uptime.
Date Added: March 29, 2005.
Last Modified: March 2, 2015.
Features Rating: 102   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 9 6 3 9 13 14 27 42 120 570
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.25 / 10

Total Votes: 813

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  ByetHost



813 User Testimonials/Reviews of ByetHost

Reviewed on: 2007-02-20   -   (IP: 194.105.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
Well, I will give them 2 marks, 1 better than the lowest mark because actually they were OK for the first or 6 months or so. Then there was a big change. They closed their support forum down, always a bad sign, moved everything around, changed the login details, and wow is it worse now! Now the service is now very poor indeed. Something new goes wrong every other day. It is like they are winding you up to try to make you offer them money or something to provide a reliable hosting service. Today for example, I can not even get any access to phpMyAdmin or create a database via the Cpanel - the frustration mounts day by day. Very shoddy operation. And look out for all the Byethost clones Byethost are setting up. I know that they know they have ruined their reputation. Do a whois search on any new free host and see if it resolves to the Byethost servers before you sign up. What a shame. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-02-20   -   (IP: 210.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
They changed my database name (also all FTP and MySQL login details)! What about my forum data!? The Byethost forum is offline for more than 2 months, and their support team now has some confusing ticket system. It is hard to get some help.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-20   -   (IP: 202.179.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Byethost simply rocks. It is great, and you will not regret using it. They have dedicated staff and excellent support. The free hosting plan is awesome, with everything you need from PHP to MySQL databases, to 250 MB of diskspace, and many more features.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-19   -   (IP: 172.212.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
They provide the latest PHP and mySQL database, with 250mb storage spaces, 25 gb monthly bandwidth, and auto script installer (Zantastico, which is like the Fantastico used on cpanel hosts). These are all things you would expect on a more expensive hosting package. But no - Byethost is giving all this away for nothing. :-) I never had any downtime. I would definitely highly recommend Byethost!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-18   -   (IP: 82.81.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
My free site was closed without any warning because of CPU usage while I used less than 1GB of bandwidth (out of 20 GB)!
I did not use mysql database - just simple html site. They want me to pay for more cpu usage, but why should I do so if I have a small site, and I use very little file space and bandwidth? Also there have been lots of downtimes lately (which they claim was due to DDOS attacks). I was a member for over a year. This host was good at the beginning, but it is time to find a better host.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-18   -   (IP: 204.181.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-02-17   -   (IP: 208.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have used ByetHost before, and I love how easy everything is. They also have some great hosting plans that can be used for my different websites.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-16   -   (IP: 210.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I have been using this free host for the last two weeks approximately. And to tell very frankly, I think this webhost has got more negative aspects rather than any positive one. For the first thing, they tell you that they provide all types of email [where do you see this? I only see POP3 and Web mail listed], although that is not the case. I had installed a script on this web host and it needed to send confirmation emails after customers open their account. I tried combination of all options but was not able to send the confirmation mail by any means, although all the options were allowed in the script which I was using. [Their email services do not include PHP mail function or SMTP, and they do not claim it does.]

And secondly, being a web host, they do not have any acting forum, which is pathetic for any webhost, as a support forum is a very vital means of customer care by the web hosts. To add to that, their knowledgebase does not work [yes it does], and when you click on any answer to the knowledgebase you are directed to a page filled with ads instead [the links I tried worked].

And the worst part is that their only support ticket system is also pathetic. I had logged a ticket in their support system after being frustated, as I was unable to use the outgoing mail service (although I seriously doubt that they have one). But I waited for almost twenty four hours, yet my ticket was not replied to, which was amazing, as it was just a confirmation of the mail settings and would have taken a minute or two. Moreover, when their support system is the only means of help they provide on free web space services, they must at least provide a genuine help. And I was providing them regular feedback throughout the whole duration so that they might be even helped further although it was not at all a big task - just to confirm the mail settings.

I would also relate that their customer treatment is such that after I waited for such a long duration, they closed my support ticket without answering it. :-( Such is the customer treatment of this web host. Instead of providing a good service, they closed my help ticket without even a single reply. Then I created another support ticket to confirm the email settings and thought that their first closing of the ticket might have been a mistake. And I waited for the next ticket for half a day again providing my regular updates to them. But the next treatment was even more shocking. Instead of receiving any reply on the ticket, when I checked after waiting for around ten hours on the second ticket, they had perhaps banned my IP address. I could not access their support ticket system page. It was absolutely frustating. They do not care at all for the customers. And I am not saying this out here as I have any personal grudges against them, but as I have already stated they sound quite deceiving or misleading as they tell about great features and all but do not abide by much of what they say.

And they seem to be forcing everybody to buy a domain instead of going on with a free service. In a previous support ticket when I wanted to confirm the path to php, as it was required by a script, and they asked me whether I have a free or a paid domain, and on knowing that it was free they did not listen to any of my queries and were negating or behaving in a rude manner. I could surely have posted all the support tickets out here with the numbers if they had not disabled me from entering the support ticket system. I would surely do so if I somehow get access to my tickets and to show you all the proof of the treatment of customers by the host (I am saying freehosting customers; paid customers receive 24 * 7 service), but free web hosting customers hold no meaning to them and they just negate them.

They are one host who have never kept to their words. I would suggest users to instead go to 110mb or your-websites. I have used their services and they are extremely helpful. They did not pay me for this, but they are actually good as I have experienced. I cannot confer all hosts are bad though as I have not used all of them or anywhere near too. The difference between the services of this site and the other two hosts is that this freehost site does not care or help its free customers, while in the other two free hosts, even the CEO or the admins of the web host personally help the users. Moreover, at any point of time the innumerable users (especially in 110mb) help all members of the 110mb community. Both webhosts have extremely good server speeds, with almost negligible downtimes. I faced one downtime on each of these servers, but that was due to shifting it to better servers. And their customer service is so great that even the admins apologize publically to all the free users for the down time. They do not force anything on the free users, not even a 404 page ad, and they openly claim that you might remain a free user with them as long as you want and avail all the facilities with no pressure to upgrade. I would also like to appreciate the admin of 110mb, Andre, who is so helpful that he helped me out with the problems in my phpBB forum by sending me personal emails and receiving my emails and replying to it, although he or even 110mb for that matter has nothing to do with it. Although he could not help me out but he apologized for the same (indeed I appreciate his great and noble personality). And whenever he comes to the forum too amidst his busy schedule, he tries to help as much as possible to all the members. CGI, Perl, etc., is not allowed in the host, but it provides a whopping 2000 mb space on dedicated hosting servers. And the other admin as well as the three moderators and other members do their best to help you 24 * 7. On the other hand, your-websites is also great, and although they have restrictions of space up to 100 mb only, they allow all types of scripts, all types of mails, and have a good server as well as a dedicated and helpful community.

I would just advise any user to never approach even to byethost if you do not want to be deceived or repent later. They make big promises for free web hosting services which actually attracts so many customers but they make false promises. Their customer treatment is horrible, and I hope that they should make everything clear beforehand that either pay or just leave it and remove the service and stop declaring themselves as a dedicated free web host. If the site wants to deny or say anything in their defense, they can surely state out here, and I would surely like to reply to it, as I always firmly believe in the truth and am not ashamed or frightened to state it.

[Your website loaded fine, with no ads. Much of what you said in your lengthly post is not correct, and some I deleted because it was not even comprehensible.]


Reviewed on: 2007-02-15   -   (IP: 222.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2007-02-15   -   (IP: 219.149.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
[No Review]



813 Customer Comments/Reviews of ByetHost

Page:  17 of 82

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Cron Jobs
Free Addon Domains

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 17, 2017 -