free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  ByetHost


Visit: ByetHost
https://byethost.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 1,000 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: PHP.
Pre-Scripts: Script collection.
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Vista Panel.
  • Fantastico-like script installer.
  • MySQL databases.
  • Email - Custom MX records.
  • Bandwidth limit 50,000 MB/month.
  • Free website statistics.
  • Password-protected files.
  • Addon domains.
  • Cron Jobs allowed.
  • Instant account activation.
  • Custom CNAME records.
  • Maximum Filesize limit 10 MB.
  • 30-days Inactivity limit.
  • Unmetered MySQL space.
  • Free website builder with 100s of free webpage templates.
  • Disk space / Web Traffic / CPU stats.
  • Redirection and IP address deny manager.
  • VistaPanel control panel with file manager (browser uploading).
  • Custom SPF records.
  • Clustered Servers.
  • Freehosting for up to 5 add-on domain names.
  • PhpMyAdmin.
  • Softaculous automatic one-click scripts installer with 33 scripts including PHPbb, Joomla, and Wordpress.
  • PHP Flags manager - PHP display errors, set PHP time zone, magic quotes, and more in one click.
  • Host up to 5 Sub-domains with a choice of the following free domains: 22web.org, 10001mb.com, 2kool4u.net, 66ghz.com, a0001.net, fast-page.org, html-5.me, humorme.info, iblogger.org, is-best.net, is-great.net, is-great.org, joomla-host.org, likesyou.org, loveslife.biz, my-board.org, my-style.in, mydiscussion.net, nichesite.org, social-networking.me, synergize.co, talk4fun.net, totalh.net, or web1337.net.
  • Webhosting servers recently upgraded to use Cloud Linux, customized mod_security, and php suhosin for improved security and website uptime.
Date Added: March 29, 2005.
Last Modified: March 2, 2015.
Features Rating: 102   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
 
# Votes: 9 6 3 9 13 14 27 42 120 570
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.25 / 10

Total Votes: 813

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  ByetHost



813 User Testimonials/Reviews of ByetHost

Reviewed on: 2007-04-27   -   (IP: 81.102.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
I started hosting with byethost not long after they started. Their support was always good, and their servers always stable. Then one day they decided to post in the forums about adding a SAN and the account will be transfered, etc., and this is where EVERYTHING went wrong. My account was down for several days, and then eventually back up, but I had a different username and password for the control panel, and I was a lot more limited. But I kept with them. A few months down the line, everything is still up and down, and poof - their forum goes with a notice saying it will be back soon, but in a few more months it is replaced by a yoursupportgroup.com "Knowledge Base" site. Then they decided to offer bannerless free hosting, so I thought, "Ok, great - I am glad I stayed with them even with everything unstable." But then a few months down the line, and poof - forced ads are back, and an email informing me - something I did not receive until a few days later. We are now back to the un-stable hosting that has adverts. You should have stayed how you were, byethost.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-25   -   (IP: 83.117.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best free host ever! The give you great support, and they just work with and for you! I can not think of a better freehost site!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-24   -   (IP: 121.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I have been with Byethost for a while now, and when I first joined them I was blown away by their free web space packages and customer support service. There have been a few changes recently (such as forced ads), but I am still blown away by them. In my experience, their servers are fast and reliable, and their customer support is excellent. Nobody runs a website without experiencing some problems from time to time, and I have had a few, but Byethost support were all over it immediately. They sorted it out very quickly (even when the problem was my fault), and they were most patient with my endless questions. You generally do not get such good support for free websites, and in my opinion they are second to none. They have recently introduced a forced banner ad, and I notice that some people here are complaining about that, but unlike every other free server, you can choose where this banner ad goes and design it into your website - something I really value. They offer cgi, php, and up to 3 mysql databases. The web panel provides extremely easy script installers, and you get plenty of free space and lots of bandwidth. Byethost are the best web hosting service I have come across (paid or free hosting), and you can not go wrong in choosing them to host your website.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-17   -   (IP: 88.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
My high-traffic forum website got deleted! Do not use this thing! You will regret it. This company is shameful. I have spent months on my webpages, and they closed me down! They ERASED our website (visited by almost 1000 people per DAY) and claimed that it was inactive! They will not even give us the data back! WHY?! This is the worst free hosting that I have ever seen. Their servers have forced banners now, are slow, often down, and you often get 404 errors displaying ads. However the worst thing of this host is that if they detect that your web site has high traffic (even in forums, blogs, or webpages), THEY WILL DELETE IT and claim that your website was inactive.

[
The ByetHost admin says this could explain some angry / dissatisfied people who claim their websites are gone:

"The great firewall of China has blocked our servers entire IP range. This has effectively blocked Chinese, Thailand, and surrounding areas from accessing our servers. From the numerous reports and trace routes our customers in these areas have sent us, the effect of this block varies considerably; some people experience a block, others can access FTP, and some can ping but not access websites.  However the consistent fact is that the majority of people simply can not access their web site from a browser, unless they use a proxy. We are trying to work with the Chinese Government to get the block lifted; however putting a rocket on the moon is seemingly more straightforward.

Also over the last week we pushed some new keyword blocks due to complaints coming in from legal bodies. These keyword blocks may have been a bit harsh and caused some false positives (people's sites with spam links bot-posted, etc., could have been blocked). I have just desensitized the keywords; however can not understand why we have not taken any support tickets on this.  We do run an idle bot that removes sites that do not take a hit from a good user agent over a 45-day period (a good user agent being a normal web browser agent), which may account for some sites being deleted."
]


Reviewed on: 2007-04-13   -   (IP: 58.48.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
Actually I set up my first website on this host in 2005, and at that time there was really ugly ADS on the free webpages, but I thought it was ok because it was a stable host, had enough free file spaces, and had a little bit faster upload and download speeds than other free hosts. After almost 6 months hosting experience, I thought that they were excellent and I even recommended their free hosting services to all my friends. I registered my own domain name and started to use their host services and thought their new "no-ads" free host service would be my best dream hosting ever. However what I experienced is I could not access my cpanel and browse my sites. All my stuff was gone due to the servers' reconstruction! So I moved my web site to another free host. Even several weeks ago, I still expected they would be back and Byehost would be working well as before, but today when I could not access my FTP account, I knew I was wrong.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-13   -   (IP: 86.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good host, and the customer support was very fast at responding to my issues, though I am on a free-hosting account. They get a 10 rating score from me for the quality of their services!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-11   -   (IP: 68.185.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Yesterday my website stopped working. I made a post on the forum and was told that Byethost's traffic tracker broke and my site was deleted because the traffic bot marked it as inactive, when in reality it had over 8000 visits a week. Support told me that they would upload a backup, but every time I go to the site they claim they uploaded the backup to, I just get a 404 error. This is not the first error I have had. I just want a working site!

Reviewed on: 2007-04-10   -   (IP: 89.172.x.x)   -   Rated: 4
In the beginning this was truly bannerless free web space, and a fast and stable hosting service, but now this is just another bunch of unreliable servers with forced ads on your website. :-(

Reviewed on: 2007-04-09   -   (IP: 217.218.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
In my opinion, this is the most unreliable host out there. It has changed too much since I got an account last December. First they had a forum which turned into an ugly yoursupportgroup knowledgebase later. They had less than 60% uptime! They rank F (yes, F!) in performance (tried in DNSstuff). And worst of all, they turned from a bannerless host into a 480*60 footer graphic ad, in only two days after they first thought they should do that due to "Changes In Advertising Market"! They do not respect their user's time and work and change anything about their hosting without notice. If one does not care about banner hosts, there are many many better hosts indexed in this site. Before they introduce newborn ADs, Byethost was good in supporting heavy-PHP sites, but not anymore.

Reviewed on: 2007-04-09   -   (IP: 83.95.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
ByetHost is the best service ever! It gives you lots of free space and great tools! I was looking for such a freehost for a long time, and I have found it! And even if you can not make something work, there is a great support that will help you fast and will never get tired of the most stupid questions. :-)



813 Customer Comments/Reviews of ByetHost

Page:  9 of 82

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Cron Jobs
Free Addon Domains

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 19, 2017 -