free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



1570 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 75.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I needed a simple free space to host a perl script that gathers clients information that they submit from a form, and I log-in daily to check new submissions. I had created my awardspace account, and immediately got my free serverspace and began installing the software. Initially awardspace appeared to work perfectly and efficiently, and I liked that there were no required banners or pop-up ads. Everything works fine for a few days, but then all of a sudden I check the web pages and find that some have been replaced by awardspace banner/splash pages. After investigating, I find that any page containing any page containing anything that looked like an email address was being replaced with an awardspace promotional splashpage. Simple fix: I tweak the code to alter any displayed email adresses. It was fine for a few days, but then any page containing an image of ANY sort would instead show the awardspace splash page. No problem: my pages were relatively text based, so I replaced image icons with text versions, and another few days goes by and then any page containing a html form tag would default to a splash page, but now images and emails would display without yielding a splash page. I can only assume that awardspace is using some kind of bizarre method to push their splash pages on some kind of rotating criteria basis. Be wary of your content and check your pages on a regular basis to see what kind of ads they may be forcing upon your visitors. Do not assume that if a webpage displays properly that then all of your pages are displaying properly, or if a page displays properly this week then it will display properly next week. I think they try to sneak their splash pages through discreetly, without you knowing it, so that they can continue to proclaim their "no-ads required" slogan in their web-host promos. To get around their dubious banner tactics I ended up using only their cgi services for the purposes of aggregating customer submitted form info, and returning no sorts of output page once the form was parsed and the values recorded to a text file on the awardspace server. My form is hosted elsewhere and is targeted to an essentially hidden frame so no awardspace banners are ever seen by my visitors, and I use java to alert a thanks message when they submit the form. now I just ftp in and grab my new subscriber list from awardspace. I am not pleased with their dubious ways of injecting promotional splash pages, only for the fact that they proclaim they do not do that.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 218.210.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 69.223.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Award Space is hands down the best free host out there! They have a great array of features, they do not force ads on your pages, and I have not had a single problem yet using their service! Thanks, Awardspace!

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 201.65.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 201.68.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 86.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow! I would have given up on good free hosts until this one. I have used about 7 freehosts from this site, but this is the best freehost I have found so far.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 72.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I set up a site which I set up somewhere else, with the right permissions and everything. The problem is, those sites do not work now. First, it starts up that people tell you to give weird file-permissions. I installed amazon associate-o-matic estore and did EXACTLY the same permissions as in the doc and which I had on the other host. Awardspace host complained about that the permissions are wrong, so this basically means that a standard installation of a script according to doc does NOT work. Also, after setting new file permissions, the web sites (e.g. phpBB forum and my store) still do not work. I ONLY get those extremely annoying redirect pages which do not even allow you to see where and why an error occured. If a script does not work out of the box according to the setup doc, I do not even bother further with the host. Also they have a lots of ads and annoying stuff flying around the webmaster control panel.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 58.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 196.217.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]

Reviewed on: 2006-12-18   -   (IP: 69.254.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
[No Review]



1570 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  44 of 157

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101   102   103   104   105   106   107   108   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117   118   119   120   121   122   123   124   125   126   127   128   129   130   131   132   133   134   135   136   137   138   139   140   141   142   143   144   145   146   147   148   149   150   151   152   153   154   155   156   157



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- November 22, 2017 -