free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



891 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace


679 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2007-12-01   -   (IP: 124.182.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
I was fortunate to chance upon AwardSpace at the end of September. Sadly, illness on October 15th caused me to have to stop development until yesterday. I have trialled various free web hosts, primarily using good old Yahoo Geocities 15 Mb sites under six different site names since 2005. Geocities is neat, and the banners on the RHS are not too hard to overcome, I suppose. Still, in 1999 I gave up searching for a free webhosting service that would allow me to write a little CGI in Perl. Although I have now taken the safer (hopefully) approach by loading a basic phpBB forum rather than expose Awardspace and my own site to my own insecure Perl scripts, the best part about the Awardspace service is the complete lack of banners, and provision of such a wide range of powerful tools, even the capacity to look over the root directory of the Linux server, not that I have need to. Fantastic! This is as good as if I had the money to run my own Linux server, and I will be adding a small testimony to the excellence of the Awardspace service to my own site thereon. After many years of limited web hosts, this is the service that I was always looking for. The money-free hosting part is a real bonus due to my current financial situation, although I hope one day to upgrade to a paid account, just to give credit where credit is due. Thank you very much for your excellent service, Awardspace.

PS: I rated the site at 9/10 because the one thing that has kept me busy all morning today has been manually deleting all the test directories I have accumulated over the past month or two, and although it is good to play it safe, I am hoping to find a way to, when required, delete non-empty directories with a single click. It is my fault for loading so much junk up in the first place though. No problems really. :-)


Reviewed on: 2007-12-01   -   (IP: 202.89.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
After experiencing snail-pace slowness from my previous free host provider, which frequently resulted in images not loading, someone on a technical forum suggest I obtain a free account with AwardSpace. Their load time appeared quicker and they also have more features. But as with most free hosts, if you want to get the goodies, such as sendmail functions which requires PHP, you have to upgrade. And that is what I did, but it was because I required my own domain name and their package was irresistible. I am sick of people complaining about a free host not providing php functions, etc. It costs people money to run servers.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-29   -   (IP: 118.137.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am from Indonesia, and I have been using awardspace 8 months. The server access in Indonesia is fast. It is definitely the best free web hosting I ever used. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-11-28   -   (IP: 125.63.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I am happy using their hosting. I am using it since last year, and I have not found any negative aspects of this host. I have not noticed any down time. I would like to recommend this hosting service because this is the best free host available on the Net. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-11-26   -   (IP: 200.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
AwardSpace is one of the best free hosts around. Simply great! :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-11-24   -   (IP: 76.200.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I think awardspace is probably the best free host out there. They have so many features, I could not ask for more! The only thing that annoys me sometimes is the confusion of using their control panel. But otherwise, it's the best host. :-)

Reviewed on: 2007-11-23   -   (IP: 190.188.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
This free web space host is excellent for small and medium size websites. It includes My SQL database support, and is totally free hosting without ads.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-23   -   (IP: 213.198.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Bad things about this freehost:
- The maximum file size limit is 500kb (this is not too essential in my case, but could be important for some webhosting uses).
- It has some filetype limits: no zip, exe, rar, and so on, though there are many free file hosts on the Net which you could use in conjunction with this host to make a download site for such filetypes.
- No external programs are allowed to access your database (such as the Navicat MySQL admin tool). Unfortunately for me, I really do not know how to migrate from another website if I can not use an app that I am used to but be forced to use specific one such as PHPMyAdmin, which does export and import databases.

Good things about this freehost:
- It has an easy, organized web interface/control panel (even for novice users).
- It has lots of features and options.
- It has good offers for security (I did not test them all, but they should work).
- The servers have very good availability/uptime record.


Reviewed on: 2007-11-20   -   (IP: 203.173.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It is very easy to upload, modify, and delete your website files. Launching your web site and subsequent editing happen almost instantly.

Reviewed on: 2007-11-18   -   (IP: 82.45.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Award Space is by far the best free web hosting service I have ever used, with all the tools I need to get the job done without all the childish gimmicks. Thanks, Awardspace.



891 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  1 of 90

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2016 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- December 4, 2016 -