free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



891 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace


679 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2006-02-21   -   (IP: 192.189.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
database + php/perl/cgi + 200MB disk space + 5GB monthly transfer + ridiculous access speed + no downtime in over a month = SUPER AWESOME! But then you take away SMTP (mail scripts) and the.htaccess UserAuth directive (no password protection without building a custom php gateway), and you're left with just plain AWESOME. I'm using the free nameservers provided by Awardspace to host my registered domain name. 10% of the time, the domain name will not resolve. I've had the domain registered with the nameservers for over 2 weeks now, so this really shouldn't be happening.

Once awardspace leaves beta, they may place adwords banners on the top of free web hosting account pages, but the paid service is cheap. $55 for a year of webhosting AND a domain name. This enables password protection, removes the 500k filesize limit, removes the 1 db limitation, enables SMTP, and doubles your diskspace in addition to providing monitoring services.

My conclusion: Use the web site, but have a backup in case they really shake things up when they come out of beta.


Reviewed on: 2006-02-21   -   (IP: 66.98.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is by far the BEST FREE web hosting I ever found! I was not sure how could I have a free hosting with all the functions of a paid service, no pop-ups, no ads and the option to have my paid domain name hosted here for FREE. I live in Dominican Republic.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-20   -   (IP: 70.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This host is great! I have used other free hosting companies before and either they were on and off again, or you got these huge intruding ads or banners on your hosted web site, which takes away from the legitimacy of your business. I recommend these guys. they are great, and offer instant free web hosting account activation! Thanks Award Space!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-20   -   (IP: 81.25.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best web hosting server I have found!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-19   -   (IP: 64.136.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Very nice plan for a free, no-ad host. Supports many of the popular features. however, there are some rather irritating limitations. For example, all SMTP is turned off for free accounts. you can receive email but not send, which, I guess, is understandable, but inconvenient nevertheless. Also, the 500KB file size limit also lowers its score. I have seen a few better web hosts in the past, but they are usually gone now. So far, it seems this webhost is the best around.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-19   -   (IP: 213.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
200 megs, php, mysql, fast. the best.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-19   -   (IP: 68.228.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love this company. They are a really good free hosting site!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-19   -   (IP: 24.37.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I do not understand all the praise this free hosting site gets. yes when you open it for the first time it looks pretty and seems like all will be fine, but then you get to the actual install of programs "known" to work with the host per their own testimony:

Joomla, Mambo, Drupal, Geeklog -- DON'T WORK.

Nothing except "mild" PHP seems to work on this host, as they always have "register globals" set to "ON" and there is no way to change it, meaning a lot of CMS will not work unless you wish to hack away for hours on end. And I'm not a beginner either - so no I did not make a "mistake". Go with Hostgator. sure they are not completely free but at least stuff actually works on their servers. HORRIBLE FOR PHP/CMS! PERFECT for non-PHP, HTML-based websites.


Reviewed on: 2006-02-18   -   (IP: 68.237.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
really great stuff, clean site, quick sign-up, plenty of web hosting features.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-18   -   (IP: 172.191.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great features, easy to use and understand. No forced banners or pop-ups; just your web page how you wish to have it displayed!



891 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  83 of 90

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- July 23, 2017 -