free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



891 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace


679 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2006-02-23   -   (IP: 212.39.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very stright-forward to sign-up for the free hosting service, minimal details required. The confirmation email was instant. I was logged in within seconds, created a domain and sub domain, updated the name-servers with my registrar, edited index.html within their control panel and BANG - all done within an hour. Highly recommended. I may even consider moving my high-volume paid hosting from FastHosts depending on the response-times and up-time ratios after a couple of months.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-23   -   (IP: 62.162.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I do not speak english very well, but I can say that is the best host. Before AWARDSPACE.COM I was trying some other free host, but the difference is BIG. Thanks and go on!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-23   -   (IP: 210.213.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I've been with many free webhost providers on the Internet and I can't even name one that comes close to what Award Space offers. Quick response to your problems, wide array of supported scripts and fast loading time of your freely hosted webpages. Highly recommended!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-22   -   (IP: 71.161.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
The php command fsockopen is disabled on this server, which makes it impossible for php scripts to retrieve data and statistics from elsewhere on the internet. Might not be a big deal for most users, but it does make this excellent free hosting account completely useless to me.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-22   -   (IP: 69.120.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This is great. You get great options and great hosting totally free, and if you pay you get really good stuff.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-22   -   (IP: 86.133.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
this site is one of the best hosting sites out there. talk about fast. It takes about 2 seconds for my webpage to be updated. very pleased.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-22   -   (IP: 212.58.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The best free hosting provider.

Reviewed on: 2006-02-22   -   (IP: 211.233.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Good free hosting site. Service and response is wonderful!

Reviewed on: 2006-02-21   -   (IP: 64.246.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
After the instant registration of your account, you still need to setup the hosting in your control panel, under "Domain Manager" icon. There you can setup up to 2 addon domain names and 5 subdomains (use their 4 nameservers and allow DNS time to propagate for domains). There are 5 domains to choose from for the free subdomains. It was kind of picky on your subdomain name though. For example, I tried to use the name "free" and it said "Subdomain names containing free are forbidden!" The custom control panel is amazing, similar to cpanel, but is likely somewhat difficult for newbies to use. Looks like some features are still in development.

After creating the domain or subdomain(s), and FTP connection, click on the subdomain or domainname folder before FTPing files (i.e. don't put your files in the default main folder). If your index page is not called index.html, then delete the default index.html file.  The FTP idle timeout is set to 60 seconds, which was somewhat frustrating.  Also, my index.html gave error 500, so I had to chmod it to 744, to be also user executable (in additon to read and write), which was unusual.  The control panel and phpinfo() shows PHP Version 4.4.1 to work, and also SSI worked fine.  For domain names, there is a preview URL given, so you can see what your FTPed files look like online before you change nameservers. Some reviewers were complaining about the strict PHP security settings not being compatible with some popular PHP scripts, but they seem okay for my needs, and having strict security settings should keep the free hosting server running more reliably. The free web hosting server was very fast, and has no ads.  Hey, it is better than most paid web hosting sites I have used. Excellent overall!


Reviewed on: 2006-02-21   -   (IP: 67.163.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Excellent host. Great features for free! Possibly the best free hosting service provider there is out there! Great to deal with, easy to upload, maintain, and get rid of spam! Highly recommended.



891 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  82 of 90

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- May 30, 2017 -