free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



891 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace


679 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2006-03-09   -   (IP: 222.124.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
The most powerfull and the BEST free hosting site! Just inject your workspace to awardspace.com and you will more than agree that "superb, "awesome", "fantastic" is the word for awardspace.com. Viva forever, awardspace.com -- THE BEST OF THE BEST free hosts.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-09   -   (IP: 203.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Awardspace isn't my first choice of web hosting, until I gave them a try and later realised what a gem I have for the hosting. The web space is quite large, which suits my need for story archive. Their SQL database went down sometimes, or extremely slow, but it's understandable.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-09   -   (IP: 144.122.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
This free host gives much features. but beyond its features, it has something special. As you all know, if you use databases you open connections. in this site they control the number of connections you open. I got web space from the other sites in this free host list but they got down frequently. Award Space has never been down for 4 weeks now. I recommend this free web hosting site.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 64.201.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
It absolutely is the best free server, bar none!

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 83.90.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
easy and good webhosting for the intermediate to pro webmaster. Server downtime is low and as of yet did not have to use their support system. thumbs up to them. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 200.181.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Really works, and it's free. The interface is really easy to use and has great features like publishing directly with frontpage.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 83.27.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
Excellent site, but I have had problems with SQL database - it is down VERY often (but for short periods, fortunately). And this 500kb filesize limit is annoying.

Reviewed on: 2006-03-08   -   (IP: 81.179.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
it's taken me a long time to find a freehost that has everything I'm after, so I can finally say the search is over. great stuff. I totally recommend this free web hosting service!

Reviewed on: 2006-03-07   -   (IP: 153.5.x.x)   -   Rated: 1
Their service don't work as it should. It look like a nice free offer but the fact is that sites are down daily; or as someone on their forum wrote:
http://forum.awardspace.com/viewtopic.php?t=905

"For the past weeks ever since database problems have become a daily routine, there's always been this influx of multiple threads concerning the same issues over and over and over again:

- MySQL Issues.
- My site was working and now it's not anymore.
- I can't login to my database.
- I keep getting a 500 error (or error 403).
- The server is down.
and so on, and so forth.

Since most people who continually come wondering what is going on will probably not scour the forum looking for previous answers and noticing the 1000 other past threads concerning these same issues, I figured I'd make one topic that (hopefully) most will read.

If you're experiencing any of the problems above, the reason is because the servers are in fact experiencing database problems. (duh) :-) Take relief in the fact that you did not have your hand in this problem. Though you may take great frustration in the fact that your webpage will not load and you cannot login to your databases for a few hours.

This IS a daily issue that occurs frequently through seemingly random times of the day. Therefore, if you are running some kind of forum with thousands of members or something, or if you are running something important like a business, of if you are simply tired of the server downtime, perhaps you ought to seek out other more established hosts for now.

The reason why these problems occur are simply for the fact that Awardspace is in its BETA stages, and as you know, it's quite impossible to get everything perfect the first time around. It will take much more time for the servers to stabilize and accomodate all of the new hosting requests too. Also, rejoice when your site is working! Though keep in mind that at any moment it just might go down again. Just a word of warning.

I do sympathize with your frustrations, (hey, my site goes down too!) and it would be nice to kind of "know" when the databases will go down, but just remember that you are not the only one experiencing these problems. ;-)

Thank you and Best Regards."

[
AwardSpace replied:
Yes it is true that the service is still in BETA and we have clearly stated this on the website, but the problems with mysql server cluster are at present due to the malicious very inventive abusers that always find a way to abuse us and make a hyper system resource utilization with bots and other automated scripts overloading the servers. We have our team working around the clock to offer this service completely FREE! We have also a new server fleet expansion for the Database cluster ordered on the way that should further enhance the stability of the whole system and make it more resistant to temporary load bursts! (it just takes 1 week for the racks to be provisioned into our new datacenter).
]


Reviewed on: 2006-03-07   -   (IP: 66.142.x.x)   -   Rated: 7
I was very happy, but the server has been down quite often. Hopefully this will change soon!



891 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  75 of 90

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- May 30, 2017 -