free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



891 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace


679 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2006-12-28   -   (IP: 81.202.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
It is a great free space hosting service. I like it.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-27   -   (IP: 201.231.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Very cool hosting. The web servers work pretty fast, and they offer users a lot of monthly data transfer and a lot of freespace. It also has DNS management! That is super cool. phpBB and yaBB message boards work. vBulletin forum script cannot be installed due to the file size limit of 500kb.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-26   -   (IP: 58.186.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I love this free domain web site hosting -- you can either host your own domain name (if you have one already), or get a subdomain of theirs). I registered at this service 1 year ago, and it has worked well. Thank you, AWARD-SPACE. :-)

Reviewed on: 2006-12-23   -   (IP: 59.93.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great service, with great options. The web-based control panel is very well organized and very easy to use. I think it is the best free host, and I suggest you use it.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-23   -   (IP: 202.125.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great free hosting with no banners on your site (only in the webmaster panel, and if you use FTP to upload your web site files, you do not need the control panel very much).

Reviewed on: 2006-12-23   -   (IP: 222.214.x.x)   -   Rated: 9
AwardSpace is the best website I found to prvide free hosting services on the WWW! The free domain hosting lets you use PHP, MySQL, Perl scripts, and the web hosting is on very stable dedicated servers network!

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 75.19.x.x)   -   Rated: 2
I needed a simple free space to host a perl script that gathers clients information that they submit from a form, and I log-in daily to check new submissions. I had created my awardspace account, and immediately got my free serverspace and began installing the software. Initially awardspace appeared to work perfectly and efficiently, and I liked that there were no required banners or pop-up ads. Everything works fine for a few days, but then all of a sudden I check the web pages and find that some have been replaced by awardspace banner/splash pages. After investigating, I find that any page containing any page containing anything that looked like an email address was being replaced with an awardspace promotional splashpage. Simple fix: I tweak the code to alter any displayed email adresses. It was fine for a few days, but then any page containing an image of ANY sort would instead show the awardspace splash page. No problem: my pages were relatively text based, so I replaced image icons with text versions, and another few days goes by and then any page containing a html form tag would default to a splash page, but now images and emails would display without yielding a splash page. I can only assume that awardspace is using some kind of bizarre method to push their splash pages on some kind of rotating criteria basis. Be wary of your content and check your pages on a regular basis to see what kind of ads they may be forcing upon your visitors. Do not assume that if a webpage displays properly that then all of your pages are displaying properly, or if a page displays properly this week then it will display properly next week. I think they try to sneak their splash pages through discreetly, without you knowing it, so that they can continue to proclaim their "no-ads required" slogan in their web-host promos. To get around their dubious banner tactics I ended up using only their cgi services for the purposes of aggregating customer submitted form info, and returning no sorts of output page once the form was parsed and the values recorded to a text file on the awardspace server. My form is hosted elsewhere and is targeted to an essentially hidden frame so no awardspace banners are ever seen by my visitors, and I use java to alert a thanks message when they submit the form. now I just ftp in and grab my new subscriber list from awardspace. I am not pleased with their dubious ways of injecting promotional splash pages, only for the fact that they proclaim they do not do that.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-21   -   (IP: 69.223.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Award Space is hands down the best free host out there! They have a great array of features, they do not force ads on your pages, and I have not had a single problem yet using their service! Thanks, Awardspace!

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 86.20.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Wow! I would have given up on good free hosts until this one. I have used about 7 freehosts from this site, but this is the best freehost I have found so far.

Reviewed on: 2006-12-20   -   (IP: 72.4.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I set up a site which I set up somewhere else, with the right permissions and everything. The problem is, those sites do not work now. First, it starts up that people tell you to give weird file-permissions. I installed amazon associate-o-matic estore and did EXACTLY the same permissions as in the doc and which I had on the other host. Awardspace host complained about that the permissions are wrong, so this basically means that a standard installation of a script according to doc does NOT work. Also, after setting new file permissions, the web sites (e.g. phpBB forum and my store) still do not work. I ONLY get those extremely annoying redirect pages which do not even allow you to see where and why an error occured. If a script does not work out of the box according to the setup doc, I do not even bother further with the host. Also they have a lots of ads and annoying stuff flying around the webmaster control panel.



891 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  20 of 90

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- May 30, 2017 -