free webspace  






Free Web Hosting Review of:
  AwardSpace


Visit: AwardSpace
http://www.awardspace.com/
(Click above to go to this free web site hosting service.)
Interests: Personal, Business.
Free Web Space: 250 MB.
Forced Ads: No ads (bannerless).
Your Ads: Allowed.
Upload: FTP, Browser.
Editor: Basic.
Scripting: CGI, PHP, Perl.
Pre-Scripts: -
Your URL: Top-level domain name, or Subdomain.
Other Features:
  • Bandwidth limit 5,000 MB/month.
  • PHP4, MySQL database.
  • POP3, SMTP (30 emails per month), Web-based Email.
  • Spam filter.
  • Addon domains.
  • Maximum file size limit 2 MB.
  • Traffic Statistics.
  • Instant freehosting activation.
  • Now same freehost as Reseller Cluster.
Date Added: February 6, 2006.
Last Modified: September 13, 2014.
Features Rating: 110   (out of possible 0 to 125 points)
See How Free Webhosting Features Are Rated
User Rating:
       
# Votes: 2 2 4 5 15 11 42 66 177 1246
Rating: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Average Rating:  9.59 / 10

Total Votes: 1570

Rate this Free Webspace Host:  AwardSpace



891 User Testimonials/Reviews of AwardSpace


679 blank user reviews (ratings only) not listed.
Show all details for user ratings with blank user reviews also.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-25   -   (IP: 196.219.x.x)   -   Rated: 5
I was first impressed by all the good things that awardspace is offering, BUT my experience with them was not good at all.

- They allow 500 KB for hosting per file, BUT they disallow most of file types except for html, php, and pics (like zip, avi, mp3), so what will you use this 500k file for?! You will need to use one of the free file hosting sites for those media filetypes.

- They have a words filters so they delete the pages that have any of those words, and if you ask what those forbidden words are, here is what they say: The forbidden words list is not and will not be shared with anyone ever. Asking to see the list is useless. Do not ask. If you do not like that there are forbidden words, get paid hosting (this is a sticky in their forum).

- My site was down a lot (almost weekly, though for short time periods), and all of the sudden it was reverted back to a previous point and all my updates were lost! Here is what you get when telling them that: AwardSpace is not responsible for any loss of data, but are sorry for loss of data. AwardSpace members (You) are responsible for their own data, backing it up onto their own machines. This is also in their ToS (this is probably the same as any free hosting povider, and most paid hosting also).

So before joining awardspace, I advise you to stop and think it over again. Anyway do not take my word for it. Just visit their forum and try to read how many problems there are, and the very rude answers people get.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-25   -   (IP: 24.144.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
AwardSpace is simply the best free web page hosting service there is. Not only do they have no ads on your web pages, but they allow FTP uploading, incoming mail, PHP, 2 domain hosts, and 5 subdomain hosts, and have very fast servers!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-22   -   (IP: 24.119.x.x)   -   Rated: 6
I have a mixed feeling about this host. It was my first free PHP/MySQL hosting I have tried (of course I worked with the paid ones, but that is a different story), and at that it was not that good. As far as simple HTTP uptime goes (e.g for hosting ad-free static HTML sites) I never had any problems. However, when it comes to PHP/MySQL it is quite lousy. Databases can be down once every one or two weeks for a few hours, and PHP implementation is crippled according to some opinions. It results in random server errors (code 500), and moreover, sometimes it disables your PHP-based site for a few hours 2 to 4 times a week. The host allows mod-rewrite of the URIs in the .htaccess file, but it will not let you use custom error pages. Also, the automatic hidden filter of forbidden words causes problems (more often those are cursewords and words related to proxies, warez, "adult" themes, eBay, and so forth). Because of it I can hardly use any of the spam-blocking features, and sometimes it threws off certain pages where a spambot leaves a message with such words in it. Another minus of this free web space host is that outgoing connections (such as blog trackbacks) are not allowed.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-18   -   (IP: 70.120.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I was looking for a free web hosting site that had php and mysql, and I found many of them. So I tried out each one, and found some that were actually worth using. So then I made a website, and found out that Awardspace was one of the FEW free web hosting sites that lets you create your subdomain name (most others just use your username which you choose at sign-up). So I was a little optimistic and tried out the features that came with Awardspace. Unlike some hosting sites, Awardspace is quite fast, with many easy-to-use features. I do not think I will ever have to try another web hosting site now that I have encountered Awardspace.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-16   -   (IP: 149.99.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
Well if you are reading reviews here, then you have probably read all the sweet things about it from other reviews (yes it is a pretty sweet server). So I will talk about the things I do not like about it.
1. The file size limit 500 KB. come on!
2. No "free domains" allowed by policy. Just recently they banned no-ip.org and no-ip.info, but no-ip.biz and no-ip.com still works.
3. The webservers are slow sometimes when it is rush hour (like about 3 to 5pm) and down sometimes, but still acceptable overall - not a problem really.
4. There are server's security scripts that will be blocked by norton internet security (ad-block) by default, so as the concequence, your images or certain scripts can not be viewed.


Reviewed on: 2007-02-16   -   (IP: 71.166.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I found it easy to setup and use, and it does not cost a cent, so what more could you ask? Servers appear to be fast, and the CP is very well organized, although it is loaded with ads. After total frustration with ZendURL and NetFast, AwardSpace gets a TEN rating! For a free web space host with NO ads, I think it is the best.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-16   -   (IP: 150.140.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I found this web hosting service after a long search on the Internet and I am very satisfied. It has a good support help desk with short-time answers, and it is ideal for a free web site hosting without problems! Thank you.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-14   -   (IP: 82.101.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
Great free web hosting service with fast ftp and http transfers, and as many domains and subdomains as one desires to host. It is really better than many paid hosts!

Reviewed on: 2007-02-13   -   (IP: 139.78.x.x)   -   Rated: 10
I tried this site for the free pages. I was having so much trouble with a previous free web page hosting site which was down much of the time. Awardspace says they have 99% uptime, so I tried it. I liked it so much, and it had such good load times on uploaded pages that I bought a domain name. I have not been disapointed yet. I would reccomend Awardspace to host a site.

Reviewed on: 2007-02-13   -   (IP: 70.180.x.x)   -   Rated: 8
This host is absolutely astounding. You get FTP account(s), a MYSQL data base, and 5 subdomains. I would totally recommend it. Its servers are very fast for updating. Overall, I find this host to be the best FREE host out there. Although there is one negative aspect: their MYSQL server has been very unstable lately, leaving my Wordpress blog with broken links sometimes and such. :-( I am hoping they get that repaired soon. If it were not for that, I would give Awardspace a flat out 10 rating. :-)



891 Customer Comments/Reviews of AwardSpace

Page:  16 of 90

Go to Page:   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90



Report Dead Link   |   Report Incorrect Info   |   Contact Us

Review and Rate this Free Web Hosting Site


Find more free web space hosting services with similar features:

Free Domain Hosting
Free Hosting with No Ads
Free PHP Hosting
Free CGI Hosting
Free MySQL Database Hosting
Free Addon Domains
Free Webspace with Free POP3 Email Service

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 - Free Web Hosting - Free-Webhosts.com
- September 22, 2017 -